Customer Reviews for

V is for Virgin

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    i absolutly loved this book.  should read. loved the whole entir

    i absolutly loved this book.  should read. loved the whole entire book could not ut it down. i liked the message she was trying to tell the world . that sex iis not the main thing in a relationship and that they should wait untill their ready

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    LuvToRead

    It is 1:19 am and I just finished V is for Virgin. Can I say Swoon?? Super cute, light hearted, fast (200p) read. I loved it and couldn't put it down until it was finished. I am 34 years old and I have 2 daughters. I read a lot of this book to my husband and we discussed the topics and our own pasts. This book will stay with me and be a reading/discussion starter for me and my daughters when the time is right.
    Valerie and Kyle did have great chemistry that shined through the pages! Now I am buying the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    What a delightful tale! Kelly Oram has once again "blown&qu

    What a delightful tale! Kelly Oram has once again "blown" her audience away, with her new -very
    prevalent - series beginning with 'V is for Virgin'!

    Valerie was adopted by a very wonderful couple who loved her as their own. The  only tokens she
    had from her birth mother was a necklace with her initial V on it she wore around her neck and a very
    worn letter.

    In her senior year of high school she felt she was truly in love with Zack After a dreadful date when they
    had "the Talk" everything changed. Vicious rumors arose at school. Her peers were unmerciful. Finally,
    during lunch, she could take it no more and did the unthinkable! From that point on her whole life spun
    out of control.

    Her best friend, Cara, was her one true confidant and could always seem to make situations better. As
    best friends,, they balanced each other out, although very different in their goals and personalities.They
    worked together on the student council. Planning their annual school festival, Cara made certain they
     were put over the music. With her connections, she got her and Valerie backstage passes to try to
    persuade the popular band to play for their school function. As Valerie predicted, the band's leader,
    Zack" simply laughed at them after making some crude comments at Valerie...Valerie retorted back and
    left, having stated her mind.

    Impressed, Zack became determined to persuade and conquer.

    This is about the ups and downs of High School life and a few of the pressures the youth feel. It
    encourages youth to discover who they really are, then take a stand for what they believe.

    Because of some crude terms, I would not recommend this for younger YA. However, for older teens
    and older, it os great.

    The characters were diverse and very real. The accompanying situation were well described and easily
     pictured.The ending is complete, yet, leads smoothly into the next sequel.

    The cover is simple, eye-catching and well-developed. The title says is all.

    I give it a Four and a Half Stars rating.

    *This was sent as an e-book for an honest review, of which I have given.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    I want.......

    I want more of val and kyle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have been thinking about this book for days.  It was not at al

    I have been thinking about this book for days.  It was not at all what I expected, and that is a good thing. 

    What I was expecting:
    A cute teen read about a girl who stays true to her decision to remain a virgin until marriage.  

    What I got:
    An in depth look at the decisions we each make, why we make them, and how we stay true to them.  

    And, a look at standing up for something we truly believe in, not just for ourselves, but in front of the community, and for the people that live in it.

    And, so much more.

    I can't put in to words the thoughts I have had about this book.  But I'll try to put some of them down.  The characters felt real to me.  If I agreed or disagreed with their opinions, they still brought up valid questions.  The main decision questioned in this book is Val's decision to remain a virgin until marriage.  However, I was most struck by how that decision brought up questions about so many other topics.  One of the characters identifies with Val because he wants to make his own decision about a completely different issue.  I found myself questioning decisions I have made in my life and why I made them.  So many things to think about!

    There were so many characters in this book which each had vital roles in the story.  They were each different and brought different perspectives to the situations in the book.  I appreciated getting all opinions and views on the subjects that were brought up.

    Some issues I had with the writing/story...I wish Val's parents were more involved.  She has an adult "mentor" in the book, but she expresses a need to discuss things with her parents, but those scenes aren't in the book.  I think parents are MOST important and I wish we could have seen that relationship more.  There was too much eye rolling.  Pet peeve of mine. 

    Warnings: Virginity/Sex is the main topic of this book.  So there is a lot of mature talk.  There is a lot of kissing (some fairly intense) and some attempted petting.

