Customer Reviews for

Urban Shaman (Walker Papers Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 145 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

What can I say?

This book is fantastic, and I can't even tell you why! It's everything! I wouldn't do Jo justice if I attempted to describe her, she's just so brash and in-your-face. This is also a great opening book to an even better series (Thunderbird Falls and Coyote Dreams are ...
This book is fantastic, and I can't even tell you why! It's everything! I wouldn't do Jo justice if I attempted to describe her, she's just so brash and in-your-face. This is also a great opening book to an even better series (Thunderbird Falls and Coyote Dreams are even better!) which is great for when you get attached to a character and want to read more. (And trust me, you will get attached to Jo, and Gary, and even Mortison, for that matter!) Do not miss this!!

posted by AmorDeLibros on May 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Unsatisfactory and Uncoordinated

This book awkwardly intermingles Celtic myth with Native American legend to solve a rather slow moving supernatural murder mystery set in a rather mundane urban world. For me, the book just didn't work. The imagery of the demigod Cernunnos leading the Wild Hunt is extre...
This book awkwardly intermingles Celtic myth with Native American legend to solve a rather slow moving supernatural murder mystery set in a rather mundane urban world. For me, the book just didn't work. The imagery of the demigod Cernunnos leading the Wild Hunt is extremely vivid, but the heroine's woo-woo shamanic (out-of-body) experiences combined with her exaggerated klutziness is close to unpalatable. Further, the murder/mystery solving is secondary to the whole woo-woo shamanic factor. The pace and plot are erratic, sometimes slowing down or racing during the heroine's spirit journeys, and, then, perversely launching into a real 'world' event at an inapposite pace. Resolution of the murders/mystery is also marred by a somewhat unsatisfactory climax in which the bad guy is partially healed. (I'm not a fan of 'healing' rather than destroying the bad guy.) The only good action occurs in a scanty two (maybe two and one-half) confrontations between the heroine and Cernunnos. Taken as a whole, I cannot recommend this book.

posted by dalnewt on July 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I just couldn't get into it

    I tried, I really did. But this book just didn't work for me. I struggled through the first 100 pages and then just gave up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unsatisfactory and Uncoordinated

    This book is a somewhat confused intermingling of Celtic/Native American mythos, urban fantasy and supernatural mystery. For me, the combination didn't quite click. The imagery of the demigod Cernunnos leading the Wild Hunt is extremely vivid, but the heroine's woo-woo shamanic (out-of-body) experiences combined with her exaggerated klutziness is close to unpalatable. Further, the murder/mystery solving is secondary to the whole woo-woo shamanic factor. The pace and plot are erratic, sometimes slowing down to a snails crawl when relating the heroine's spirit journeys then speeding up to describe a real world event. Resolution of the murders/mystery is also marred by a somewhat unsatisfactory climax in which the bad guy is not utterly destroyed. The only good action occurs in a scanty two (maybe two and one-half) confrontations between the heroine and Cernunnos. Taken as a whole, I cannot recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Urban Shaman is a great start to a great series!

    This book is great for the creative mind. People who like any types of magic, fights, myths, or just plain awesome heroines will love this book! Joanne is so cool! Gary also a cool character, and I'm glad C E Murphy gave him such a notable part. It you like tough women taking on bad guys, also try the comic-book novel "The Feminist Avenger."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    Has potential

    I have to say that I liked how this book started off, but it seemed to go downhill from there. It seemed to try to be a mystery novel along and an urban dark fantasy novel much like what we see popping up everywhere. It failed to keep my attention up until the end, though the characters are great.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    This book was okay, but not great! Definite 3 stars.

    Urban Shaman had a good beginning, but just never quite took off. Whenever my mind wanders while I'm reading, and I keep thinking I should put this down and read a more interesting book, I know it's not that great. Joanne Walker was a good character. I liked her. The book just didn't quite pull it off as an interesting read. I doubt I would buy anymore in this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2006

    better books out there

    this book is only good to read as a time killer if you have no other good books to read. the plot could have been so much better and i think the characters were too pretentious. the author either lacks the understanding of human nature or she chose to ignore it and developed characters as she wished. still, i'd be willing to read the next one just to see if it has a better plot line.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2005

    Very good read.

    Joanne Walker was nothing more than a police mechanic. She did not want to be a patrolwoman, nor did she want to use her inherent gifts. In fact, she turned her back on her Native American heritage as thoroughly as possible. Yet, when she sees a murder, all this has to change. For one thing, she sees the murder happen while looking down from a plane several thousand feet in the air. Two, the killer is not mortal. It would seem that ancient Celtic myths are coming to life. The Wild Hunt does not want to return to the mists when their allotted time in the mortal realm ends for the year. With the proper blood price paid, they can stay, and wreck havoc on humanity. Joanne alone can stop them, therefore, she must learn how to be a shaman and a real cop in much less than a week so she can save the world from Cerrenunos and Herne. .......................... **** Although Urban Shaman is light on romance, action wise, it sets a fast pace. Joanne is an intriguing, sharp witted heroine just coming into her potential. Seeing this series develop promises to be fun. ****

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8