Customer Reviews for

Valiant (Modern Tale of Faerie Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 297 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(150)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

damn good book

I read this when it it first came out years and years ago it seems now (I was in middle school and now I'm in college) and omg its still amazing. I still remember how much I hated Ravus at his first introduction and gradually gaining a crush. Plus this I think was the f...
I read this when it it first came out years and years ago it seems now (I was in middle school and now I'm in college) and omg its still amazing. I still remember how much I hated Ravus at his first introduction and gradually gaining a crush. Plus this I think was the first book that really introduced me to modern New York as an awesome place in and of itself - I did my best to visit some of the localities mentioned in this book while there. Holly Black you rock!

posted by xiv on September 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Major Disappointment

I am completely frustrated with this book. Not only did Valiant lack the magic of Tithe, it was painstakingly boring. The characters were hardly likeable and I constantly found myself disgusted with the mature content which was tastelessly done. The plot was predictable...
I am completely frustrated with this book. Not only did Valiant lack the magic of Tithe, it was painstakingly boring. The characters were hardly likeable and I constantly found myself disgusted with the mature content which was tastelessly done. The plot was predictable and Valiant lacked many things, mainly character developement. I didn't enjoy this book and had to force myself to finish it after chapter 4. I do not recommend this to anyone.

posted by Anonymous on June 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Series...Overall.

    I like the series as a whole, but was a little disappointed in Valiant having switched the main characters. If want to read more about Kaye and Roiben, and have the relationship develop, be prepared to be disappointed in Valiant. It's a great story from a diffrent part of the whole story, and pieces a few things together, but was hard for me to warm up to new leading characters for only one book, after spending two books with diffrent ones. Still overall a good book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I read this book for the first time shortly after reading Tithe.

    I read this book for the first time shortly after reading Tithe. I remember I was surprised to find out that it doesn’t focus on Kaye and Roiben, although they do make an appearance. However, I don’t think the book is lacking because of it. Val is another teen with a dysfunctional past that comes to be mixed up in things she doesn’t understand, falling into the world of Faerie. The concept of Never is a very intriguing one, and I like that its use does have consequences for the characters by the end. I loved Ravus’s character. I never really thought I would be rooting for a troll as a romantic interest, but there you have it. If you read and liked Tithe, or you’d like to read a dark fantasy novel with themes of faeries, magic, betrayal and consequences, I’d recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    IAN SHIVER 3RD Terrell

    This story is about a girl named Val who has a lesbian best friend and a cheating boyfriend. It starts off with Val at high school as a lacrosse player, she is dating this guy who she finds out is cheating on her with her mom. When Val finds this out she runs away from home and meets this group of runaway kids. One is named lolli, the others are Louis and Dave. She then helps a drag queen find his shoe and then she gets the nick name prince valiant. The entire group likes her except for Louis. Later the group shows her to their troll named Ravus, he makes this drug called glamour, he lives under a bridge like a real troll. The kids get Val hooked on this drug. Val and Ravus begin to get closer. Ruth shows up and asks her to come home. She says yes but that she needs to say goodbye to Ravus first. She goes off to find him but cant , she ends up heading back to this castle and everyone's acting really weird. Val wakes up during the middle of the night and is lead to this party by fairies. Ravus is there and Val kisses him. Val sees Mabry and figures out that she is the one that was poisoning the Glamour and killing the fairies. Mabry tells Ravus that it was Val that did it and she leaves before Ravus gets to mad. So Val and Ruth go searching for evidence and find a harp with hair of the murdered people. Dave gets to high and almost dies so they try to take him to Ravus but find him dead with no heart, Mabry had killed him. Val finds Mabry and challenges her and defeats her for Ravus's heart. They put his heart back into his body and he is instantly healed. He gives Louis the things he needs to heal Dave and then tells Val that he loves her. Val goes back with Ruth but still sees Ravus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    Best of the series, dark and hypnotic

