Customer Reviews for

Valiant (Modern Tale of Faerie Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 297 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(150)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

damn good book

I read this when it it first came out years and years ago it seems now (I was in middle school and now I'm in college) and omg its still amazing. I still remember how much I hated Ravus at his first introduction and gradually gaining a crush. Plus this I think was the f...
I read this when it it first came out years and years ago it seems now (I was in middle school and now I'm in college) and omg its still amazing. I still remember how much I hated Ravus at his first introduction and gradually gaining a crush. Plus this I think was the first book that really introduced me to modern New York as an awesome place in and of itself - I did my best to visit some of the localities mentioned in this book while there. Holly Black you rock!

posted by xiv on September 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Major Disappointment

I am completely frustrated with this book. Not only did Valiant lack the magic of Tithe, it was painstakingly boring. The characters were hardly likeable and I constantly found myself disgusted with the mature content which was tastelessly done. The plot was predictable...
I am completely frustrated with this book. Not only did Valiant lack the magic of Tithe, it was painstakingly boring. The characters were hardly likeable and I constantly found myself disgusted with the mature content which was tastelessly done. The plot was predictable and Valiant lacked many things, mainly character developement. I didn't enjoy this book and had to force myself to finish it after chapter 4. I do not recommend this to anyone.

posted by Anonymous on June 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 298 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2008

    A Major Disappointment

    I am completely frustrated with this book. Not only did Valiant lack the magic of Tithe, it was painstakingly boring. The characters were hardly likeable and I constantly found myself disgusted with the mature content which was tastelessly done. The plot was predictable and Valiant lacked many things, mainly character developement. I didn't enjoy this book and had to force myself to finish it after chapter 4. I do not recommend this to anyone.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    damn good book

    I read this when it it first came out years and years ago it seems now (I was in middle school and now I'm in college) and omg its still amazing. I still remember how much I hated Ravus at his first introduction and gradually gaining a crush. Plus this I think was the first book that really introduced me to modern New York as an awesome place in and of itself - I did my best to visit some of the localities mentioned in this book while there. Holly Black you rock!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Series...Overall.

    I like the series as a whole, but was a little disappointed in Valiant having switched the main characters. If want to read more about Kaye and Roiben, and have the relationship develop, be prepared to be disappointed in Valiant. It's a great story from a diffrent part of the whole story, and pieces a few things together, but was hard for me to warm up to new leading characters for only one book, after spending two books with diffrent ones. Still overall a good book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Loved it

    Loved it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I read this book for the first time shortly after reading Tithe.

    I read this book for the first time shortly after reading Tithe. I remember I was surprised to find out that it doesn’t focus on Kaye and Roiben, although they do make an appearance. However, I don’t think the book is lacking because of it. Val is another teen with a dysfunctional past that comes to be mixed up in things she doesn’t understand, falling into the world of Faerie. The concept of Never is a very intriguing one, and I like that its use does have consequences for the characters by the end. I loved Ravus’s character. I never really thought I would be rooting for a troll as a romantic interest, but there you have it. If you read and liked Tithe, or you’d like to read a dark fantasy novel with themes of faeries, magic, betrayal and consequences, I’d recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Good

    I loved it well i have never read the first or third one but this book wwas kind of romantic like beauty and the beast but a really deformed one i hope holly black makes a forth one!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Great book

    I am suprised by all of the low reviews. I found it enchanting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    IAN SHIVER 3RD Terrell

    This story is about a girl named Val who has a lesbian best friend and a cheating boyfriend. It starts off with Val at high school as a lacrosse player, she is dating this guy who she finds out is cheating on her with her mom. When Val finds this out she runs away from home and meets this group of runaway kids. One is named lolli, the others are Louis and Dave. She then helps a drag queen find his shoe and then she gets the nick name prince valiant. The entire group likes her except for Louis. Later the group shows her to their troll named Ravus, he makes this drug called glamour, he lives under a bridge like a real troll. The kids get Val hooked on this drug. Val and Ravus begin to get closer. Ruth shows up and asks her to come home. She says yes but that she needs to say goodbye to Ravus first. She goes off to find him but cant , she ends up heading back to this castle and everyone's acting really weird. Val wakes up during the middle of the night and is lead to this party by fairies. Ravus is there and Val kisses him. Val sees Mabry and figures out that she is the one that was poisoning the Glamour and killing the fairies. Mabry tells Ravus that it was Val that did it and she leaves before Ravus gets to mad. So Val and Ruth go searching for evidence and find a harp with hair of the murdered people. Dave gets to high and almost dies so they try to take him to Ravus but find him dead with no heart, Mabry had killed him. Val finds Mabry and challenges her and defeats her for Ravus's heart. They put his heart back into his body and he is instantly healed. He gives Louis the things he needs to heal Dave and then tells Val that he loves her. Val goes back with Ruth but still sees Ravus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    Best of the series, dark and hypnotic

    While lots of people are hating the fact that it's not about Kaye, or that the characters are druggie subway bums, I still think this story has a lot to offer. I loved the characters, even the ones that got a little bit crazy. They might not have been excellent role models, but they were gritty and real and showed off their dark sides, which other authors typically avoid- one of the things I love about Holly black's books. And I loved Val. She was portrayed so realistically, with very believable emotions, because she doesn't start out a hero. In the story she goes from average teenager to faery drug addict, and she has to overcome those things in the end and realize her mistakes to become, as the title says, valiant. The way she makes mistakes only makes her more likable. I took off a star because the ending seemed a bit rushed, but all through the beginning I was completely sucked into this dark, hypnotic world. It gets pretty sexual and there's smoking/drinking/drugs, etc, but if you can handle that along with the lack of Kaye and Roiben then this is an absolute must-read. Also, it's helpful to read this one because a character, Luis, ends up being very important in Ironside, the continuing story of Kaye and Roiben. (:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    Best in the series

