Customer Reviews for

The Valley of Horses (Earth's Children #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 399 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(250)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

eBook errors are plentiful - on entire series!!!

So sad - I have all of this series in hard copy, but really wanted them on my new Nook, especially with the new Land of the Painted Caves coming out next month! I started reading at the beginning, and was immediately struck by how AWFUL the translation to eBook had bee...
So sad - I have all of this series in hard copy, but really wanted them on my new Nook, especially with the new Land of the Painted Caves coming out next month! I started reading at the beginning, and was immediately struck by how AWFUL the translation to eBook had been - NEVER occurred to me that B&N didn't get access to the electronic files which the printers use when printing up new books, right? - NEVER occurred to me these books were OCRed, which means that many times the words are incorrect or missing. There are formatting issues like italics where it does not belong, a sentence that runs right off the page of the Nook never wrapping around. Punctuation that was incorrect or completely missing. And, unlike the old classics, we have to PAY for this. I actually needed to use my hard copy to be sure of what I was reading - in each edition!
I wrote a letter of disgust to B&N, and was told - in short, that my issues were being sent on to the publisher and when they made corrections, it would automatically be uploaded to my Nook - BUT, that I was not entitled to any kind of refund per B&N blah, blah, blah.... Very sad. I have many other books on my Nook that are 10 & 20 years old yet there are no "typos" in those books. Be warned!

posted by MagiV on February 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Expectation leads to dissapointment

The Clan of the Cave Bear was, and still is, my favorite book. Perhaps I expected too much of the sequel, but I felt that it fell short of its predecessor. Ayla was an endearing character in the first book, a person who did things that went against what was expected of ...
The Clan of the Cave Bear was, and still is, my favorite book. Perhaps I expected too much of the sequel, but I felt that it fell short of its predecessor. Ayla was an endearing character in the first book, a person who did things that went against what was expected of her, such as hunting, yet in this book she appeared to be too eager to please. Another dissapointment was the stressing of sex in the book. At times it seemed that it was all Jondalar cared about. I found myself skipping pages because it happened so ofted it became repetitive. However, despite the dissapointment, I did feel that this book was well researched and imaginative. Perhaps the book fell short because my hopes were too high.

posted by Anonymous on December 27, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 403 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    eBook errors are plentiful - on entire series!!!

    So sad - I have all of this series in hard copy, but really wanted them on my new Nook, especially with the new Land of the Painted Caves coming out next month! I started reading at the beginning, and was immediately struck by how AWFUL the translation to eBook had been - NEVER occurred to me that B&N didn't get access to the electronic files which the printers use when printing up new books, right? - NEVER occurred to me these books were OCRed, which means that many times the words are incorrect or missing. There are formatting issues like italics where it does not belong, a sentence that runs right off the page of the Nook never wrapping around. Punctuation that was incorrect or completely missing. And, unlike the old classics, we have to PAY for this. I actually needed to use my hard copy to be sure of what I was reading - in each edition!
    I wrote a letter of disgust to B&N, and was told - in short, that my issues were being sent on to the publisher and when they made corrections, it would automatically be uploaded to my Nook - BUT, that I was not entitled to any kind of refund per B&N blah, blah, blah.... Very sad. I have many other books on my Nook that are 10 & 20 years old yet there are no "typos" in those books. Be warned!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ayla's journey begins

    In this sequel to The Clan Of The Cave Bear, Ayla is forced to make a new home for herself after being forced out of the clan she grew up with. She finds a valley with a cave and starts using all of her skills and wits to survive. This book is as well-written and researched as the first. Ayla has an amazing ability with plants and their food and medicinal uses. She knows how to store food for winter and how to make tools, equipment and clothing. She has an inner strength that keeps her alive when most people would have given up. After all of her training as a medicine woman, she can't help but to nurse to health any ill or injured creature that crosses her path and, so it is the reason she makes some unusual lifelong friends. I love the descriptions in this book of the terrain, weather, animals, plants and how Ayla perceives everything in her new world. A very entertaining and informative book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2004

    Expectation leads to dissapointment

    The Clan of the Cave Bear was, and still is, my favorite book. Perhaps I expected too much of the sequel, but I felt that it fell short of its predecessor. Ayla was an endearing character in the first book, a person who did things that went against what was expected of her, such as hunting, yet in this book she appeared to be too eager to please. Another dissapointment was the stressing of sex in the book. At times it seemed that it was all Jondalar cared about. I found myself skipping pages because it happened so ofted it became repetitive. However, despite the dissapointment, I did feel that this book was well researched and imaginative. Perhaps the book fell short because my hopes were too high.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    MagiV's review dated Feb 8, 2011 says that at that time, there w

