BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Valiant (Lost Fleet Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 153 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great series... But price?

7.99 for paperback, 7.99 for e-book? That is insane for a 236 page book. We are paying $47.00 for 1416 pages worth of series even if it is a good series. How about a box edition for e-book. Or atleast a price difference between paperback and e-book.

posted by Kyle0622 on August 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

GOOD READ, GREAT CHARACTERS

VERY INTERESTING JUGGLEING ACT FOR A COMMANDER WHO FIGHTS WITH HIMSELF WHEN MAKING COMMAND DECISIONS. HIS INABILITY TO COMMIT HIMSELF DUE TO PUBLIC OPINION IN HIS COMMAND STRUCTURE IS A DISCTINCT TWIST THAT MAKES HIM AN ANOMALY. LOVE THE BOOKS CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT HU...
VERY INTERESTING JUGGLEING ACT FOR A COMMANDER WHO FIGHTS WITH HIMSELF WHEN MAKING COMMAND DECISIONS. HIS INABILITY TO COMMIT HIMSELF DUE TO PUBLIC OPINION IN HIS COMMAND STRUCTURE IS A DISCTINCT TWIST THAT MAKES HIM AN ANOMALY. LOVE THE BOOKS CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT HURDLE.

posted by DOUG24 on October 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Better in some ways. . . not so much in others.

    This book is almost twice as long as the others in the series which answers a complaint I had about the earlier books. They were too easy to blow through. Not enough meat. The length of this book feels just right. Plenty of time to get into more interesting changes to the overall story, the battles were more epic and there were quite a few more interesting plot twists that were quite cool.

    The romantic entanglements are dragging a bit. They aren't acting "human" enough. Maybe I haven't known enough people in the military but they seem so starched. In stark contrast to the crew of Battlestar Galactica who would find every opportunity to sneak in a bit of human romance/intercourse even if it was against the rules, the crew of the Lost Fleet seem to cling to those rules. . . yet don't salute? Don't even follow formations in battle? Seems illogical and kind of started bugging me a little as the story progressed.

    I think I would have given it 5 stars if it weren't for the romantic elements being botched up so much.

    One good thing is that this book seems to have solved the formatting issues of the two prior ones in the series. The borders on my nook were quite nicely spaced and I could adjust my font size just right. Made for a much more pleasant read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Campbell keeps the ball rolling.

    Campbell keeps up the momentum of his previous Lost Fleet books, keeping it believable and maintaining both quality and style. The interpersonal drama between the two female leads was a little wearing, although realistic enough.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Warning, will reduce sleep time.

    Superb grim science fiction, like bolos for it's intensity. I read all five in the series, in 7 days. Could not stop. Great space navy action, descriptions as good or better than the harrington series (for space combat).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great continuation of the series!

    I like the continuing plot in this series and the sub-plots that have come up. I also enjoy the writing style, although it does get a bit repetitive even though it should be expected in a series. I also am enjoying the characters and their development in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Recommended

    Good read, follows the theme, story and flavor of the previous volumes in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    A must for sci-fi fans

    If you enjoy a good military tale, set in the high seas of space. This is a great read. A lot of action, intrigue, space opera, and suspense. Can't wait to start the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3