BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Vacation with a Vampire: Stay / Vivi and the Vampire / Island Vacation (Harlequin Nocturne Series #139)

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    Vampires is not at all like in the movies or books. Sure, I





    Vampires is not at all like in the movies or books. Sure, I understand.  You are young; you have the whole world open to you. You can be anything that you choose if you apply yourself and try hard to work toward that goal. But being a vampire is not what it seems like. It's a life full of good, and amazing things. We are as human as you are.. It's not what you are that counts, but how you choose to be. Do you want a life full of interesting things? Do you want to have power and influence over others? To be charming and desirable? To have wealth, health, and longevity? contact the vampires creed today via email, vampirescreed11 @ hotmail. com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Bree's bio

    Age: 15, 5'1 long brown hair tan skin personality: tipical bad girl but im very sweet hobbies: love to dance sing and have fun. You caan find me on one direction res. 3.
    Love Peace Believe Inspire and Kick Ass

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Stil's bios

    Age: 14 Looks: tall 5'10" pale with black hair crimson red eyes and a bite mark on the right side of my neck. Personality: not saying u will have to find out on ur own. Likes: fights mysterys problems that can only be solved by me competition. Dislikes: i honestly dont care much just dont be a sl.ut to me or my friends or gay around me. Status: im single but not planning on getting a gf anytime soon. No ones good enough.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Silver

    "Yes ive heard of storm i used to talk to him",she says

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Lucys bio

    My name is lucy vampire cromwell and im 13 years old. Im 11in. Became a vamp at age 6. Favorite colors: pink and purple and white and red and black. My favorite food/drink: humans and blood. Im a girly vampire. And wears dresses and heels alot. I have a bf named edward. (Not real just for the bio) friends: emilee and fox and going to make some more. And thats all for my bio :).

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    QueenReenelle

    Ok fine. I'm proud of u*walks out*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Dacid

    You pick me up lets go

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The best kind of "vacation"! Read from September 17



    The best kind of "vacation"!

    Read from September 17 to 19, 2012

    BOOK SYNOPSIS



    A holiday with tall, dark, handsome…and immortal!

    Everyone needs a break sometimes, especially during the summer. After all, what’s more relaxing, and more romantic, than a midnight stroll through Paris? Or the way the moon reflects off the ocean? And if your mesmerizing, sexy date happens to be ready to nibble your neck, who would want to say no?

    Vacations are a perfect time to indulge, so why not spend a little quality time with these immortal hunks in three luscious tales of hot getaways. Treat yourself to a little bit of summer moonlight with these tales brought to you by Michele Hauf, Kendra Leigh Castle and Lisa Childs.

    My Thoughts



    As in all Anthologies there will be one that stands out as a favorite, in this anthology the choice is pretty much even as all three tales have their own appeal and all three authors for me are winners with none outshining the others.

    #1 . We start with the first offering by author Michelle Hauf, her Vacation with a Vampire:Stay, set in the city of lovers Paris, is one that both longtime fans will find appealing as well as readers who are new to her style of storytelling.

    There is nothing more elegant or sexy than a handsome Italian male who eloquently uses French as a seduction tool, at least that is what American tourist Magen Sloan thinks when she meets Lucian Bellisario. The two are like a moth to the flame, Magen is at first glance not the type of female that the ultra suave Lucian would ever be willing to spend more time with than it takes to sate his appetite for blood. However first appearances are deceptive in Magen's case, her inner seductress is more compelling than the highest paid courtesan practiced in the art of womanly wiles could ever be as Lucian soon learns firsthand.

    Michele Hauf has penned a seductive little novella, one that has an unexpected twist that elevates the story to a different level than just two characters whose lives happen to overlap. A past mistake comes back to literally "haunt" Lucian, putting not only his life but Magen's in jeapordy unless he can figure out a way to make amends.

    This is, as all of the works that I have had the pleasure of reading written by the author, an easy read that allows your imagination free rein and entertains with a bit of romance and drama that you will enjoy sitting down with for a short while as the novella takes very little time to finish.

    #2 . In the second novella author Kendra Leigh Castle sends Vampire Hunter Vivi Malone on a vacation in a small Florida town in "Vivi and the Vampire". Vivi is one of a select group whose job it is to protect the human population from rogue Vampires. The small beach town that she chooses for her weeks vacation has a reputation as being one that is Vampire free. The first night out strolling on the beach in the moonlight though Vivi encounters two vampires who decide she is an opportune "snack" that they argue over which one gets the privilege of biting while Vivi stands to the side wondering how long it will take for them to notice that she is armed and not quite the "easy prey" they are used to.

    Finally one of the vampires pays attention when Vivi produces a retractable stake and decides to flee before he is staked, the second though decides to stay and make the "little Hunter" regret her decision to resist. While Vivi is skilled it soon becomes quite clear that the vamp has her outmatched and she is only a breath away from truly becoming his unwilling meal when a new player enters the scene.