    While lots of people are hating the fact that it's not about Kaye, or that the characters are druggie subway bums, I still think this story has a lot to offer. I loved the characters, even the ones that got a little bit crazy. They might not have been excellent role models, but they were gritty and real and showed off their dark sides, which other authors typically avoid- one of the things I love about Holly black's books. And I loved Val. She was portrayed so realistically, with very believable emotions, because she doesn't start out a hero. In the story she goes from average teenager to faery drug addict, and she has to overcome those things in the end and realize her mistakes to become, as the title says, valiant. The way she makes mistakes only makes her more likable. I took off a star because the ending seemed a bit rushed, but all through the beginning I was completely sucked into this dark, hypnotic world. It gets pretty sexual and there's smoking/drinking/drugs, etc, but if you can handle that along with the lack of Kaye and Roiben then this is an absolute must-read. Also, it's helpful to read this one because a character, Luis, ends up being very important in Ironside, the continuing story of Kaye and Roiben. (:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Wow

    I usually hate books with a girl as the main character and IM A GIRL so the fact that I liked this book is.. wow! It reminds me of the book called CRACKED, except it is a bit more whimsical and has a plot. This was a good book, I like how the book has both classic monster-oligy and also new stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Valiant By Holly Black

    This book was really one of the most addictive unforgettable books that I've read in a long time. The characters were very believable and easy to connect with, you could feel their pain and emotions. Just a very, very good faerie tale overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Its pretty good...

    So i read this book cuz people like the author, and barnes and noble didnt have tithe. After i started it, i was really interested in it. Then i got bored, but i kept reading. It gets slow in the first half, but after you read atleast half the book, its pretty interesting. The characters are deffinitly gripping and the story is cool too. its an ok book. I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    Pretty Good

    This book wasn't as good as Tithe, but it still held my attention. I can't wait for the next book, so that I can 'see' Kaye, and especially Roiben )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2007

    PRETTY GOOD!!!!

    This book was good. It's ok if you read this before Tithe because there is little reference to that book in this one that it doesn't matter. I love the way Holly Black combines the present with faeries in our day to day life, while other authors combine faeries with the past in some faerie land. It makes this book so much different than other faerie books. This book has a lot of cursing and sexual things so if your not into that don't read this book. But if you are this is a must read!! A lot of weird things happen in this book that almost never happen in real life, like the main character's boyfrined cheating on her with her mom. That part was weird. But all in all this is a good book, but not for the faint of heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2006

    Better than Tithe

    In my opinion, Valiant was better than Black's other faerie novel, Tithe, but not by much. I think that this was better because it seemed to have more substance to the writing, like there was more of a plot going on. It was also better because there wasn't as much confusion in it. My complaint to this book is that there is too much language. Now, even though I am a teenager, I still don't find it necessary to put a swear on almost every page. Without so much language, the book would be even better than it is now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    Teenage Fairytale

