Customer Reviews for

Urban Shaman (Walker Papers Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 145 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

What can I say?

This book is fantastic, and I can't even tell you why! It's everything! I wouldn't do Jo justice if I attempted to describe her, she's just so brash and in-your-face. This is also a great opening book to an even better series (Thunderbird Falls and Coyote Dreams are ...
This book is fantastic, and I can't even tell you why! It's everything! I wouldn't do Jo justice if I attempted to describe her, she's just so brash and in-your-face. This is also a great opening book to an even better series (Thunderbird Falls and Coyote Dreams are even better!) which is great for when you get attached to a character and want to read more. (And trust me, you will get attached to Jo, and Gary, and even Mortison, for that matter!) Do not miss this!!

posted by AmorDeLibros on May 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Unsatisfactory and Uncoordinated

This book awkwardly intermingles Celtic myth with Native American legend to solve a rather slow moving supernatural murder mystery set in a rather mundane urban world. For me, the book just didn't work. The imagery of the demigod Cernunnos leading the Wild Hunt is extre...
This book awkwardly intermingles Celtic myth with Native American legend to solve a rather slow moving supernatural murder mystery set in a rather mundane urban world. For me, the book just didn't work. The imagery of the demigod Cernunnos leading the Wild Hunt is extremely vivid, but the heroine's woo-woo shamanic (out-of-body) experiences combined with her exaggerated klutziness is close to unpalatable. Further, the murder/mystery solving is secondary to the whole woo-woo shamanic factor. The pace and plot are erratic, sometimes slowing down or racing during the heroine's spirit journeys, and, then, perversely launching into a real 'world' event at an inapposite pace. Resolution of the murders/mystery is also marred by a somewhat unsatisfactory climax in which the bad guy is partially healed. (I'm not a fan of 'healing' rather than destroying the bad guy.) The only good action occurs in a scanty two (maybe two and one-half) confrontations between the heroine and Cernunnos. Taken as a whole, I cannot recommend this book.

posted by dalnewt on July 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What can I say?

    This book is fantastic, and I can't even tell you why! It's everything! I wouldn't do Jo justice if I attempted to describe her, she's just so brash and in-your-face. This is also a great opening book to an even better series (Thunderbird Falls and Coyote Dreams are even better!) which is great for when you get attached to a character and want to read more. (And trust me, you will get attached to Jo, and Gary, and even Mortison, for that matter!) Do not miss this!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Urban Shaman is a quick, fun, and easy read.

    Urban Shaman is an easy read along the same line as Jim Butcher's Dresden files. The characters are easy to relate to and interesting to follow as the story develops. I also like the sense of humor Murphy gives the main character. This is a great read if you are into detective stories or sci-fi and supernatural. I must admit that I am partial to books that are a part of an on going series. This allows you to watch as the author develops the characters over a series of books and allows you to see the characters in different situations. Urban Shaman is the first in a series of books, which to me increases the appeal.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A spellbinding and enthralling urban fantasy

    As the plane lands, passenger Joanne Walkingstick sees a man with a knife, a pack of dogs and a woman running. Joanne grabs a taxi to head to the spot where she saw the crime take place. She finds Maria D¿Ambra who tells her she was being chased by Cernunnos a Celtic god and leader of the Wild Hunt. She is a banshee who can tell when someone is about to die making her invaluable to the Wild Hunt who collects the souls of the dead..................... The metaphysical is not in Joanna¿s world view until Cernunnos runs her through with a sword and while near death her spirit guide Coyote tells her how to heal herself. She also learns she is a shaman with the power to heal. When she goes to talk with Maria, she finds her murdered in the same way five other shamans were killed in recent weeks. Not much later, the killer attacks schoolchildren in their classroom murdering some and injuring the teacher. He is Herne a demigod who was once mortal and has his own plans for the world and the Hunt. Unless Joanne can grow into her powers to send Cernunnos and Herne back to where they belong Earth is doomed................................... The relationship between Cernunnos and Herne is familial but there is an enmity that exists between them because of their different goals with mortals caught in their cross fire. Joanne accepts the metaphysical work and her shamanic powers a bit too easily but she has the strength and determination to use them in order to fight the two gods. C.E. Murphy has written a spellbinding and enthralling urban fantasy in the tradition of Tanya Huff and Mercedes Lackey.......................... Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unsatisfactory and Uncoordinated

    This book awkwardly intermingles Celtic myth with Native American legend to solve a rather slow moving supernatural murder mystery set in a rather mundane urban world. For me, the book just didn't work. The imagery of the demigod Cernunnos leading the Wild Hunt is extremely vivid, but the heroine's woo-woo shamanic (out-of-body) experiences combined with her exaggerated klutziness is close to unpalatable. Further, the murder/mystery solving is secondary to the whole woo-woo shamanic factor. The pace and plot are erratic, sometimes slowing down or racing during the heroine's spirit journeys, and, then, perversely launching into a real 'world' event at an inapposite pace. Resolution of the murders/mystery is also marred by a somewhat unsatisfactory climax in which the bad guy is partially healed. (I'm not a fan of 'healing' rather than destroying the bad guy.) The only good action occurs in a scanty two (maybe two and one-half) confrontations between the heroine and Cernunnos. Taken as a whole, I cannot recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    A new favorite...