    Justin is the King of the Vampire city Terra Noctem, he rules the Vampires there under his care by dealing with disputes that arise over one matter or another and in all his long life has never been on "vacation" but here he is after being badgered to take some time away by his sister Dru on the same moonlit beach as Vivi and her Vampire assailant. Justin recognizes the troublemaker as Adam and he intervenes and orders him to leave Vivi be and instead to return to Terra Noctem to be punished.

    This is the start of a familiar tale of a mismatched couple, one a Vampire Hunter sworn to strike down all of the rogues who terrorize her human counterparts and the other the King of the Vampires himself who is sworn to keep his kind safe from Vivi and her fellow slayers. The internal tug of war that the two face to deny what each feels for the other is also a familiar part of the dance that accompanies these relationships, the clever twist introduced by the author as to the origin of the different types of Vampire Hunters is what makes it unique.

    The tale is full of sexual heat as well as some fight scenes that will get the blood pumping for the reader as well as keep them anticipating what Vivi and Justin do next.

    A nice little paranormal romance with plenty of spice that keeps pages turning until the very last moment of the story!

    It has been a while since I have read anything by Ms. Castle but this short story reminded me of what a good imagination she brought to play in her work, it also reminded me that the lines between good and evil are not always a clearly drawn black and white.

    #3 . The third offering by author Lisa Childs is "Island Vacation". We start the tale meeting Patricia Reynolds, an accountant whose firm has sent her on an all expense paid two week vacation on an island which is owned by Roarke Monterusso who it turns out is the mysterious client whose generosity is responsible for Patricia's vacation. The reason that Roarke provided the opportunity is quickly revealed, he feels that Patricia is in reality "Piper" who he has been searching for since the brutal slaying of his cousin Rick. Roarke thinks that "Piper" murdered his cousin and has been seeking her all the years since in an effort to exact revenge for Rick's death.

    Not only is this a very intense story it is also one of revelations unearthed by both Roarke and Patricia about who she really is and what really happened the night his cousin Rick met his untimely death. There is a no "prisoners taken" attitude in this tale, it is very dark and delves deeply into what a greedy and cunning mind can do to wreak havoc on another's life by their actions.

    If you enjoy being cast into a whirlwind of violent emotions, mystery, suspense and heated moments of inescapable passion than this is a paranormal romance that will entertain you from beginning to the very tumultuous end!


    [EArc from Netgalley in exchange for honest review]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Great

    Book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Stay - Michele Hauf Magen is writing a historical story set in

    Stay - Michele Hauf

    Magen is writing a historical story set in the 1800's and travels to Paris, France looking for inspiration and a distraction from real life, preferably a handsome one with a French accent. She stumbles across Lucian in her quest to purchase a gift for a friend and she is drawn to him, inexplainably so. The more time together the deeper their connection grows but is there more to their relationship than we see at first glance?

    I enjoyed the interactions between Lucian and Magen when they first get together, the gentle teasing, the longing touches. Both of them desperate for more but scared to voice their feelings. When Lucians past comes back to haunt him things really start to heat up.

    Vivi and the Vampire - Kendra Leigh Castle

    Justin is the King of the Vampires and a bit of a workaholic, his sister pushes him to take a well deserved vacation. Vivi is a vampire hunter who needs a break from the hunt. Fate conspires to bring them together when Justin steps in to save Vivi from a vampire attack. Calling a truce they make a date, one evening to get to know each other. Can they fight their growing attraction?

    I love this one! I am a huge fan of Kendra's writing and this novella did not disappoint! I'm hoping for more books set in this world.

    Island Vacation - Lisa Childs

    When Patricia wins a two week all expensive paid vacation through her work she is unsure of what is goin on. For four years she has been in hiding, running from everything she used to be. Will Roarke unravel her secrets? Why is he so detemined to prove she is in fact Piper?

    Island vacation was another enjoyable tale, my first from author Lisa Childs but I doubt it will be my last. I loved the suspense in this one, I was eager to get to the bottom of their secrets and I wasn't disappointed when I got there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    Our Review by LITERAL ADDICTION’s Pack Alpha – Miche

