Customer Reviews for

VB6: Eat Vegan Before 6:00 to Lose Weight and Restore Your Health . . . for Good

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

To all the reviewers complaining that the author isn't really a

To all the reviewers complaining that the author isn't really a vegan, allow me to point out that he is not claiming to be.  He is suggesting that people incorporate some vegan recipes into their diet in order to cut down on the junk and meat.

posted by 8176695 on May 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

This book seems to be just a rehash of nutritional advice Dr Cam

This book seems to be just a rehash of nutritional advice Dr Campbell gave us in *The China Study.* This author is using the term
VEGAN in the title of this book but there is nothing Vegan about this diet plan. A vegan is someone who does not eat animal products,
no m...
This book seems to be just a rehash of nutritional advice Dr Campbell gave us in *The China Study.* This author is using the term
VEGAN in the title of this book but there is nothing Vegan about this diet plan. A vegan is someone who does not eat animal products,
no meat, no eggs, no butter, etc. You can't be eating Vegan before 6PM and then indulge in eating animal products at night, that is not
what  Vegan means. Vegan is a way of life, it's not the latest EGO buzz word to gain attention or respect. 
The recipes are terrible, really boring and uneventful. I don't suggest this book for health, diet or recipes. I must mention also, that I
saw this author on TV promoting this book and he's sporting a BIG FAT GUT. I can assure anyone out there who is looking to lose
weight an increase their vitality, that this is not the book or author for you. Who would buy a diet book from a man who is clearly
overweight and uninformed? 

posted by Anonymous on April 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    To all the reviewers complaining that the author isn't really a

    To all the reviewers complaining that the author isn't really a vegan, allow me to point out that he is not claiming to be.  He is suggesting that people incorporate some vegan recipes into their diet in order to cut down on the junk and meat.

    35 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    I cannot believe how stupid these commenters are going on and on

    I cannot believe how stupid these commenters are going on and on about "he has know idea what a vegan is, how can he say he's vegan, blah, blah ,blah. You . morons . are . not . getting . the . point. He's just saying to eat like a vegan for a part of the day so your caloric intake is lower and you can lose weight, he's not saying YOU ARE OFFICIALLY A BONAFIDE VEGAN FROM THE MOMENT YOU WAKE UP UNTIL 6PM. There's nothing wrong with people eating vegan part time. Not everyone is out to save the world with their diet some people just want to lose weight and be healthier Just get over yourselves already.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Highly recommended.

    I enjoyed this book. It's a good plan to follow to enable a person to experience the vegan way of eating without giving up meat. It emphasizes giving up sweets, sugars and fats which is good, basic, healthy eating. I eat mostly vegan, but once in a while I do eat meat and dairy, especially when that is the only choices offered when eating out. I recommend this book to anyone interested in healthy eating.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    Easy to read and understand a healthy way to live

    Mark Bittman's writing appeals to me: he does meticulous research and then pulls it all together in a succinct and easy to read prose. I always knew that eating fruits, veggies, and whole grains were healthy, but Mr. Bittman explains why this is true by describing how the body digests all foods. Once you know this, you will want to limit your intake of processed foods for good! He quickly but thoroughly explains the science behind his plan, and then lays out the plan (complete with recipes) in a way that's easy to follow. Some people may think VB6 is just another gimmick, but it's actually a fairly easy and healthy way to live. His promise is true: if you follow this plan, you can maintain a healthy weight and lifestyle without having to count calories or points.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    This sounds like a great idea, I am started the diet today. I w

    This sounds like a great idea, I am started the diet today. I was Vegan for about 4 months a couple of years ago, I am also diabetic,
    when I went for my 4 months check up, my Triglycerides was up to 269, so my doctor said no vegan, I loved eating that way, made me feel good. so I think since its not all the way vegan, I get animal protein at night it may help. We will see when the Blood work come back. I am hoping to lose weight as well.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Bittman is one of a kind.

    Straight forward helpful and intelligent

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Great approach to healthy eating!

    Bittman's approach brings back to the table the color and variety of eating that previous generations of "kitchen garden" eaters experienced.

    His recipes are simple, adaptable, and tasty, too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    Really good information

    I liked this book a lot. It isn't a diet book, but practical information I can take and apply everyday. It isn't about a drastic change, but little things you can gradually do to improve your eating habits. I've tried a couple of the recipes and they are very good. If you want to start eating less animal products, this gives great easy ideas and ways to accomplish that,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Good, soud advice and information. I like his philosophical bases for eating less meat and processed food (health, environment, animal cruelty, evolutionary roots, etc.) which strengthen your resolve to eat real food. Plus, I admire anyone who has the guts to criticize powerful corporations that have the public interest as their last concern.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1