Customer Reviews for

Vacation under the Volcano (Magic Tree House Series #13)

Average Rating 4.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Food for first graders

    My first grader read this and loved it. I am going to get her more in the series.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    Vacation under the Volcano Review

    My Review over Vacation under the Volcano by Mary Pope Osborne Today I will review a story book from the Magic Tree house series. It is ¿Vacation under the Volcano, a Historical Fiction book. This book is about Jack and Anne (the main characters) going on a mission to Pompeii, Italy. But there is a problem, the mountain above the city named, Mt. Vesuvius, is about to erupt!And as Jack and Anne continue on their mission, they learn about the eruption that will happen. Then, it blows. Jack and Anne rush to the bridge to escape the city, but the bridge has collapsed, and the river has dried up! Will Jack and Anne escape? Or will they be history in Pompeii? Read, Vacation Under the Volcano to find out. In this book, I think there were 3 main strengths. One- Description of the characters. I think the author had really described them well. Two- Description of setting. The author describes most of the setting well. Three- The Facts. Mary Pope Osborne has this area nailed. She has explained everything about Pompeii that Jack and Anne learned very well, she knows her facts! In this book, I think there was only one weakness, the description of setting in the beginning. In the beginning, the story starts at Jack and Anne¿s house, she didn¿t describe this area very well at all¿. I DO RECOMMEND THIS BOOK! The reason is this- it is so fun to read, yet is educational. It is great for 2nd to 5th graders to read in my opinion! I hope that you want to grab this book off the shelves at the local bookstore now that you have read my review, and will enjoy this book!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    My son loves Jack and Annie...

    My son is 6 years old..he got a set of Magic Treehouse books from his grandfather and has been hooked ever since. Very entertaining and even educational.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2007

    This book was good.

    The Vacation under the Volcano By Mary Pope Osborne The book I was reading is was called Vacation under the Volcano .The book was mostly about a brother and sister named Jack and Annie. They are very smart they had a magic tree house by Frog wood creek. The tree house can also take you any were you wish. There wish was to go to Pompeii. While they were in Pompeii they learned about soothsayers and other many people. A soothsayer is a person who can see into the future and warn others what they saw. I think the Arthur wrote this book because she might would like kids like you learn more about Pompeii. I like this book because I learned more about Pompeii . Derondre Smith

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Amazing

    It is the best book ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Shade

    Good to meet you cookie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Holly

    Climbs up on my bed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Cookie

    Cookie offers Shade a sunflower seed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Black

    Shade , are you a mouse? If you're the hamster, that part is taken. But for now, just keep it untill Cookie and Oreo come back.)) Bbs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Highly recommended; Magic Tree House series very educatioinal to toddlers

    My 6 year old niece has about 20 books of the Magic Tree House series. After reading the book, she had alot of questions about volcanos, such as how fast does lava flow, did the people of Pompeii have any warning, why did they build the town so close to a volcano, what about Hawaii? Excellent book. More importantly, it sparked her interest in related topics about volcanos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    hi

    I dont like this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Ewe

    Angel was here...bored i dont like this books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Crasycody

    Sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Love it so much

    I love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    589

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    I love this book!!!

    It was so interesting and i couldn't stop reading it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Up Upside Downside

    The only proplem i have is that i can read these in a day wich i dont really like. Now i am on the 12th book and i stared 12 days ago so ya and if you see this please write me back


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Jeffery

    these books are so cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    My grandson is loving this series.

    My 6 yr. old grandson, who lives in Germany, is so engrossed with this series, that I am having to send hime 6 at a time to keep up! He is bi-lingual, but his learning to read in English is a definite plus with these books, as they only read in German in school. It's a good thing he has a birthday coming up so I can send him some more! I thought these were for older kids but definitely age is not a problem for such magical stories....For the kid in all of us!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Dear people,

    I enjoyed this book on history .i would say that eneyone could read this but, i would start with the1st book to know the caritars . Enjoy the book because l can finish the book in one day. From a reader ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3