Customer Reviews for

Valhalla Rising (Dirk Pitt Series #16)

Average Rating 4
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Super

This book was non-stop action from the start to the finish.. I enjoy reading Cussler

posted by NewReaderVT on April 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Welcome to absolute nonsense

First Clive Cussler read, and from the impression it left on me, my final Clive Cussler read. Holy cow...there isn't enough ridicule for this write-up. In short, worst book I've ever laid my hands on, and that's saying something. Here's a spoiler, although what s...
First Clive Cussler read, and from the impression it left on me, my final Clive Cussler read. Holy cow...there isn't enough ridicule for this write-up. In short, worst book I've ever laid my hands on, and that's saying something. Here's a spoiler, although what story there is that could possibly be 'spoiled,' I haven't a clue. This review has more story in it than Valhalla Rising. Start with a viking ship, then jump a thousand years to a sinking cruise liner, introduce a villain that is approximately the mental equal of a feral monkey, and throw in a virtually assexual yet smarmy hero as a ploy to anchor in what must be Cussler's prime audience, the 'going through midlife crisis male.' Then times that by ridiculous to the nth power and you'll be somewhere in the vicinity of what this author has put together here. If you ever questioned whether poor writing can prove to be a lucrative profession, look no further than this masterpiece o'junk. I debated using it to start a fire by the third chapter, but the overwhelming stupidity of it kept me all the way through. I just kept wanting to see if it could get worse, and believe me, it never disappointed in that category. Still, that does not stop me from being irate that I wasted the money. Summary: I would rather have SARS than read 'Valhalla' again.

posted by Anonymous on May 27, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Super

    This book was non-stop action from the start to the finish.. I enjoy reading Cussler

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    Welcome to absolute nonsense

    First Clive Cussler read, and from the impression it left on me, my final Clive Cussler read. Holy cow...there isn't enough ridicule for this write-up. In short, worst book I've ever laid my hands on, and that's saying something. Here's a spoiler, although what story there is that could possibly be 'spoiled,' I haven't a clue. This review has more story in it than Valhalla Rising. Start with a viking ship, then jump a thousand years to a sinking cruise liner, introduce a villain that is approximately the mental equal of a feral monkey, and throw in a virtually assexual yet smarmy hero as a ploy to anchor in what must be Cussler's prime audience, the 'going through midlife crisis male.' Then times that by ridiculous to the nth power and you'll be somewhere in the vicinity of what this author has put together here. If you ever questioned whether poor writing can prove to be a lucrative profession, look no further than this masterpiece o'junk. I debated using it to start a fire by the third chapter, but the overwhelming stupidity of it kept me all the way through. I just kept wanting to see if it could get worse, and believe me, it never disappointed in that category. Still, that does not stop me from being irate that I wasted the money. Summary: I would rather have SARS than read 'Valhalla' again.

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Dirk Pitt adventure.

    Clive Cussler continues the adventure of Dirk Pitt with the addition of his children. Very well written book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    Great Adveture and suppense

    This is an action hero that would be a great leader for our country today. He is dependable and smart.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    Excelent book as always

    Very good story hard to put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    Clearly a joke

    This book must have been written so that the prolific author could test to see just what kind of trash his readers were willing to purchase.

    How do you go into detail to the extent that Cussler does when describing mundane things, and still manage not to research unbreakable laws of physics, thus inventing FRICTIONLESS OIL, which is of course then teleported in a deus ex machina ending that is such a joke that it would make even Stephen King blush.

    And i am a big King fan, so this review doesn't stem from an inability to suspend disbelief for a moment. This book is rancid. The ONLY reason I even got through it is because I was on a solo car trip across the US and I put in each subsequent disk simply because I had a sincere belief that something remotely good HAD to come from a book that was recommended to me (that and a morbid curiosity at just what level of writing was passing for publishable these days).

