Customer Reviews for

Valkyrie Rising

Average Rating 4
( 275 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Good book

To the person that only gave this book one star because of someone elses ridiculously long review, YOU ARE JUST AS BAD! You bring the rating down on what could have been a 4.5/5 star rating and could potentially damage the books reputation! If you see that the review i...
To the person that only gave this book one star because of someone elses ridiculously long review, YOU ARE JUST AS BAD! You bring the rating down on what could have been a 4.5/5 star rating and could potentially damage the books reputation! If you see that the review is a freaking half page DON'T READ IT!!!

posted by 16595579 on September 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Wow - not thought through!

I don't think the author picked a good myth for her flimsy storyline. The Valkyries took warriors, not untrained boy-band wannabes. At least there aren't any zombies, but still, a very disapppointing read.

posted by GLM123 on September 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Interesting take,lovable characters

    Really grew to like these characters a lot,despite the books slow start.looking forward to the prequel novellas release

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first book I have read about Valkyries and I have to

    This is the first book I have read about Valkyries and I have to say that I really enjoyed it. I have become a mythology fan over the last couple of years, so I was looking forward to seeing what this book held in store. Ellie Overholt is 16 years old and has been living in the shadow of her brother Graham, who is 18, all her life. Graham is perfect. He is popular, the star athlete, smart, center of attention, you name it. Ellie loves him dearly, but she has become a pro at not being noticed and becoming invisible, and is a little resentful about it. Graham is also very protective of Ellie, especially since her father is no longer living. Ellie and Graham are planning a trip to Norway to the small village of Skaveopoll, to visit Ellie's grandmother for the summer. She is really looking forward to this trip until she finds out Tuck is going, or so she says. Tuck is Graham's 17-year-old best friend who lives two doors down from Ellie. He is an athlete, totally hot, and he and Ellie have been at each others throats since they were kids.

    Ellie arrives in Norway 2 weeks before Graham does and is really looking forward to some alone time. When she visits the village, however, she finds people are treating her oddly, even hostile, and she doesn't know why. She meets a hot Norwegian, goes on a date, and things really get weird when two beautiful women enter the pub with a commanding and dangerous presence. She also finds out that young guys have been disappearing, and that the townspeople think her grandmother has something to do with it, believing she is a witch. Graham and Tuck arrive, and Tuck is acting differently towards Ellie, which is confusing and thrilling at the same time. Then, Ellie comes face-to-face with the reason these boys are disappearing. She has to come to terms with the fact that Valkyries are real, that her grandmother knows more than she is letting on, and things are happening to her and around her that she doesn't understand. Determined to keep her family safe and find out what part she plays in all of this, she and Tuck, who has plenty of his own secrets, set out on a mission to get to the bottom of things and save the missing boys. What she learns not only will surprise you, it surprises Ellie even more.

    I liked this book. I found the whole Valkyrie concept entertaining. Ellie's character was kind of passive in the beginning, but she developed into a pretty tough chick as the book goes along, and I grew to like her. Tuck was hot, and I liked him also, and I liked how he was committed to helping Ellie in her quest. Astrid, well, I hated her, then ended up liking her. The setting of the book was beautiful. I really liked how the Valkyrie Norse mythology was set in modern day time. As far as romance, I enjoyed seeing Ellie and Tuck become closer, and would have liked to have seen more of that. Overall, I found this book both entertaining and enjoyable. It ended well, but has the potential for a sequel, but I don't know if there are plans for that or not. I would love to see more Tuck and Ellie. If you enjoy mythology, especially Valkyries, contemporary romance, combined with some mystery and action, then Valkyries is one book you will want to check out.

    5 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Cute

    Love all this fantasy stuff.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Valkyrie Rising is a sweet and fun romance with a mythological t

    Valkyrie Rising is a sweet and fun romance with a mythological twist. Paulson expands on Norse mythology, which is a refreshing change from the typical Greek mythology fare. The characters are well-developed, the plot is intriguing, and the romance is sweet. This is a terrific light read, and I can't wait for the sequel. 




