Customer Reviews for

V is for Vengeance

Average Rating 4
( 375 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(167)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

62 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

Rate the book, not the nook!

WE DON'T CARE THAT YOU THINK THE NOOK BOOKS ARE TOO EXPENSIVE! If that's the case, don't buy them. We're on here to find out about books...not nooks!

posted by 3777150 on August 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

38 out of 128 people found this review helpful.

I'm starting to regret buying a NOOK

53 cents difference between buying the hardcover and downloading it to the NOOK? NOOK books were supposed to be more reasonable but big name authors must want to make even more money. It's hardly worth it.

posted by ERDocsMom on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Rate the book, not the nook!

    WE DON'T CARE THAT YOU THINK THE NOOK BOOKS ARE TOO EXPENSIVE! If that's the case, don't buy them. We're on here to find out about books...not nooks!

    62 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Faithful Grafton Reader

    I have read them all beginning with "A is for Alibi," and enjoyed them. I agree with the reviewer who said we look to reviews to learn about books. However, I must weigh in here to say that I did not buy my Nook to get cheaper books. I bought mine because I love being able to carry around all of these books at one time. I never worry that I will finish a book and not have another to read. It is great in so many ways. So, if you want to pay a few cents more for a "real" book, do it. If you want the convenience of carrying around a virtual library in one e-book, get one. I LOVE MY NOOK COLOR!!

    38 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    really liked this book. different than the other books I've read, but great nonetheless.

    35 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Aptly titled, the V Millhone thriller is an exhilarating tale

    On May 5 1988, Kinsey Millhone of Millhone Investigations in Santa Teresa turns thirty eight. However, her birthday turns ugly when a virtual stranger punches her in the nose. The assault leaves her shnoz broken (for the third time), her eyes looking like that of a raccoon, and a need for plastic surgery; thankfully paid by her health insurance.

    Financier Lorenzo Dante sends his goons to collect from deadbeat Phillip; they send him airborne for failing to pay a loan on time. Just before her battering, Kinsey is in Nordstrom when she notices a woman shoplifting. She informs security who busts the culprit. However, Kinsey failed to realize the thief had a partner until the other felon tried to run her over; she battered her leg avoiding a hit and run. Not long after coming home from Canada, Dante is shocked to learn that Audrey is dead after being caught shoplifting; his ambitious out of control goon Cappi killed her. Soon all this and other events will collide at Kinsey's nose.

    Aptly titled, the V Millhone thriller is an exhilarating tale as the heroine works several cases. The birthday driven story line is fast-paced with much more than just the above as all roads lead to and from Dante. Fans will enjoy this fun tale as the protagonist takes a beating but keeps on ticking.

    Harriet Klausner

    29 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    Like all the Sue Grafton alphabet series, it keeps you entertained and in suspense. Characters are brought to life as the reader continues through the mystery.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another interesting outing with Kinsey Millhone!

    V is for Vengeance starts off with the story of a young man who meets a bad end at the hands of a loan shark and his brother. The book then moves to the present day of the book (1988) and starts off with Kinsey Millhone witnessing a shoplifting incident with two women. One gets caught and the other literally drives over Kinsey in the parking lot making her escape. Two days later, the woman who was arrested ends up dead in the same spot as the young man in the beginning of the book. Kinsey is hired by the man who was engaged to the dead woman to find out what really happened because he does not believe she committed suicide. Kinsey is soon involved in uncovering a ring of professional thieves, a police conspiracy, blackmail, and a man with interesting family connections known as ¿Dante¿. All the while she has an obnoxious reporter dogging her investigation and causing trouble. Also weaving through the book is the story of an unhappy wife named Nora, who realizes her husband is cheating and takes steps to protect herself. In the course of covering her bases financially, she meets Dante and begins an unlikely relationship with him. There is an interesting twist in the book that involves both of these people and ties into the modern day activities. One of the things I enjoy about this series is the fact that it is set in the 80¿s. Kinsey has to rely on research, hard work, and legwork to get her job done. She has no internet or cell phone to do work for her. I love it when she needs to get to a pay phone to call someone when she is out working on a case or making a carbon copy of something. I find myself thinking ¿If she only had a ¿¿¿¿ Kinsey is a solitary person who has very few real relationships in her life. She can only rely on herself this book reinforces that fact. Her ex-boyfriend Cheney is working with a cop who hates Kinsey so she feels cut off from one of her resources. Her neighbor and best friend Henry is gone to visit an ailing relative so Kinsey doesn¿t have him to run things by. She works and lives alone with the occasional acquaintance that comes into her life. Her solitary nature is a running theme through all 22 books in the series and I felt she was particularly alone in this book. It is a common theme for a male detective to be a ¿loner¿ but not so common for female sleuths. It is possible the lack of people distracting her contributes to her strong intuition about cases and her excellent observation skills. This book has plenty of twists and turns to keep the reader interested. The continuity of the story from earlier books makes it enjoyable for long time readers but it can be enjoyed by a new reader as well. I wonder what we will all do when Ms. Grafton reaches the end of the alphabet!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Best Kinsey Millhone book yet

    I loved this book. This is my very favorite Kinsey Thank you Sue Grafton! Great characters, great plot, all the story lines tie in and fit together so well. I especially liked Dante. The end of the book is perfect.
    I am sad now though, two more years until the next book. I will really miss Kinsey. Not to mention we are getting very close to Z.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Another Great Mystery!

    I love Sue Grafton's character Kinsey, I have read every single alphabet mystery. I also like the detail she includes in her stories. She continues to write interesting plots. I just wish there were more than 26 letters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    V is for Vengeance by Sue Grafton

    LOVE this series!! Can't wait until W comes out now! Thanks to my friend Christie who got me hooked on these books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    My best book i have ever read

    I it was a very good beginning andto emosional for me i almosr cried!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Thinking about buying it

    Looks like a good book. Any pros and cons?

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Maybe

    I would love to review this book, unfortunately I ordered for Nook and it will not be released until November 14th, 2011. So, all I can say is if it is as good as all the rest it is worth the money

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Very good

    I have read all of Sue Grafton's books and this one was the best so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Stanton

    * yawns*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Franks bio

    At run res six i believe or somewhere around there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Ember

    Chills

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Ari's Biography || Updated

    || Ari Del Ree &spades || <p> Ari is an 25 year old girl. She has long black hair with pale skin with a few freckles. She has colorful hazel eyes. She wears a black tank top with an oversized blue jean hoodie/jacket and some black shorts with her worn out combact boots. She has an AK-47, two hand guns, a dagger, and some brass knuckles. She is recently in an relationship with Colin. &hearts Ari is a confusing person. She has many mood swings. She can be very calm and collected but very intimidated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Bios

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Only 4 more letters in the alphabet

    I'd miss Kinsey, her landlord and the other characters I've grown to know and love. This is an enjoyable series. I hope the series starts over. How about 1A or AA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Great as usual Sue Grafton

    I love this series and "V" measures up to the rest.
    Look forward to reading "W"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9