    There was never a moment where the main characters were actually in danger, because they were all apparently ninjas who kept the world book encyclopedia stored in their heads. You couldn't get involved with the characters, "heroes" or villains, because they were all not only implausible, but uninteresting.

    I'd rather drink the juice that flows out of the back of a garbage truck than read/listen to this book again. I immediately called my friend after the last disk finished, and told him I would rather have a barbed catheter placed in me than take another piece of advice from him. Then I made him listen as I pulled over my truck and stacked the disks underneath my truck tire and crushed them, because were I to have simply thrown them out, some unfortunate soul might have picked them up, listened to them, and then (were he to have any less mental resolve than I do) his head would have imploded from the sheer horror of literary vomit that was inscribed digitally upon them.

    I sincerely hope never to meet Cussler by random chance, for fear that the virus that inhabits his body will transfer to me and cause me to also release mental diarrhea upon the world.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    The years best thriller!!!!!

    Clive Cussler struck gold in this great thriller of viking adventures and modern day story of gold and treasure. The transition from viking ship to the merciless ship twice the size of the titanic was genius. The tansition from dark gloomy water to the carribean is so awakining. Valhalla rising is not just a book but is a non-stop adventure that will blow your mind.I recommend it to anyone trying to live a time where anything goes through a fascinating book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2005

    I Love This Man!!!!

    I was first introduced to Clive Cussler's works back in 1996 by a friend of mine. No one that I have read so far (and I've read a lot) has compared to this man. With each of the Dirk Pitt novels, you are submerged into an adventure that you just don't want to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2004

    First Clive Cussler Read! Fantastic

    The book starts out a bit strange with the ancient ships, though still captivating on where he is taking you. I have read many Clancy books, All Jefrey Archer and a lot of other Fiction. Mr. Cussler is now on my collection list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2003

    Great Thriller

    Cussler, once again, proivdes readers wtih a good suspenseful tale which features the exploits of Dirk Pitt and his trusting sidekick, Al Giordino. On the plus side, he provides us with a thorough description of various ships and submarines and puts the reader right in the midst of the action. He also gives us some educational insight on the pre-Columbus expdedition and a good history lesson. I also get a kick out of the obese St. Julien Perlmutter. He's quite a character. The downside is that he puts Pitt in too many situations that would kill the average Joe 10 times over but somehow, he manages to come away unscathed every single time. If Cussler does this every once in a while, it would be more believable. However, with Pitt, he does it way too often. There were many instances where I simply heard myself saying, 'Aw, gimme a break' while reading a few paragraphs. Overall, a good story with interesting characters. Definitely would recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2004

    Dirk Pitt kicks serious BUTT!

    For all of you Dirk Pitt fans out there, this one is one of the best! Another great book from Clive. A very twisted plot, but as always, very descriptive. INTENSE!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    Cussler is brilliant

    I have read every one of the Dirk Pitt novels and have never been disapointed. Cussler writes grown up adventure novels for the child in us all. This novel is up there with his best and I loved the surprise ending are we seeing the next generation of NUMA adventures? I highly recomend all of these novels to anyone who loves a good story and a bit of history thown in for good measure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2003

    Cussler is Fantastic

    Clive Cussler's Dirk Pitt does it again. I have read each and every one of Mr Cussler's books and I have never been disappointed with his writing. And this book, as with all, provides an immense amount of reading pleasure. How Dirk and Al get into and out of jams (and how Cussler works them all out) is part of the fun. You will not be disappointed with Valhalla Rising.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2003

    Another Great One Hope its not the last !

    My first book was SHOCKWAVE which capdivated me. I then started with the first Pitt adventure and read them all until the emergence of Kemperos, which I struggled halfway through before throwing it on the floor vowing never to read Cussler again, unless ofcourse it was a Pitt adventure. Thanks Clive, for Vallhalla Rising. Dont cheat on the movie. My first thoughts were 'what great films these stories could be.' Enjoy this book , love the ending, brilliant Clive, leave line open for the children to follow Daddy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2003

    I'm hooked!!!