    Paulson is one of few YA authors who experiments with Norse mythology. I know that Estep plays around with all mythologies, Norse included, but Paulson focuses only on the Norse stories. The result is a group of valkyries who are in the middle of a war between gods. In this novel, I got to know Loki differently (I only knew of him as the ultimate bad guy in the Mythos Academy series), and Odin, who is in charge of the valkyries, was also a prevalent force throughout the book. Paulson didn't explain enough about the mythology, in my opinion, but I still understood what was going on. I would have liked more world-building, though. 




    More than anything, Valkyrie Rising is a bildungsroman (coming of age story), and Ellie embodies this. Yes, she is a bit bratty at times, and she also struggles to assert herself, but to me that just made the story more realistic. Everyone grapples with these issues. No one knows how to be strong without being bratty at first. It's something that we learn as we go, and I think that Paulson did an excellent job of showing that. Ellie really grows into her own, but she's not finished yet. I can't wait to see how she changes in the next book. 




    The secondary characters were all realistic and likable, though I would have liked to have gotten to know more about them. I really loved Tuck, and I'm glad I got to see so much of him. I would have liked more interaction with Graham, Grandmother, and Kjell, though. Maybe in the next novel. Tuck is an interesting character, and I hope to learn even more about him in the sequel. 




    The plot was intriguing and unique. Most of the book took place in Norway, and since I have always wanted to visit Norway, I loved that. The story was a bit mysterious, though I figured out what was going on pretty quickly. The plot was suspenseful, though. I really didn't know what would happen next for most of the book. Also, Tuck spiced things up. Not only was there no insta-love because Tuck and Ellie had known each other forever, but he was also a shifty guy. He seemed sort of like a trickster figure, and I liked that. He really kept me on my toes throughout the whole book. The ending tied up all of the problems in this story nicely, but left room for a sequel. No cliffhangers, thankfully. 




    Overall, I'd recommend this book to anyone who likes light paranormal romance stories. It's a fun book, and I love Paulson's take on Norse mythology. 

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    This young adult book was very good. My grand daughters loved it and hope it will become a movie.

    This was very written, had a wonderful flow, a great storyline, was perfectly edited, had mystery, a dab of violence and no sex, but romance. There was no cursing. It was a perfect YA book. I even enjoyed it. I will recommend it to my students. It was a nice free Friday selection. I only have one question, which prevented this book from being 5 star, the father died early from a heart attack, so the genetics were not his, the mother did not seem to have the genetics or be aware of the them, soooooo, which parent passed the genes on and who was the grand mother the parent of, the mother or the father? An important but unanswered question. We hope there is a sequal.

    AD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Not bad

    I like it a good fast read . Good book for free . I hate that people write bad reviews and have not read the book !!!!!!!!!!! If you do not like the free book look up free book and you will find one you will like so stop your bicth!!!! .

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    I walked into this book having not the slightest inkling of what

    I walked into this book having not the slightest inkling of what a Valkyrie was. And I walked out knowing not much better. But, strangely enough, I was contented because Ingrid Paulson sure can write novels that blow your mind away. 

    When Ellie heads to Norway to visit her grandmother, the town that greets her is filled with hostility. There are rumours in the air about Ellie's grandmother and a gradually permeating fear about a group of mesmerizing but powerful girls-- the Valkyrie. So on a journey to rescue her brother amongst the other boys that get kidnapped by these girls, Ellie discovers that there's more to her grandmother than she can ever imagine. To trace back her heritage, she must pit herself against the Valkyrie. But, ultimately, they are all just pawns in the game of wits and war between two ancient Norse gods-- Odin and Loki. 

    And indeed, Norse mythology was what that set this novel apart from the others. Artfully weaved into our modern times, Ingrid Paulson gives a whole new meaning to the word, 'Valkyrie', by adapting old legends and mythical creatures into our everyday lives, with the skill of Rick Riordan.