    Although I think 'Thunderbird Falls' and 'Coyote Dreams' are better, this first book in the Walker Papers is quite fun and fast-paced. Johanne is an interesting and tough lady who is likable yet realistic. The introduction of so much Celtic and Irish myth was just cool, because not too many books dabble in that area. (The next two are more Native American, which is really fun to read.) Gary is such fun - don't we all know a guy like that? Auh, love it. Anyway, even if you weren't thrilled with this book, read the next two. Like I said, they're even better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2008

    Loved It- Stayed up all night reading it.

    I really enjoyed the characters in this book. C.E. Murphy has given Joanne a tough as nails exterior with a softer, more sympathetic interior. With her base in two very spiritual, if disparate cultures, it is fascinating to watch how she not only learns to cope with her new shamanic powers, but her dual heritage as well.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2005

    Enticing Tale Of Magick & Mayhem

    I'm not going to summarize what the book was about because it's written all over the review page already. However, this book was phenomenal!! I became so submerged in Murphy's world that I literally finished the book in 5 hours. It's a non stop read. Once you pick it up, you can't put it down. The characters are well rounded, and her unique perspective is wondrous. Murphy has quickly jumped to one of my favorite authors.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Funny

    The Wild Hunt is loose, an old celtic go is trying to kill her, someone is murdering people and Joanne just got suspended from the police force before her first day on the street.

    I found lots of humor, real and sarcastic, in this book. I really enjoy the way Jo is written and how she tries to deny her destiny. I'm eager to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Derivative but moderately entertaining

    The problem with this book is the oafish, not terribly heroic protagonist, Joanne. Another mechanic, like Mercedes Thompson, but entirely without the charm. And we are supposed to believe that scores of line cops would prisk their jobs to save hers? Please. She's just not likeable enough.

    That said, I enjoyed the story well enough, even though little here is new. I'd probably give it a 3.5 over all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Thoroughly enjoyed this series!!

    I really enjoyed Joanne's story and her spunky personality. Her love/hate relationship with her boss has me riveted. Joanne's struggle to accept her magic and unique situations will have you following her down a path of enlightenment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    very good reading

    very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    not too bad

    the book isn't too bad. it tends to vere off on a tangent with all the Babylon stuff going on. a little hard to keep track of who is who. otherwise quite interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Not what Not what N Not What I expected

    I love urban fantasy and paranormal romance. Unfortunately this book didnt deliver. It was ok...but not great. I found the main character to be lacking depth. And the pacing was horrible...I really wanted to like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    I love this series

    I started this series because I couldn't get into the Mercey Thomson series. I fell in love with the series because it felt as if the writer was talking the same way I would. I have never laughed so hard and been so happy while reading in a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    Excellent Series!!

    I just finished #6 ... You will be hooked. I absolutely love paranormal stories...and this is one of the best series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    just couldnt get into it

    i love kim harrison, jim butcher you name it but i just couldnt get into this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    good but slightly confusing

    This was a great book that i read in like a day. BUT the author kind of jumps around and i feel like i have pay extremely close attention or i'll have absolutely no idea whats going on. Dont get me wrong, i liked the book but it could use a little more detailed explainations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Surprisingly Amazing

    I picked up this book with a hearty amount of skepticism. The first chapter had me wondering about my choice of books. Next thing I knew I'm halfway through the book and contemplating calling in sick to work so I can finish it! I found this to be an excellent example of the urban fantasy genre.

    I love how the main character herself tries her best to keep a hold of her skepticism. The author does a great job of making the mystical seem plausible, leading you to believe while still telling yourself 'this is just fiction'. This helps you relate even closer to the main character who finds herself in the same predicament.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Good Book

    It was a good book. I went to the store to find a new author picked this one up and finished readinging it in two days. I then went back and bough the other two parts in the series. I am looking forward to the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    Main character too formulaic

    Yawn. The main idea and the plot are highly paranormal, but the characterization is like old school film noir, which is fun to watch as an "old movie," but lackluster in a contemporary novel. The main character is too predictable and in general, boring about 2/3 of the way through. I had to force myself to finish. I was disappointed because the premise, from the cover pic and info, seemed edgy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8