    This was the first Clive Cussler book that I had ever read. It was awesome, the characters are great. The story is very intense. Anyone who is a fan of Indiana Jones will be drawn to the Dirk Pitt novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    recommend it.

    I think it's a good book, recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Good

    Decent (====[:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Valhalla Rising written by Clive Cussler is the sixteenth in his

    Valhalla Rising written by Clive Cussler is the sixteenth in his series of Dirk Pitt adventure-fiction books. I found that it to be a very compelling book that really gripped the reader, making it hard to put down, until about the fifth chapter at least. Cussler did work in some good threads throughout the story however, making it very multidimensional and a slightly more complicated read. 
    The book begins in July, 2003 (written in 2001) as you read from the points of view of various crew members as they go about their daily chores on the luxury cruise liner the Emerald Dolphin. The Emerald is one of the most technologically advanced cruise ships of its time, even earning the title of “the unsinkable ship” because of its complex array of warning systems and safety features. Ironically, although somewhat predictably, next the ship’s chapel catches fire and the ship begins to sink in an almost direct parallel to the infamous story of the also “unsinkable” Titanic. Of course though as it is a Clive Cussler novel, it turns out that Dirk Pitt the genius, resourceful, superhero of a main character and his team are just a couple of miles away. Pitt and his team save the day, but stumble on to a much larger problem in what actually caused the ship to sink. They then go head-to-head with an evil oil baron, attempting to steal the new engine technology used in the prototype cruise liner. 
    This is the fourth of the Dirk Pitt series that I have read, and unfortunately I found it to be by far the worst. It starts out extremely promisingly with the extremely well written, exciting ship wreck scene detailed above. However, it goes downhill from there. Throughout the book it’s much too predictable, making it somewhat boring to read. Furthermore, the characters become so cliché towards the end of the book that it’s almost laughable. Anyone even attempting to read a Dirk Pitt novel should know from the beginning that it’s going to be fairly unrealistic, and more like a superhero action story than a realistic adventure. But Valhalla Rising pushed the limits of believability throughout, whether it was breaking the laws of physics or creating video game like plane chases. 
    This book as a whole was much too predictable, unrealistic, and overall very corny. As much as it pains me to say it, since the other books in the series were very good, I would not recommend this book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The luxury liner, Emerald Dolphin, was unsinkable. She was so o

    The luxury liner, Emerald Dolphin, was unsinkable. She was so opulent and spacious that her passengers basked in the height of luxury, being pampered by an attentive staff of officers and stewards too numerous to count. Suddenly, a fire ignited in her chapel, racing through the bowels of the ship with astonishing speed. Fire extinguishers and back-up systems failed and the lifeboats proved useless in the firestorm.
    The NUMA vessel, Deep Encounter, races to the rescue. Dirk Pitt, the captain and his stalwart crew take on more than their fair share of passengers, saving them from a fiery death. The Deep Encounter is overloaded and quickly in danger of sinking herself. Thankfully, help arrives in time, but a band of Vipers sent to silence her knows no bounds. The Deep Encounter is hijacked. Pitt and his friend, Giordano, bravely manage to free the ship and crew before all are destroyed to eliminate the evidence.
    The chase is on! Dirk Pitt returns to the United States and offers to help Kelly Egan and her group of disabled children. The dog fight between the Fokker triplane and Ford Trimotor was incredible! I also enjoyed the chase between the SUV and the vintage Packard. Cussler also zeros in on the vulnerability of New York harbor to a loaded, runaway LNG tanker before linking the story to the appearance of Norsemen in America just past the year 1000. As usual, an awesome ride with one of the kings of suspense and intrigue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    This was a good book. Aside from two random episodes in the very beginning of the book which Pitt was not a part of, the action is quick to start and grips quickly. The book levels off a little after that before gaining steam to the conclusion, which was not as exciting as the beginning of the book. But all in all an entertaining read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7