Customer Reviews for

Valeria's Cross

Average Rating 3.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic story!

Valeria's Cross is an incredible tale set during a time period when being a Christian could be deadly. I've read several books in the past year from the same time period such as Guardian of the Flame and Cleopatra's Daughter, and this book surpasses them all. Full of pa...
Valeria's Cross is an incredible tale set during a time period when being a Christian could be deadly. I've read several books in the past year from the same time period such as Guardian of the Flame and Cleopatra's Daughter, and this book surpasses them all. Full of passion for people and for the Lord, this story really takes a look at Valeria's life and her purpose during that tumultuous period in history.

Though a fictional account, I found Valeria's Cross to be very believable. The struggles and temptations that Valeria faced were so realistically done that it left me breathless. I totally understood her pain and her passion. She had a difficult life of having to continually rectify her faith with the things her station required because of her role and position as Diocletian's daughter.

I grieved with Valeria more than once. She was a true martyr, in my opinion, for having to do so many things that she resisted at first, yet eventually conceded to. While women had some influence, the clearly had no power during that generation. Her suffering paid off, though, several times and she did experience joy in her life despite the heartache that preceded it.

It fascinated me how the sign of the cross and ashes on the forehead were used by the early church as a way Christians showed their allegiance to Christ when they were forced to participate in pagan ceremonies, or die. Valeria was a compassionate and likable character whose doubts and feelings rang true to me. Her life exemplified true forgiveness and she had a powerful testimony.

What I loved best about Valeria was that she was portrayed as very human. She suffered from many temptations that are rarely shown in Christian fiction, which impressed me all the more. This sweeping romance was powerfully written, and emotionally evocative. Bottom line...I was enthralled with this story. It's definitely making my best fiction of 2010 list!

posted by MichelleSutton on May 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very tragic story

This book is very tragic all the way through. Although I understand that it is mostly taken from actual historical accounts (and I know that history is not always pretty) and fiction was added in some parts, it was a little disturbing for me to read. There were happy ...
This book is very tragic all the way through. Although I understand that it is mostly taken from actual historical accounts (and I know that history is not always pretty) and fiction was added in some parts, it was a little disturbing for me to read. There were happy moments in the book but a lot of death and doom overshadowed it. The characters were not developed well and I felt as if it moved too fast. I do have a better understanding though of the trials that the Christians of that time had to endure.

posted by NJ94 on July 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic story!

    Valeria's Cross is an incredible tale set during a time period when being a Christian could be deadly. I've read several books in the past year from the same time period such as Guardian of the Flame and Cleopatra's Daughter, and this book surpasses them all. Full of passion for people and for the Lord, this story really takes a look at Valeria's life and her purpose during that tumultuous period in history.

    Though a fictional account, I found Valeria's Cross to be very believable. The struggles and temptations that Valeria faced were so realistically done that it left me breathless. I totally understood her pain and her passion. She had a difficult life of having to continually rectify her faith with the things her station required because of her role and position as Diocletian's daughter.

    I grieved with Valeria more than once. She was a true martyr, in my opinion, for having to do so many things that she resisted at first, yet eventually conceded to. While women had some influence, the clearly had no power during that generation. Her suffering paid off, though, several times and she did experience joy in her life despite the heartache that preceded it.

    It fascinated me how the sign of the cross and ashes on the forehead were used by the early church as a way Christians showed their allegiance to Christ when they were forced to participate in pagan ceremonies, or die. Valeria was a compassionate and likable character whose doubts and feelings rang true to me. Her life exemplified true forgiveness and she had a powerful testimony.

    What I loved best about Valeria was that she was portrayed as very human. She suffered from many temptations that are rarely shown in Christian fiction, which impressed me all the more. This sweeping romance was powerfully written, and emotionally evocative. Bottom line...I was enthralled with this story. It's definitely making my best fiction of 2010 list!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting Read

    Valeria's Cross is a riveting story of love, passion, betrayal, and religious persecution. The writers very skillfully took the reader on an adventure back in time when Christians were persecuted for their faith. It was a thoroughly enjoyable book to read. Once one gets into the story, one will find it difficult to put down as he/she follows Valeria and her Mother through their perilous journey as Christians during this time period. Despite what happens to the characters, one is left with the satisfaction that God is still in control.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Great read.