    I think this book would be appropriate for teens who are actively dating and potentially sexually active.  It brings up valid questions for teens and adults alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Really Good

    Good story and really well written. I thought I knew how it was going to end a couple of times but was wrong - I like that too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    THIS BOOK WAS SOOOOO GOOD! I'm a little biased because I am abst

    THIS BOOK WAS SOOOOO GOOD! I'm a little biased because I am abstinent.
    The beginning of the book made me so mad. I wanted to punch Val's boyfriend in the balls. I know from personal experience how brutal people can be but this girl has some major "balls."
    The one thing I really loved was how real the temptation was. When a hot guy is in your face and can make you turn to mush with a single look; yeah that's enough to make you question yourself.
    Val grew so much and so fast but she took everything that came at her humbly and wasn't afraid to lean on her friends when she needed.
    As for Tralse. First of all, that's a pretty creative name. Secondly, everything about this group gave the book goodness to make me not want to put it down. Even though Kyle is such a man-whore, you can't help but love him and secretly root for him.
    I loved every bit of it. It has such a good message to it and never strayed from it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    V is for Virgin was not only hilarious, but was also a wonderful

    V is for Virgin was not only hilarious, but was also a wonderful story about being true to yourself and your own beliefs. I loved that while some aspects of this book were taken rather lightly, Val still managed to voice her beliefs in a way that came off as being mature, yet not preachy...which is always a good thing!

    Along with the awesome message that came with V is for Virgin, it was also full of amazing characters!!! Val was fantastic! She was feisty, and always ready to stand up for herself...and Kyle! Oh, Kyle! I loved him. He was definitely a bit of a man-whore at times, but I have to admit that I loved when he started to pursue Val...even if for him it was mostly a game at first. :P I also really enjoyed his sense of humour, and I loved the chemistry between him and Val! :D

    The story itself was wonderful. There was an awesome balance between light and fun moments, and the serious side of the story. I also loved the musical aspect, and I especially loved Val's strength. While I would've been totally embarrassed in some of the situations that Val was in, she managed to overcome any embarrassment and became the better for it. It's not often that you meet a character as wonderful as Val, and it's even more rare to meet one worth listening, too. Val is dedicated to staying a virgin until marriage, but her message is more than that. As I've already mentioned, it's about staying true to who you are and what you believe in. For Val that happens to be remaining a virgin until marriage, but it could be also describe anything for anyone person. Her message then becomes so versatile, and it allows each reader to understand why Val is standing up for what she believes in. :)

    Overall, I absolutely LOVED V is for Virgin! I thought that the message of being true to yourself was strong, and it was important to share. Too often, people aren't true to themselves and decide to change their views based on peer pressure rather than their actual beliefs, so Val's strength in sticking to her own beliefs was inspiring, and I think it's a message that more people need to see, young girls especially because Val's a great role model to them. :) I would recommend this one to anyone who enjoys young adult contemporaries, especially if you love awesome main characters and some sexy banter. ;)

    *This review is also on my blog and on other social media sites.
    *I was provided with a review copy in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It's an understatement to say this was a very emotional book. Ev

    It's an understatement to say this was a very emotional book. Everything that happens to Valerie, astonishes me. The way the author wrote this book, you develop connections with all the characters: you laugh with them, cry with them, and root for their happiness. There were so many struggles in this book, but Valerie did have a optimistic ending! Everything about this book was written great. The parts of this book I don't like, are the parts I know the author wants us not to like: when Valerie's world falls apart. I am glad I read this book. It gives you something to think about, I really don't think I will forget this book. Valerie is a very admirable character who stands up for her beliefs. She is a role model, just the way she should be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    Normally books like this would not cause me to be emotional, but

    Normally books like this would not cause me to be emotional, but the epilogue brought me to tears--the good kind of tears. This is a book that I think should be required reading for practically every teenage girl, and I was completely impressed with this book from the beginning right through the end. The message of the book comes across loud and clear, and it seems to be one of those messages that our young people don't hear enough. It is all right to be a virgin no matter what anyone else says. And contrary to popular thought, not everyone is doing it.




    I loved Virgin Val right from the first page of the book. I suppose I can sympathize to a degree since I was a virgin myself until I got married. But I never had a date in high school, so I suppose it was easier for me. I found myself cheering for Val, and I never knew exactly what boy she would really fall for--no spoilers from me. After all, she had at least three prospects. 




    As the story moved along and Val's cause grew more and more attention, I was quite pleased to see how much notoriety she got. And to see other young people making the commitment to abstinence was encouraging. It made me think that maybe there are more young people who want to remain virgins than I first thought--even in this day and age. 




    I never considered how much sex complicates a relationship. In a dating relationship, when one adds sex, it adds a tremendous amount of stress. I can speak from experience that even as an adult, sexual tension, frustration, and stress is real in a dating relationship. It is expected, and yet you don't want to do it. It's always in the back of your mind, and when you don't give in, the other party involved is generally ready to push you to do it anyway. Teens are not generally mature enough to handle such stress, and I love the idea of teens banding together to make the journey of remaining a virgin (or at least abstaining) easier.




    There is some very mild profanity, and I honestly was not bothered by it. I appreciated the fact that this was not a Christian book, and it never preached at you why you shouldn't have sex before marriage. It gave real answers as to why you should wait. And not all in the book chose to wait because after all, not all will. But the main message of the book is that it is better to wait.




    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1