    Our Review by LITERAL ADDICTION’s Pack Alpha – Michelle L. Olson:
    This was a great anthology. Michele’s story was worthy of an immediate double read for me. I was glued to the pages of Kendra’s tale and will more than likely read that one again as well, and Lisa’s closer had an interesting spin that rounded things out nicely for the book. All in all, it was a very engaging read. ¿
    Stay – Michele Hauf
    Lucian is a Parisian vampire running an antique shop and enjoying life. After helping out a friend with a spell and donating some blood, he decides to take from the customer waiting for him outside of his shop door when he arrives back at work.
    Magen is on holiday in Paris trying to kick up her heals and fantasizing about a lucid affair with a sexy Frenchman.
    When the two come together there’s instant chemistry and between danger, romance and revenge, Magen is swept off of her feet by the sexy Frenchman she’s always dreamed of and Lucian finds himself wanting to do something he’s never wanted to do in his VERY long life… actually ask someone to stay.
    Vivi and the Vampire - Kendra Leigh Castle
    Justin, the workaholic king of the vampires is forced into taking a vacation by his sister. Immediately upon arriving he’s forced right back into work by bringing one of his vamps in line and stopping an attack.
    Vivi is a Hunter attempting to enjoy some time away without vampires. That doesn’t last long though, and she’s immediately forced into a confrontation with not 1, but 2 vamps and then saved by a 3rd.
    2 unlikely allies, they decide to work together and because they’re both on vacation and rules shouldn’t apply, decide they might as well get to know each other a little bit better as well. Their ‘vacation’ proves interesting however, and there is danger lurking around every corner. Torn between the undeniable feelings for one another and their learned natures that are hard to ignore, theirs is a relationship full of excitement.
    Island Vacation - Lisa Childs
    Piper won a vacation through her work lottery and since she had never been on vacation she figured why not. It worried her a bit though, as she’s been sort of in hiding for the last several years and she was afraid of blowing her cover and being thrown back into her waking nightmare.
    Roarke is a vampire bent on revenge. When he thinks he’s found the person who deserves his wrath he plans a scheme to get her in his clutches.
    The relationship between these two was explosive. A case of mistaken identity (or is it?), a tragic history that was put to rest (or was it?) and two people who are forced to confront the darkest parts of themselves and each other while uncovering some long buried secrets and diabolical plots.
    LITERAL ADDICTION gives Vacation With a Vampire 4 Skulls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Vacation With a Vampire Anthology Stay by Michele Hauf Lucian Be

    Vacation With a Vampire Anthology
    Stay by Michele Hauf
    Lucian Bellisario lives in Paris and owns an antique shop. Most of the antiques are things that he knows of personally because he happens to be a vampire. When in deep need of some blood after “donating” some of his for a friend, he is glad to see a customer waiting at his shop. Meal time.
    Magen Sloan is visiting Paris for two weeks. She left Minnesota with the goal to enjoy herself and have an affair with a Frenchman….who would whisper sweet French nothings in her ear. Her adventure turns into a bit more than she planned on. She just didn’t expect vampires, ghosts and witches.
    Vivi and the Vampire by Kendra Leigh Castle
    Justin is a king, at least in the paranormal world. He is over 2,000 years old and is usually buried in work behind his huge desk. Until his sister, Dru, pushes him to take a nice relaxing vacation in Florida. Reluctantly he goes and duty calls immediately as he has to pull a vampire off a Hunter. And then his vacation really gets interesting.
    Vivi is going to take a nice non-vampire vacation. Yeah right! No sooner is she enjoying a walk on the beach when two vamps start arguing which one is going to bite her. And then she is rescued by the most handsome vampire she has ever laid her eyes on. The two of them call a truce for their vacation but the Hunter’s who hate all vampires….whether good or bad….have other plans.
    This was a really good story. The unique romance between the hunter and the hunted. They should have been natural enemies but the heart didn’t see it that way. The author has written Justin’s character in such a clear way that you fall in love with the quiet, lonely and handsome vampire from the get go.
    Island Vacation by Lisa Childs
    Piper Reynolds won a vacation. At work they held a yearly lottery and this year was for a vacation and she won. She never had been on a vacation. She worked since fourteen and had been hiding out for the past four years. Trying to escape her nightmares. When she lands on a private Island it looks like her vacation may be another real life nightmare.
    Roarke Monterusso has wait four long years for revenge. When the person claiming to be Patricia Reynolds came to his Island...she denied being Piper Reynolds. The person his long awaited vengeance was going to be taken out on.
    Another enjoyable story where nothing is what it seems to be and Piper has secrets about herself that even she don’t know about.
    *Language and sexual situations
    **Received through NetGalley for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Three stories that prove that no matter how long you live all work and no play makes you dull.

    Even vampires need a vacation every now and then don’t they? This book has three tales of vampires getting away from the everyday (or is that every night) routine. Stay by Michele Hauf - Italian vampire Lucian Bellisario is now a Parisian. He lives and works in Paris. Magen Sloan is an American author on a working vacation. They meet and bond in Lucians’ antique shop. Ah Paris by night. Vivi and the Vampire by Kendra Leigh Castle – This was my favorite of the three stories. Justin, hunky vampire and King of Terra Noctem, hasn’t had a vacation in like ever and hasn’t had a date in a couple of centuries. His sister badgers him into taking a short vacation at of all things a beach resort. Vampire hunter Vivi is on vacation too. They meet when she is fighting off the advances of two rather insistent vampires. Can opposites attract? Island Vacation by Lisa Childs – Piper Reynolds is in hiding. She isn’t sure from what. Her only clues are in her nightmares which feature a lot of blood. Roarke Monterusso holds Piper responsible for his cousins final death. When he finds her he lures her to his island with a free vacation. Will he kill her or keep her? This story was too short to do it full justice. Three stories that prove that no matter how long you live all work and no play makes you dull.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1