Customer Reviews for

The Vagina Monologues

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Vagina Monologues Come to Drama Festival

I'm a junior at Ruidoso High School in New Mexico. When the drama teacher asked us if we wanted to go away to the college campus ENMU in Portales for four days, there was no way that I would say no. When we arrived we picked up the schedule for the plays that were going...
I'm a junior at Ruidoso High School in New Mexico. When the drama teacher asked us if we wanted to go away to the college campus ENMU in Portales for four days, there was no way that I would say no. When we arrived we picked up the schedule for the plays that were going to be taking place, I saw a play titled 'The Vagina Monologues' by Women's Issues in Theatre. I was intrigued about what it was. It was obvious that it had something to do about feminism. I couldnt wait to see it. When I finally sat down in the theatre to watch it I was excited. As each women on stage performed they brought out a sense of power to the women and young ladies in the audience. They spoke about tampons, rape, sexuality, shaving, abuse, love and hate. 'The Vagina Monologues' covered everything that feminism is. After thier performance, they were one of the few that recieved a standing ovation. 'The Vagina Monologues' brought out a sense of power, feminism, and equality in me. I havent stopped talking about it since. I highly recommed that you go see the performance. Im hoping to read the book soon.

posted by Anonymous on March 6, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Boo

Its haloween

posted by 14042221 on February 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    Eve Ensler¿s The Vagina Monologues is an interesting read. It delves into a relatively secret matter that is not discussed openly. It is written and organized well enough to make it a quick and captivating read. Once you pick up the book, you will not be able to put it down. Yes, that applies to guys as well because even though we are not willing to admit it, we have a natural curiosity for the ¿down there.¿ This book gives a small but very powerful glimpse into what the world of vaginas holds. In order to do this, Ensler has to illustrate what a vagina is like using only words. She gives first-hand accounts of questions that she asked people on the streets, short stories that are more second-hand diary accounts, and finally vagina facts. While she seems to capture the true nature and thoughts about vaginas perfectly with some of the accounts, she misses the mark a few times as well. The direct questions, sometimes a little disturbing, add to the book as a whole and show the diversity of women and what they feel they are like. The vagina facts are interesting and well placed throughout the book, I do not know if I would have enjoyed reading the book or not without them. It would definitely have been a little drier and more condensed in terms of its femininity. And finally, we come to the second-hand accounts. These accounts were very eye opening and hold nothing back when it comes to women and how they feel or act. And when I say nothing, I mean NOTHING. This is not necessarily a good thing, however, because sometimes Ensler came off more as a pro-lesbian rather than just a strong feminist. Some of the entries are far more important than others and the book could have portrayed Ensler¿s message without a few of them. For instance, the entry about rape being used as a tool of warfare is extremely relevant in our world and should be given more thought. On the other side there is the monologue where the little girl and the grown woman make love. Now, the whole book is thought provoking, but that passage was a little more than that it was disturbing. I do not think that the overall message of the book would have been lost if that one had been left out. The Vagina Monologues should be recommended to all who are willing to embrace it with an open mind. It is definitely not for everyone and should not be approached as such. But if you are looking for a good feminist book that gives interesting insight on what women think about their vaginas then look no further!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Unexpectedly Enjoyable

    I love the bluntness with which this book is written. The author makes no attempt to hide the beautiful material discussed within. Such a great step forward in ending FGM and stopping violence for all women.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Vagina Monologue

    Great Book. All the women should read this book and learn to respect their gender.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    ¿If your Vagina got dressed what would it wear?¿ A beret. A leather Jacket. Silk Stockings. A Pink Boa. A Male Tuxedo. Jeans¿. 'Ensler, 2001, p.15' This short excerpt from the Vagina Monologues by Eve Ensler is just one of the many passages demonstrating the controversial material in the book. Many of the monologues in the book contain material which one would not normally expect to read or talk about every day. It is a shocking book. For the subject of a woman¿s vagina is not commonly talked about and is rarely brought up in conversation. However, should it be? The book is drawing attention to the idea that women need to be aware of their vaginas, really get to know them, and understand them. This may seem odd however, Eve really does a great job throughout the monologues to explain how valuable the vagina is to the woman. The Vagina Monologues, usually performed as a play, is truly shocking and attention getting in book form as well as when presented in the play style. It takes one through different stories of woman¿s vaginas and what they think about them. It includes monologues of what women think their vaginas will wear, smell like, or say. It interviews many different women ranging from females who have been abused, assaulted, and ones who have normal sex lives. Eve Ensler, the author, is lesbian and she talks about how she came to that realization and grew into the person she is today. She tells of her mission and goal which she is trying to achieve through these monologues. Eve shows women that they need to be aware of themselves through their vaginas and truly find themselves in this way. Through Eve Ensler¿s activism and drive from the book she has instigated V-day. V-day is a college initiative which encourages college women around the nation to fight violence against woman and girls. This Global initiative creates awareness about the woman who have suffered from rape, incest, genital mutilation, and any other sexual assault against them. Through her book and initiative Eve Ensler has drawn awareness from the populace. I would highly recommend this book although controversial and shocking at times, it is truly moving. It makes females and males think about what needs to be changed in how women need to be viewed and treated in our world today.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    Loved it.

    I just finished this one, another one I'd been wanting to read for awhile, so I was quite pleased to find it at the thrift store, (I found Sedaris' there too) I loved this, I really did, some parts made me laugh, others made me want to cry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2004

    LAUGH AND LEARN WITH THIS READING

    Words and thoughts once taboo are now mainstream due in large part to 'The Vagina Monologues,' a funny, moving exploration of women's thoughts, dreams, hopes and fears by the dynamic Eve Ensler. Released to coincide with February's V-Day, a global movement to stop violence against women and girls, the audio version brings Ensler's words to wise and witty life once more. Of course, no one is better suited to read these words than the author herself. Winner of the Obie Award for this play, Ensler is also the author of other plays including Lemonade, The Depot, and Necessary Targets, which has had benefit performances on Broadway, at the National Theatre in Sarajevo, and at the Kennedy Center. Hailed throughout the world Ensler's uninhibited masterpiece has become a rallying cry for women. Listen, laugh, and learn.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2002

    Here, kitty kitty...

    I'd never heard of the Vagina Monologues until I saw this book on a table at B&N (where I worked at the time). I bought it, read it, and loved it. Some things were funny, some things were sad, and some were boring. Regardless, it is an important message that was received by me, and hopefully everyone else who read this book. I'm sure the performance is a great deal more powerful in person, but this book did the best job it could do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1