Customer Reviews for

Using Nook

Average Rating 3
( 500 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(113)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(147)

2 Star

(84)

1 Star

(72)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Wish I'd had this when I first bought my nook

Even though I have had my nook for quite a while, I did find this book extremely helpful and very well written. It's definitely worth the very reasonable price to have as a handy-dandy reference book.

posted by Beverooni on July 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

74 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

Not necessary.

I don't see any reason for anyone to need this book. If you haven't discovered the user's manual that's already loaded on your nook, just go to My Library and tap View My Documents. There's a quick Nook Tour there if you're just looking to get acquainted with the nook...
I don't see any reason for anyone to need this book. If you haven't discovered the user's manual that's already loaded on your nook, just go to My Library and tap View My Documents. There's a quick Nook Tour there if you're just looking to get acquainted with the nook's basic operations, and the Nook User Guide, which is a 163 page manual that covers everything and is excellent. If you do decide to try things like rooting your nook, there is much better and thorough information about it on the net for free.

posted by bluedaze on July 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 502 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    Not necessary.

    I don't see any reason for anyone to need this book. If you haven't discovered the user's manual that's already loaded on your nook, just go to My Library and tap View My Documents. There's a quick Nook Tour there if you're just looking to get acquainted with the nook's basic operations, and the Nook User Guide, which is a 163 page manual that covers everything and is excellent. If you do decide to try things like rooting your nook, there is much better and thorough information about it on the net for free.

    74 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    Not Worth it Unless You Plan to Hack Your Nook

    I read the last two chapters, the one on hacking and the one after that about the Nook web browser on my Nook while I was in the store. I only checked out the last chapter because it was "there" since I'm very familiar with the Nook and how it operates.

    This book might be worth it if you want to root your nook and you are a little nervous about doing so. It has nice step by step instructions about everything, including how to use the "Command Window" and the command lines. As we all know, many of those that didn't grow up with DOS or aren't in the IT field have never touched those areas of their computers.

    It gets into what is available after you root it a LITTLE bit, not a lot of detail on anything other than trook or nooklauncher quite frankly. Nothing at all on how to organize your libraries, though he does mention you can do so.

    I found the web browser chapter was interesting, not in a good way, and it made me think less of the book in general...

    The browser chapter had all the "this button does this and that button does that" information but really nothing you can't get out of the manual. I would have at least expected that he would recommend using mobile web sites for browsing if they are available, instead he warned readers the margins on Google are off (his example) when using the browser and hopefully B&N would fix this in a future update.

    So, in general, this appears to be the manual, rewritten, except for the hacking section.

    38 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    Not worth the money......better to download the B&N full guide, print it and use it.

    This book is(was) a distinct dissappointment!! It covers literally nothing of use that is not already in the Nook Gude that you can download free from B & N. I would never reccoment this to anyone now that I have been stuck with it.

    30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wish I'd had this when I first bought my nook

    Even though I have had my nook for quite a while, I did find this book extremely helpful and very well written. It's definitely worth the very reasonable price to have as a handy-dandy reference book.

    29 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very helpful Nook book

    This book has been helpful to me. I was afraid to do anything on my nook, using this book I can do things without any fear. It's helped me LOVE my nook even more.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    this should be free with purchase of a nook

    just sayin' :-\

    14 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you just want to have it.

    As agreed with others on their comments, it should come with purchase of your nook. I'll just stick with the manual I have only one purpose with my nookie and that's to download good enjoyable books to read. Even though everyone is saying there's not much difference in this Using Nook book oppose to the manual that comes with your very own nook so why not find another good read for that price. It's your choice "I've made mine.

    Enjoy your nook and read.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    Do Not Waste Your Time

    As someone who is very familiar with all of the inner workings of the Nook, I am warning anyone who comes across this ebook to run screaming in the opposite direction. I have read this book and while there is some good information, there are also quite a few major errors. The only information that is needed is the Quick Guide and the User's Manual. So find something else to spend your $5 on.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    An important thing to consider...

    As others have stated before me, the manual has pretty much anything you need so the only reason to have this would be to hack your own Nook. But one important thought would be to realize that anyone who hacks their NOOK and starts messing with the programs also negates any warranty you might have. This would definitely fall outside the "normal use" category.

    So if you want to play with the guts of your electronic, do so at your own risk!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    basic

    Most info in this book can be found in the BN users guide.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    Not worth the price

    Not much new here. Had hopes that chapter on hacking and apps would be of use - it wasn't.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    using nook

    this book is very useful if u have a nook that is hacked

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    lots of good stuff, I learned a lot

    Good solid information, He goes slow and is clear The Screen saver chapter is excellent

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Its ok

    Its an ok book, but only useful when trying to hack a nook.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Don't Bother!

    This might have been useful to a new "nookie" 6 months ago or more but not anymore. Almost everything in here is included in the manual, or is unnecessary information. The items he suggests to "hack" for are already fixed in the updated software for the nook. Waste of time & money now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    Don't hack your Nook!

    This is an out dated guide there is newer stuff on the market

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    Soooo helpful!

    Very thorough.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    Very Helpful

    This book was great to have as a new nookie. So far, it has answered all of my questions.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Who wants a million dollars?

    I have it execpt you. Too true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    HELP HELP!!!!!

    I want to delete some of my books--tanx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 502 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26