Customer Reviews for

Valkyrie Rising

Average Rating 4
( 275 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Good book

To the person that only gave this book one star because of someone elses ridiculously long review, YOU ARE JUST AS BAD! You bring the rating down on what could have been a 4.5/5 star rating and could potentially damage the books reputation! If you see that the review i...
To the person that only gave this book one star because of someone elses ridiculously long review, YOU ARE JUST AS BAD! You bring the rating down on what could have been a 4.5/5 star rating and could potentially damage the books reputation! If you see that the review is a freaking half page DON'T READ IT!!!

posted by 16595579 on September 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Wow - not thought through!

I don't think the author picked a good myth for her flimsy storyline. The Valkyries took warriors, not untrained boy-band wannabes. At least there aren't any zombies, but still, a very disapppointing read.

posted by GLM123 on September 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Good book

    To the person that only gave this book one star because of someone elses ridiculously long review, YOU ARE JUST AS BAD! You bring the rating down on what could have been a 4.5/5 star rating and could potentially damage the books reputation! If you see that the review is a freaking half page DON'T READ IT!!!

    29 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    FINALLY! A book with Valkyries set in NORWAY! I cannot tell you

    FINALLY! A book with Valkyries set in NORWAY! I cannot tell you how happy those two things made me while I read Valkyrie Rising. Seriously. I'm sick of mythological being appearing out of the blue in the U.S.A. I don't know why but it really irks me. So the fact that Ingrid Paulson wrote a young adult novel about the Valkyries that took place in Norway was a huge deal for me. Plus the fact that she made some attempts to talk about places in Norway showed she did a bit of research on the country which I totally appreciated since the book was read for my Around the World Reading Challenge.

    I've always loved Norse mythology so when I found out about this book months ago I couldn't wait to read it but like always when I got the book from the library I didn't get around to reading it until the night before it's due back...which was last night. However, the book had me hooked from the first page so it worked out remarkably well since the writing was so addictive I could not put the book down at all.

    Ingrid Paulson brought a fantastic debut novel to the table that has a lot of action, Norse mythology, a wee bit of romance and a kick ass heroine that comes into her own. I absolutely loved Elsa (Ellie)'s character. She started off very unsure of herself and very shy but by the end of the novel she matured, and became a lot stronger sand more self confident which was great to see because I hate characters who are pushovers. I loved how much she cared about not only rescuing her older brother Graham but also rescuing all the other boys Astrid the leader of the Valkyries kidnapped for use in Odin's army.

    The other characters in the novel were great too. Graham, Ellie's brother was the typical annoying big brother. He was always butting his head into her business and trying to make decisions for her completely ignoring the fact that she is her own person.

    Tucker was a great love interest for Ellie because of his teasing nature he balanced out her more serious nature and he added a lot of humour to the book which was needed and I thought he was really endearing despite the fact that he was a little annoying in the beginning.

    Hilda, who is Ellie and Graham's grandmother on their father's side was unlike any grandmother I've ever read about and if you read the book you'll find out why that is. I thought she was a wonderful chsaracter and you csn tell that Ellie gets a lot of her strength from her Grandmother.

    Overall all other characters were great. I was a little bit worried that there wouldnt be very much attention paid to the side characters but they were wonderfully created and they had just the right amount of depth to make the interesting and to make me want to read more about them in the next book in the series.

    The plot was also wonderfully written. There was a lot of action that was interwoven with the mythology and romance themes which were not over done or cheesy but were just right. I liked how the story was mainly focused on Ellie's search for her brother and learning about who and what she is as well as a bit of the mythology behind the Valkyries. The romance between her and Tucker thankfully too a backseat for most of the novel and I am so glad that their relationship wasn't another dreaded case of the wretched insta-love fad that's been plaguing young adult novels as of late. The pace of the novel was great and it kept me reading late into the night and I couldn't put it down until I finished it because I couldn't wait to see how it ended. The story will draw you in and you'll be thinking about it long after you finish it.

    Ingrid Paulson wrote a great debut novel and I highly recommend this novel to everyone especially if you're a fan of young adult novels that deal with mythology especially Norse mythology. I think she's a talented author and I can't wait to read the next book in the series and this is definetly one of the best books I've read in 2012.

    24 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Excellent, I've read it twice!

    This book held my attention all the way through and I would be excited if I found out that the author decided to turn it into volume one of a series. Great if you are into Norse mythology.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Good story

    Kept my interest from beginning to end..hope there is a 2nd book!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Book report

    Very good. As an avid reader i would highly recomend it

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Mom

    Enjoyed!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Loved it! Highly recomend!

    Slow start I will admit, but by chapter 6 I was hooked! Great mystery/romance novel with some fun ghostly encounters! No sleezy sex scenes which I loved. I look forward to reading this again and again. I will also be checking out other books by this author!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Loved this book

    I truly enjoyed this book, and I really hope the author will turn this into a series! I cant believe this was free, but would have paid for it! Loved all the characters, especially Tuck! This is my first review! I'm an avid reader but felt very strongly about how great this book was. I hope the author gives us more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Great book for free

    I realy love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    I haven't read this.

    I haven't read this book. But, I will. I'm trying to balance out the bad ratings.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Action, romance, and intrigue. This book has it all. It was so g

    Action, romance, and intrigue. This book has it all. It was so good that I've been letting it brew over in my mind for a couple weeks now, wondering just how am I supposed to tell you how much I loved this book. Then I realized that I had to say something, or years would pass without me finding words to tell people what exactly I love about this book and what makes it so special. More than how much I love books, this blog is here to tell you what I think about books--and in this case, why I love this particular book.

    I typically don't fall for the players, but Tuck is so sweet and caring. And I adore the banter between the two of them. It's just what you'd expect between two teens who've grown up next to each other all their lives and are now trying to figure out what to do with their feelings for each other. Then there's the older brother / best friend to think about and the fact that Ellie's growing into her powers. With all these factors coming into play, there is a lot of conflict brewing underneath the tension between the two. And I love it. After all, where's the fun when the protagonist gets everything she wants so easily!

    Ellie herself is a lovable heroine. She doesn't like all the secrets floating around; she likes to be in control, and she's scared. She's facing a big adversary without her knowledgable and powerful grandmother by her side, and if she fails in her mission, she risks losing those she cares about most. However, she is fiercely loyal and does all she can to protect her loved ones, even if it means playing mind games with a wily god or two.

    What makes this book all the more brilliant is the gorgeous Norwegian setting. This book doesn't take place in any old town that might be recognizable somewhere in another country. It takes us on an adventure in a forgeign country with Ellie finding herself interacting with, and battling against, gods that the people believe in. The Valkyries are kick-butt girls that don't let anyone boss them around, not even the gods for long. (And the boots were a nice touch. I want a pair for myself!) I love Norse mythology and had a blast seeing familiar characters come to life in Valkyrie Rising.

    I recommend this book to those who look for heart-pounding action, sweet and hot chemistry, and characters that come to life off the pages. I'll miss these characters, as Valkyrie Rising is a standalone novel. I will definitely be on the lookout for more works by Ingrid Paulson!

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    T

    Tr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    A must read

    While reading this I also had to do homework on valkaries after a brief lesson this book kept me entertained and on the edge of my seat hope there will be a second book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Thief!

    She stole my name! Its even spelled the same way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Moonstar

    Walked back to camp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Good read

    Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    UNEXPECTED

    This book was and is great! Especially great for a free book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Hope there are additional books!

    Enjoyed this book! Nice twists & turns! Please write another!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Great book

    This is a fast paced story with a little bit of everything...action, romance, supernatural. I am looking forward to more books from this new author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    liked

    I liked this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6