    Well written. A captivating part of history. Would I have had the courage to stand up for my LORD as many thousands during that era had?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Very tragic story

    This book is very tragic all the way through. Although I understand that it is mostly taken from actual historical accounts (and I know that history is not always pretty) and fiction was added in some parts, it was a little disturbing for me to read. There were happy moments in the book but a lot of death and doom overshadowed it. The characters were not developed well and I felt as if it moved too fast. I do have a better understanding though of the trials that the Christians of that time had to endure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    It was okay

    I was disappointed with the ending but if it's based on a true story, okay, I get it. I don't understand why the authors flew through some parts and stayed too long in other parts of the story. It kept feeling like a long distance race turned into a sprint and then back into a long distance. A bit disjointed. The characters were great.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Not recommended

    I can not recommend this book. I am so glad I got it for free. I barely got through 60 pages before moving on. Characters weren't well developed.

    The fact that both mother and daughter ditch their religion in the first 25 pages speaks volumes to me. Sure I can understand the characters converting, but I would of expected them to struggle more, to really have an inner war before instantly converting to another religion. People don't automatically throw away one belief system for another, they struggle with it, they contemplate it and do some soul searching. There was none of that in this book.

    Other than that, I felt it was a bit preachy.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Thankful it was a Free Friday book

    This wasn't a horrible book, however, it read a lot like someone had done a high school history paper on the ancient Romans and tried to work all of that information into a book. The characters were not well developed or fleshed out. It was hard for me to really sympathize or empathize with any of the characters. I wouldn't really recommend it to anyone, as I feel that it was not well written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Based on real story

    This was an excellent and interesting book based on two real Roman Emperor's wives, Prisca and Valeria, a mother and daughter, and the persecution they faced for their Christian faith during the third century.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    A TRAGIC HEARTBREAKING STORY OF PERSECUTION DURING THE ROMAN EMPIRE!

    VALERIA'S CROSS by Kathi Macias and Susan Wales is a inspirational historical set during the Roman Empire era. It is well written with depth and details. It has courage, faith, hope, adventure, persecution of Christian's, martyrs, betrayal, the Roman Empire, sacrifice, Christianity, history, fear, following your faith, finding your destiny,hate, practicing the pagan faith, an emperor's daughter,Valeria, his wife, Prisca and a forced marriage between his daughter and a pagan general. Valeria is forced into a marriage to Gallerias, a pagan general, after she learns he had her true love, sacrificed and his christian soldier's "The The ban Legion".Valeria is beautiful, young, covert ed to Christianity, loves a man that was a christian and murdered/sacrificed by Galerius. This book is detailed with historical facts and shows the struggles and sacrifices the Christians endured during this period to practice their faith. This is an intense, sad, heartbreaking story of the wife,Prisca and daugther,Valeria, of the emperor, Diocletian and the persecution of Christians during this era, their deaths, cruelty, and finally after years of exile and hiding, the deaths of Valeria and her mother Prisca. I would recommend this book especially if you enjoy Christian history, the Roman Empire history, the struggles of Christianity and the overwhelming faith, bravery and honor of these Christians in order to practice their faith. This book was received for review from Net Galley and details can be found at Abingdon Press and My Book Addiction and More.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    VERY POORLY WRITTEN

    Please use a different editor. The story could have easiy llost a 100 pages it needed to be much tighter. The main female character was so winny and protrayed as a victum to much. HORRIBLE book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    I don't recommend

    I was very disappointed in this story. Didn't care for it at all. It was much longer than it needed to be as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Theban legion

    Interesting historical fiction of the Theban legion and the age of Diocletian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    A good historical read

    I was not familiar with this tale before reading. A heartwrenching sstory that i could not put down. Only four stars because the story jumped around through the years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Heartbreaking & beautiful telling of this dark time in our history

    Read in one sitting, could not put down. Followed historical events
    during that period while adding fictional romance and insights into
    this royal family. I feel I will eventually read it again. I also
    recommended it to all the ladies in my bible study group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    excellent

    Very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    WOW!!!

    What a read.. I just finished this book.. if you are looking for a book of martyrs this would be one to read. There is love, honor, mystery, murder, as well as faith in the Lord. There were several times that as the romantic I am I was dissapointed in the story. However , this story was a great example of the early christians.. both their learning of Christ as well as their willingness to die before denying him, WOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    MUST READ!

    An incredible tale of early followers of Christ. Who pay the ultimate sacrifice after soul searching for the truth of God in a world hellbent on worshipping false gods.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Horrible story

    I did not like it at all. I kept reading thinking it would get better, but never did. The author is a very good writer but the story line was just so incredibly heartbreaking sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Touching

    Great book. Really touched my heart.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    This was a really good book, it keep you turning pages. Alot of good histoy also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4