    I preffered this to the other novels in the 'Modern Tale of Faerie' series, it was the first I read and, although the others were great reads, I don't think they lived up to 'Valiant'.
    While I was a little put off by the beginning, which seems like a typically angst ridden teenage romance, once in New York this becomes an amazingly original novel, bringing together a city we know so well with Holly Black's world of magic, and putting a refreshing twist on teenage romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't Pull Myself Away

    Val's story starts out with an average high school girl, a character who is very true to life, and then is brought into fantastic situations. The book may seem edgy, and dark, but everything in it feels very real. A lot of people don't like that the main characters are primarily drug-addicted bums, but they still show a lot of character- both good and bad. Val runs away from home to make her own decisions and ends up discovering more than she had ever imagined. I was completely immersed in the story and read it all at once, for hours upon hours. I was so into the story I could see it all happening, picture Ravus with his fanged underbite and Mabry's entire house. Valiant is a reader's story. It is not a kid's book, obviously, due to the drugs, and the sex, and the violence, but those are used sparsely and not heavily detailed, aside from the Never, which needs that kind of description. I would definitely recommend it to anyone, but I might be a little embarrassed to admit how many times I've gone back and read it over- that's up to almost ten now. I can't give it a passing glance without stopping to read just a little bit over again. It's a world so close to ours, and so similar with characters that are very relatable, and emotions that are strong enough for you to feel them yourself.A warning, however: don't start reading this book if you have anything important (meetings for business, school, etc.) pending, because you will most likely get lost in the pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Where's Kaye!? I want Kaye!

    This book was my least favorite of the trilogy. Any word if Holly Black is coming out with any more of these?

    It's edgy and gritty, which I like. It shows teenagers as they really are, rather than sugar-coating things.

    However, I loath the idea of warming up to new characters. I wanted to read more about Kaye.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    Wow did this get awkward what with Val discovers. Again been a l

    Wow did this get awkward what with Val discovers. Again been a long time since I read this. At times I either got confused or just bored. Still an okay sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    OK in the series...

    Just finished the book and wouldn't really recommend. Story drags on and only got interested in the story on page 130 of 180 pgs. Don't think I'd read it again. Good for a one time read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Wow

    I usually hate books with a girl as the main character and IM A GIRL so the fact that I liked this book is.. wow! It reminds me of the book called CRACKED, except it is a bit more whimsical and has a plot. This was a good book, I like how the book has both classic monster-oligy and also new stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    I love how Holly Black writes about characters who are normally

    I love how Holly Black writes about characters who are normally invisible in YA books, and this book is no exception. This is the second book in the Modern Faerie Tales series, though it is more like a companion book with the world that Black created, rather than continuing the story of the first book. This installment focuses on teens who are living on the street in New York.

    I enjoyed this - Black is a fantastic story teller and I enjoy the dark world of faeries that she has created. However, I didn't like this one as much as Tithe, the first in the series.

    Seventeen year old Val runs away from home and finds herself living on the streets with a group of other teens who squat in the subway tunnels. They are linked to the world of Fey and take a faerie drug that gives them a unique high.

    Val's character was good and I liked how she developed. I could understand her anger and betrayal, but she also grew beyond that. I wasn't as fond of the group of homeless teens that she hooks up with. I also found reading about taking copious amounts of drugs uncomfortable.

    Overall, I liked the dark story and that faeries are not portrayed in a "nice" light. Black writes with a frank and honest tone that I think will appeal to many fans of YA fantasy who are looking for something different.

    Note: There are significant amounts of drug use, swearing and sex in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Damn straight this is a good book

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Shame on anybody who dislikes this book because it wasn't Tithe.

    Shame on anybody who dislikes this book because it wasn't Tithe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Beyond the interesting story-line, the poetic writing, and the a

    Beyond the interesting story-line, the poetic writing, and the amazing makes-you-weak-in-the-knees love story, the characters in this book are one of my absolute favorites of all time. Each so unique and complete in themselves, I must admit though that Ravus is my absolute favorite, especially as seen through Val's eyes. Her rejection of the modern concept of beauty as displayed by her descriptions and feelings towards Ravus are simply beautiful. "I like all things that make you monstrous." The language is eloquent and layered with so much meaning that I sat down the book and immediately searched for a sequel, or at the very least a descent fan fiction to hear more about the romance between Ravus and Val. I enjoyed Tithe very much, and I'll be sure to read ironside, but despite my interest in Kaye and Robien, I would give up both of those books for more books on Val and Ravus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    Val is her own person....a real, gritty, struggling girl. Not e

    Val is her own person....a real, gritty, struggling girl. Not everyone grows up in the perfect home with the perfect family....but Val learns honor and love from a very unlikely source, a troll. "Valient" is my favorite Holly Black book because of Val's character and the chemistry between her and Ravus. I just wish it had been a much longer book and a 5 book series....so that I would have had more time to submerse myself in Val's world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 298 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15