    MagiV's review dated Feb 8, 2011 says that at that time, there were lots of typos, punctuation and formatting errors - enough to ruin the eBook. I stayed away from this nook book until now because of this review, but finally bought it. I have read to page 36 and have found no typos, punctuation errors, or formatting issues, so I guess B & N did get access to the electronic files and has since come out with a clean copy. Don't not buy this book because you're afraid of poor quality text - that problem seems to have been solved. As to the book itself, I've always really liked Auel's Earth's Children series and this is my favorite volume because of the rich descriptions, based on Auel's research, of the way people lived in Paleolithic times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    detailed sex scenes not necessary

    I loved Clan of The Cave Bear and ordered The Valley of the Horses before I had finished it. I was disappointed. It drags in places and the very detailed sex scenes were not necessary.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Great Book, poor editing on ebook edition

    As another reviewer has stated: the book is great and you should read it if you like historical fiction, but the copy into ebook format is horrible. There are a lot of punctuation errors, mispellings, and grammatical errors. I expected more from ebooks- this copy is pretty horrible. It's a good thing I've read the book before in paperback...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    Great book, poor copy

    I love the Earth's Children series. Fantastic detail, rich characters and enjoyable stories. However, I have noticed from one ebook to another, the copy is terrible. There are misspelliings, glaring grammar issues and punctuation problems. I hope they transcribe these books again and fix the problems. I would have bought hard copies if I had known there were so many problems in the electronic versions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2002

    An Average Read....

    The adventurous life of Ayla continues here in The Valley Of The Horses. This time she is no longer a child of 5 but 17 years old, living on her own for three years after being cursed and banished by the Clan who once adopted and accepted her. Here, we read the heart wretching moments of her loneliness, as well as her courage for survival. Although, some parts are a bit repetitive and flimsy, the experiementings, discoverings, trials and errors are an interesting read. I find Ayla's animal companions heart warming, her determination inspiring. In this book, we are also introduce to Jondalar, a handsome & charasmatic Zelandonii, who travelled with his brother Thonolan's, searching for adventure. The brothers story have some appealing moments but it dragged on a little too much for my liking. I find myself skipping pages, anticipating the meeting of Ayla and Jondalar, which unfortunately didn't occur until the chapter 19th of this book (and 10 chapters later, the book ended. Imagine that!). For me, it took too long for both characters to finally meet up. Also, Thonolan's story seemed to distract me, perhaps I just didn't grasp the point of his story in this book. Nevertheless, Jondalar is an exciting character for Ayla. I enjoyed this book more as soon as the two met up. They not only learned about each other but from each other. After breaking the communication barrier, they shared ideas, exchange customs and experiences... then came the acceptance and love. I find their relationship a challenge, as well as intriguing. However, I am sad to admit that this book didn't create a lasting impression on me. Compared to THE CLAN OF THE CAVE BEARS, this one just didn't seem to completely move me nor did it captivated me. It is overall an average read, which I would still recommend especially to those who have started the Earth Childrens Series. I am hoping that the 3rd book of the series,THE MAMMOTH HUNTERS will be more to my liking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2000

    Graet book!

    This book continues the epic story of the beautiful Alya who is cast out of her clan. She walks the world alone until finding a a majestic valley filled with wild horses. She meets up with a handsom youth who was terribly injured in an attack by a cave lion. Does not understand his language but amazingly quickly learns. Jonolar shows her, her first loves. This book is wonderful on how Ayla survives just by using a sling and her incredible intellegence of the land. Great for people with a good imagination

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Fixating!

    I just finished the second in this series and i cant stop!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    highly recommend

    love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Highly Recommended!!!!

    This is a wonderful book for people that like romance and stories of cavemen. I have all 6 books from the series and can't hardly put them down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Last book

    I wish jean auel would reconsider and continue with her story of ayla, was hoping she would write more about aylas son, somehow it seems unfinished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Gabby

    Nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Sam

    *wakes up. Goes into the bathroom nd changes clothes. Walks out*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Water Dorm

    -Raven

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    Great book!

    Though the author consults scientists while researching for her books, the stories and characters come from her fertile imagination. I recommend this book and the others in the series. The Valley of Horses is reputed to be her best work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Recommended

    This series gets better and better..loved Ayla in the first book and in this one..cant wait to read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Ugg!!

    Clan of the cavebear was so good, what happened here? Its like the author had some kind of tramatic brain injury that totally dimished her writing skills! Soap opera for cave people, somewhat of a cross between The Flinstones meets Valley of the Dolls. Dont get me wrong i like a little sex in a book but it became too much of the same BORING, i cant believe i actually skipped the sex scenes after suffering tgrough the first one. I would have liked the story to flash back to the clan she left behind and seen how her son developed but no no no, no interesting story at all in fact this book is an insult to even single celled creatures, skip it or face severe disappointment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    Phenomenal!

    After reading Clan of the Cave Bear, I didn't think I would ever love a book as much. Then this book came out, and proved me wrong. Unlike the first book which took me two sittings to read, this one took only one. I literally could not put the book down. I was totally absorbed and captivated with the characters, the story line, etc. Don't read this one till you have read the first though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 403 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21