Customer Reviews for

The Valcourt Heiress

Average Rating 3.5
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Readers will enjoy Catherine Coulter's exciting thirteenth century tale

In 1278, considered by many to be a witch, the widow of the Earl of Valcourt, Abbess Helen of Meizerling Abbey sells her daughter Marianna de Luce de Mornay to the highest bidder, the malevolent Jason of Brennan. Rather than marry the evil Jason, Merry sneaks out of th...
In 1278, considered by many to be a witch, the widow of the Earl of Valcourt, Abbess Helen of Meizerling Abbey sells her daughter Marianna de Luce de Mornay to the highest bidder, the malevolent Jason of Brennan. Rather than marry the evil Jason, Merry sneaks out of the castle wearing a lad's garb, but is caught by the Earl of Wareham, Lord Garron. Merry manages to escape again, but follows Garron and his retinue to his keep.

At Wareham, Garron is stunned by the massacre that greets him. Few survive the horror. Merry sneaks into Garron's keep and masquerades as the dead priest's illegitimate bastard daughter. Caring for others, Merry tries to help the survivors, which brings her to the attention of Garron. He realizes she is The Valcourt Heiress and plans to escort her to the king. Instead she seduces him, which forces the honorable Garron to have to wed her. However, her odious mother kidnaps her and holds her prisoner until she is released and returned to Wareham. However, her behavior is totally the opposite of her first time here, but Garron knows something is not right as Merry is nothing remotely like the woman he fell in love with; especially when Helen arrives allegedly to negotiate.

This is an engaging medieval romantic suspense starring two fascinating lead characters and an evil Abbess who steals the show with her machinations. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Merry sneaks out of the castle and never slows down as the diabolical Helen insidiously works her schemes by taking advantage of the psyches of everyone who crosses her sphere. Although good and bad are drawn to the extremes, fans will enjoy Catherine Coulter's exciting thirteenth century thriller.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nonsensical...in a very bad way

I was looking for a light read, and got vacuous. The original plot was solid enough but became untethered with the addition of "magick" and other silliness. The entire second half of the book is so confusing and ridiculous that I found myself skipping chapters in the ...
I was looking for a light read, and got vacuous. The original plot was solid enough but became untethered with the addition of "magick" and other silliness. The entire second half of the book is so confusing and ridiculous that I found myself skipping chapters in the hope that Ms. Coulter would get back on track. She didn't. The result was a completely unsatisfying read.

posted by goguins66 on October 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Readers will enjoy Catherine Coulter's exciting thirteenth century tale

    In 1278, considered by many to be a witch, the widow of the Earl of Valcourt, Abbess Helen of Meizerling Abbey sells her daughter Marianna de Luce de Mornay to the highest bidder, the malevolent Jason of Brennan. Rather than marry the evil Jason, Merry sneaks out of the castle wearing a lad's garb, but is caught by the Earl of Wareham, Lord Garron. Merry manages to escape again, but follows Garron and his retinue to his keep.

    At Wareham, Garron is stunned by the massacre that greets him. Few survive the horror. Merry sneaks into Garron's keep and masquerades as the dead priest's illegitimate bastard daughter. Caring for others, Merry tries to help the survivors, which brings her to the attention of Garron. He realizes she is The Valcourt Heiress and plans to escort her to the king. Instead she seduces him, which forces the honorable Garron to have to wed her. However, her odious mother kidnaps her and holds her prisoner until she is released and returned to Wareham. However, her behavior is totally the opposite of her first time here, but Garron knows something is not right as Merry is nothing remotely like the woman he fell in love with; especially when Helen arrives allegedly to negotiate.

    This is an engaging medieval romantic suspense starring two fascinating lead characters and an evil Abbess who steals the show with her machinations. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Merry sneaks out of the castle and never slows down as the diabolical Helen insidiously works her schemes by taking advantage of the psyches of everyone who crosses her sphere. Although good and bad are drawn to the extremes, fans will enjoy Catherine Coulter's exciting thirteenth century thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    Nonsensical...in a very bad way

    I was looking for a light read, and got vacuous. The original plot was solid enough but became untethered with the addition of "magick" and other silliness. The entire second half of the book is so confusing and ridiculous that I found myself skipping chapters in the hope that Ms. Coulter would get back on track. She didn't. The result was a completely unsatisfying read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    Don't bother

    This book was not of her usual caliber. The plot dragged, there was no real chemistry, sexual or otherwise between the hero and heroine. The magic in it doesn't make sense and feels like a random plot line that was thrown in as an afterthought. The book was so boring and the characters so uninteresting that I could barely finish the book. I am sorry I spent the money on it, what a waste.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Not her best.

    The plot unfolds too quickly. The relationship between the two main characters never fully develops. The ending is rushed and totally unsatisfying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Classic Coulter

    If you love Catherine Coulter's historical romance you will love this story. I also love how she adds in the true historical fact to her stories. You will love the characters and the rich landscape she pens in her latest historical romance.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    A quick read - enjoyable

    This is a pretty well-written book - I enjoyed the details of Middle Ages life - how things were done - what they ate - how they lived. The characters were not particularly well developed. The story line was pretty engaging though. Worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    Another great fantasy....

    Really good book. Kept me interested from beginning to end. Another.great book by her. Makes you feel like you are there.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Another Great Read

    Once again, Catherine Coulter wrote a great book that I'm so glad I bought. I recommend anyone to buy and read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Very Engaging - great read!

    I couldn't put this book down and read it in one day. It's an engaging read and the characters are well developed. I hope there's another book building on this one in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    A good read

    I always enjoy a Coulter novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    Much better than I expected !

    Well written, edge of the seat plot that moved right along. Very likable, richly developed characters. I thought the book too expensive, but downloaded it by accident. I was prepared to dislike it, but couldn't! It's on my favorites shelve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful stroy of the 13th's century

    If you like stories of old England back in the time of King Edward or Henry, you'll enjoy this book. Kidnappings, deceit, Earls and Heiresses and castles to manage. Absolutely wonderful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    boring!!

    don't waste your money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7