    Valiant by Holly Black is a wonderful book full of fantasies that will immediately spark magic of your own or swiftly bring back fond memories of your imaginary friends. A sequel of sorts to Black¿s Tithe, the action and characters of Valiant are in the human world more often making it seem less like a fantasy. Holly Black grew up in New Jersey in a dilapidated and decrepit house with her mother filling her head with ghost and faerie stories. Black continues to be an avid collector of anything resembling folklore or volumes on fairytales. These aspects of Black¿s childhood can definitely be seen reflected in her creative tales. Throughout this novel Black focuses more on the decisions of teenagers, however irrational those decisions may be, making this into an interesting read for teenagers who might be able to relate while still having a air of childhood fantasy. Valiant is a tale of friends who will stick together through thick and thin, good and evil, humans and monsters and still be there for each other until the end. Valiant is the story of Valerie Russell, a 17 year old girl who runs away to New York City and the magical adventures in which she finds herself entangled. Val meets Lolli, Dave, and Luis who become her new friends and welcome her with wide arms and the offer to share their home, a destroyed, rank subway platform that only the three teenage bums know about. From the time Val accepts the offer she becomes involved in the happenings of Faeryland. Luis has Sight, Lolli babbles about monstrous creatures such as trolls, and Dave mistakenly allows Val to accompany him on an important journey. Val learns things she never even thought about, things like sword fighting and bargaining for her life and the lives of others. Val even falls in love with the one she least expects while trying to solve the murderous mysteries of Faeryland. Black uses exquisite language and has an extraordinary writing style that captivates the reader. Within her fairytale, Black alludes to other fairytales including Snow White. Black¿s descriptions of the surroundings effectively paint the mental images with phrases such as ¿glass sword, shattered into jagged pieces, and covered with blood,¿ and ¿whip of smoke¿reminded Val of the way that sparklers burned.¿ (298, 293) Black also makes wonderful use of metaphors and similes. My favorite simile being ¿black bird with wings that glistened purple and blue, as though it were made of pooling oil,¿ to describe a messenger that visits Val. (307). The sensory language and literary devices not only make you feel as if you are there, but also entice you to turn the page and leave you hanging and wondering at the end of each chapter. Valiant has made its mark on book critics, listed on both ALA¿s Best Books for Young Adults and ALA¿s Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Readers. I believe that Valiant is deserving of both of these titles and hope that many ¿reluctant young readers¿ will pick up this teenage fairytale and uncover the imaginative world of not only Faery, but also of reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2006

    Valiant

    Black's book was beautifully written. I loved her edgy comments and her vivid imagination. This book puts impossible dreams into perspective. I loved it. Read along with Tithe....Its an adventure and a half.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2005

    It was good, but it was no Tithe

    Ok, I picked up this book last Saturday and just finished it this morning. I did not know what to expect, but I had hoped that Roibon and Kaye would play crucial roles in the plot. Instead they were only mentioned a few times. That did not ruin the story though. The book was a satisfying read however, I was let down in a few respects. As a reader you can see the plot line and how the tale of love, courage, and revenge play throughout the chapters. What you do not get however is a good image of the primary characters. At least not in my view. Sure we are given a character sketch of Val, but I think there should have been more. Some of the descriptions are not very clear in the story either. Also this book seemed to focus more on the romance aspect of the main characters than the other plots in the story. Don't get me to wrong, I enjoyed the novel. Black can write a satisfying tale and the lines of poetry at the beginning of each chapter was excellent, but I was just slightly dissappointed. I am looking forward to the next novel by this aspiring writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2005

    Good read

    i really enjoyed tithe and held high expectations for this book, but was slightly disappointed mainly because the characters are mostly junkies-nobody wants a heroine who is a druggie. I think that all the other characters besides Val could have been explained more thoroughly with some character development. I loved the magical things that existed there-a good use of imagination. Anyways, it may seem boring about 1/3 of the way but then it gets better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2005

    interesting, but flat

    After reading Tithe, I was excited about the book set in the same world, but about different characters. I was slightly disappointed by Valiant. The characters just seemed flat to me. As I would read the major plot developments, I kept thinking, there must be more... but there never was. I especially didn't like the 'I'm a faerie junkie' part of the book. But all in all, it was a good book, and I would recommend it, but not as strongly written as Tithe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2005

    Wonderful, but not as good as Tithe

    I just got Valiant yesterday, and I was happy and surprised to see Barnes and Noble already had it. It was really good, and it was the same world as Tithe, so there were references to Silarial, Nicnevin, and Roiben. What I didn't like was it seemed like a dissapointment if you're looking for a lot of Kaye & Roiben. Roiben's barely in it, and Kaye is just mentioned as a green faerie with blonde hair and black eyes. But the sequel of exclusively Roiben and Kaye will come out eventually, so I'll have to wait. Valiant was a great book, but if you're fishing for Roiben/Kaye-ness, you'll probably be let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4