    PAST. "Back in the time of the Vikings, soldiers were encouraged to embrace death without fear and according to their religion, according to what is now considered myth, Valkyries were beautiful women who hovered around battlefields, and when brave fighters were killed, they took their souls to Valhalla-- a fortress ruled by Odin, god of death and war and knowledge... These soldiers... They became part of Odin's army."

    PRESENT. The Valkyries are flawlessly beautiful, that's a given, but their ways have changed with time. Handling guns, wearing leather boots and strutting into night clubs are now their routine. Yet, at the same time, the old ways have remained the same. They still retain their heightened senses and strength, and as Ellie begins to uncover her true identity, her journey into the new world of Norse mythology in current-day Norway is thrilling. Personally, for me, it is the realistic way that the Valkyries are portrayed in this tale that makes me fall for it. The whole story seems so raw and genuine that I could honestly believe that it can happen to me in the next heartbeat. (Not that I have any relatives from Norway, but still.) The old magic still lives on, but Ingrid Paulson gives it a whole new dimension, completely integrating it into our world today. 

    Frankly speaking, pulling off a successful modern-day myth is no easy feat. In ancient legends, there are always unexpected twists which take us by surprise. Similarly, in Valkyrie Rising, there are stunning plot twists that keep me constantly on my toes. They will make you race through the whole book, dealing out new secrets every once in a while, and nothing ever remains quite the same.

    Fortunately for us, there is still a romance that is worth gushing about. Tucker, I swear, is one of the wittiest guys I have every met. He becomes a highlight of this novel, standing out even amongst fantastic action sequences and ominous scenes. You will love him, I promise. 

    This is just the book for the hordes of mythology-romance fans to sink their teeth into. And I promise you again, it will dazzle your taste buds.

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Finally, something other than Greek Mythology!

    Paulson introduces a fast paced story that incorporates elements of Norse mythology. The author spends little time in world building, but makes up for the lack of detail with a plot that unfolds with a brisk pace. The main character is a young woman who becomes entangled in a centuries old conflict that involves mythological entities, of which she is kin to.
    Written in a first person narrative, the reader experiences the inner conflicts of a young woman's coming of age and the challenges of her Nordic ancestry. Sadly, the other characters are not fleshed out or developed, and the tone is condescending when she refers to the young men as 'boys' throughout the book.
    Tweens and young teens will enjoy this book because it is NOT another spin on Greek Mythology. Hopefully the second book will have greater depth and character development.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    4 stars

    4 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Good

    I enjoyed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Good book Good book

    I really liked it. It should be a series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Great story

    Didn't think it would capture my interest but happy to say I was so wrong

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Good read for dreary days

    Not my favorite genre but I did find myself caught up in the story and characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    VERY..VERY NICE READ

    Well I was transported right there! and enchanted to be proven wrong! yes I can now say I read about Valkyries!
    The author transport you on a great journey, in Scandinavia, (yes I know... It has been a long while that I read it!) and along you meet believable characters.
    Thanks to the Free Fridays, which enables me to be more eclectic with the choice of books.. I cannot wait to read another book from Ingrid Paulson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Good story

    I enjoyed this book based on Norse mythology. It is not what I normally read so it was refreshing. I hope there will be another by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2013

    Good start to a series.

    Good story. This is the first time I've read fiction based on Norse mythology. It seems my mind was wiped by a Valkyrie because I don't remember what I was going to write. It is a good book that you should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    I really enjoyed it

    I really enjoyed this book. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    engaging

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    I liked this book.

    I want more. When does the next book come out.There is another one right?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is what Legends are made of

    Valkyrie Rising had everything: action, romance, mystery, good vs evil, demonic per se, and good ole enchantment. This is the stuff that wives tales were spun from and taken much further. It was a great story and I did feel as though I was one of the characters. It was a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5