Customer Reviews for

Utopia

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disneyland on LSD

What an engaging idea...to have such evil spring from a loving creation? Yes it is formulaic, but a formula for spine tingling fun reading.

posted by 5848620 on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Rainy Day Thrills

This is a pretty quick read but I found that at times it moved too slowly for me. It seemed that the author was trying to impress the reader with unnecessary details and prose. This is a thriller and, in my opinion, ought to have focused more on the action and tension a...
This is a pretty quick read but I found that at times it moved too slowly for me. It seemed that the author was trying to impress the reader with unnecessary details and prose. This is a thriller and, in my opinion, ought to have focused more on the action and tension among the characters than on the reiteration of the past and relationships among them. The ideas and the story had the potential to be much more exciting than they played out in this story, and certain explanations became so wordy I had a hard time imagining what the author was describing. Overall I did enjoy this book because of the futuristic technologies described in the parks, but it is not one that will remain in my collection.

posted by WordCandie on July 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Disneyland on LSD

    What an engaging idea...to have such evil spring from a loving creation? Yes it is formulaic, but a formula for spine tingling fun reading.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Rainy Day Thrills

    This is a pretty quick read but I found that at times it moved too slowly for me. It seemed that the author was trying to impress the reader with unnecessary details and prose. This is a thriller and, in my opinion, ought to have focused more on the action and tension among the characters than on the reiteration of the past and relationships among them. The ideas and the story had the potential to be much more exciting than they played out in this story, and certain explanations became so wordy I had a hard time imagining what the author was describing. Overall I did enjoy this book because of the futuristic technologies described in the parks, but it is not one that will remain in my collection.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Decent thriller, if a little familiar

    I've been a fan of both Lincoln Child and Douglas Preston for years. I've thoroughly enjoyed the Special Agent Pendergast series, in which they collaborate, as well as their individual works. I also love theme parks. So this book seemed to be a perfect match, and for the most part it was. There was a serious Deja Vu vibe happening while reading this, and I guess that is my biggest issue with the book, it just seems all too familiar.

    Then it hit me, this book is basically Westworld meets Rollercoaster meets Die Hard. You have the killer robots from the movie "Westworld". You have the terrorist(s) holding a Theme Park hostage, just like the movie "Rollercoaster", and you have the everyman, trying to beat the team of well armed bad guys, just like "Die Hard".

    The action is well paced, and keeps the book moving well enough. The plot is basic, and the resolution easily predictable. All in all a fun read, but certainly nothing you're going to spend hours ruminating over.

    So what's my final assessment? Well I'd say this is just an okay book. Nothing horrible, but nothing spectacular either. I would recommend other's read some of Mr. Child's other books, and come back to this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome. One of my favorites

    This book is a must read!!! The plot is fabulous and pulls you in right from the beginning. It has an unlikely hero and a cast of great characters. The twists and turns of the plot keep you guessing and just when you think you know where it is going, think again. It explains the way a computerized theme park works but doesn't get too technical. You can easily put yourself in the park and it makes you wish you could visit. If you love Michael Crichton, this author book and it's author are for you. I will read it again for sure. Loved the ride.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    this was a great read

    i thought this book was an amazing piece of work to help me escape the daily monontony. it was imaginative and fun. I couldn't put it down. i found myself wishing i was at the park waiting in line for a ride! i think Lincoln Child is an excellent author and have read several of his books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    NOOOO

    DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK. BAD LANGUAGE

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Karate

    Kay.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2014

    Re: NOOO

    Please disregard the 5 star ratIng I haven't read the book, but I check customers reviews to get a better idea of what other readers have thought of it. What did you mean. The use of language, or was it foul language? If it is foul language, it may be just part of the character development. If the narrative was foul, then it's bad use of the english language. If you are going to write a review, please be clear in that regard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    Mat Rock~A poem by MoonLight

    A whisper, <br> Your voice moves on, <br> Into the night. <p> A tight throat, <br> A scream, <br> Crying that seems, <br> It will never end. <p> You may have been depressed, <br> Refusing help as it went, <br> But did you, <br> Did you, <br> Have to take your life, <br> Hanging by a tree? <p> Did you have to go missing, <br> Two days before they found you? <p> Did you have to leave, <br> Friends, <br> Family. <p> We mourn for you now, <br> More importantly than ever, <p> For now it has been, <br> Almost three months since you died, <br> Where they found you, <br> Hanging from a tree, <br> That Thursday morning. <p> I miss you Mat, <br> I hope one day, <br> I will get to join you. <p> [This poem is dedicated to one of my great friends, Mathew Rockefeller, who took his life July 10, 2014. I miss him a lot, and decided to write a poem. Hope you liked it.] <p> ~**~MoonLight~**~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Really enjoyed this book....Highly recommend...

    I enjoy Preston and Child books....this is the first I read by Child alone.....and I will be reading more .....It was a thrill ride...and if you enjoy amusement parks you would love this one....read it you won't be sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Accident

    My friend accidentally bought this book

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVORITES

    I have read this book over and over again so many times since it first came out in paperback that I have lost count. And yet my book is still in good shape. A quality book in more ways than one. They just don't make them like this any more! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Great book

    Fabulous

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This is an excellent story with constant twists and turns. It will keep your attention, no matter what you might think your favorite genre might be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Raven

    Walks to camp

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Like a roller coaster

    Good suspense down to the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Great fun read!

    The techy in me loved this book. As always, I was engulfed by Mr. Child's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Lincoln Child's UTOPIA was one exciting roller-coaster read.

    I loved this book. The writing was top notch and the suspense was nail-biting. I really enjoyed how everything happened in less than a day...sort of like the tv show 24.

    Utopia itself sounds like a great amusement park, if only it weren't a fantasy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2006

    Jurassic Park without dinosaurs

    Jurassic Park fans look out! There are a great deal of similarities between Utopia and Crichton¿s Jurassic Park. (No dinosaurs though). Utopia is a new modern amusement park with every innovation and thrill ride imaginable. I wish it existed I would love to visit. Things go wrong for a variety of reasons but to me the great strength of the novel is attention to detail and the knowledgeable descriptions of the behind the scenes working of a huge amusement park. Lincoln Child really did his homework on this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2005

    Best Book I've Ever Read

    I picked up Utopia on vacation last May, and I loved it from the opening pages. I've read many, many books in my twenty-two years of life, but Utopia ranks as my favorite, and one I will definitely enjoy for years to come. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants a good, interesting read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4