BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Valley of Horses (Earth's Children #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 400 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(250)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

eBook errors are plentiful - on entire series!!!

So sad - I have all of this series in hard copy, but really wanted them on my new Nook, especially with the new Land of the Painted Caves coming out next month! I started reading at the beginning, and was immediately struck by how AWFUL the translation to eBook had bee...
So sad - I have all of this series in hard copy, but really wanted them on my new Nook, especially with the new Land of the Painted Caves coming out next month! I started reading at the beginning, and was immediately struck by how AWFUL the translation to eBook had been - NEVER occurred to me that B&N didn't get access to the electronic files which the printers use when printing up new books, right? - NEVER occurred to me these books were OCRed, which means that many times the words are incorrect or missing. There are formatting issues like italics where it does not belong, a sentence that runs right off the page of the Nook never wrapping around. Punctuation that was incorrect or completely missing. And, unlike the old classics, we have to PAY for this. I actually needed to use my hard copy to be sure of what I was reading - in each edition!
I wrote a letter of disgust to B&N, and was told - in short, that my issues were being sent on to the publisher and when they made corrections, it would automatically be uploaded to my Nook - BUT, that I was not entitled to any kind of refund per B&N blah, blah, blah.... Very sad. I have many other books on my Nook that are 10 & 20 years old yet there are no "typos" in those books. Be warned!

posted by MagiV on February 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Expectation leads to dissapointment

The Clan of the Cave Bear was, and still is, my favorite book. Perhaps I expected too much of the sequel, but I felt that it fell short of its predecessor. Ayla was an endearing character in the first book, a person who did things that went against what was expected of ...
The Clan of the Cave Bear was, and still is, my favorite book. Perhaps I expected too much of the sequel, but I felt that it fell short of its predecessor. Ayla was an endearing character in the first book, a person who did things that went against what was expected of her, such as hunting, yet in this book she appeared to be too eager to please. Another dissapointment was the stressing of sex in the book. At times it seemed that it was all Jondalar cared about. I found myself skipping pages because it happened so ofted it became repetitive. However, despite the dissapointment, I did feel that this book was well researched and imaginative. Perhaps the book fell short because my hopes were too high.

posted by Anonymous on December 27, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 250 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    eBook errors are plentiful - on entire series!!!

    So sad - I have all of this series in hard copy, but really wanted them on my new Nook, especially with the new Land of the Painted Caves coming out next month! I started reading at the beginning, and was immediately struck by how AWFUL the translation to eBook had been - NEVER occurred to me that B&N didn't get access to the electronic files which the printers use when printing up new books, right? - NEVER occurred to me these books were OCRed, which means that many times the words are incorrect or missing. There are formatting issues like italics where it does not belong, a sentence that runs right off the page of the Nook never wrapping around. Punctuation that was incorrect or completely missing. And, unlike the old classics, we have to PAY for this. I actually needed to use my hard copy to be sure of what I was reading - in each edition!
    I wrote a letter of disgust to B&N, and was told - in short, that my issues were being sent on to the publisher and when they made corrections, it would automatically be uploaded to my Nook - BUT, that I was not entitled to any kind of refund per B&N blah, blah, blah.... Very sad. I have many other books on my Nook that are 10 & 20 years old yet there are no "typos" in those books. Be warned!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ayla's journey begins

    In this sequel to The Clan Of The Cave Bear, Ayla is forced to make a new home for herself after being forced out of the clan she grew up with. She finds a valley with a cave and starts using all of her skills and wits to survive. This book is as well-written and researched as the first. Ayla has an amazing ability with plants and their food and medicinal uses. She knows how to store food for winter and how to make tools, equipment and clothing. She has an inner strength that keeps her alive when most people would have given up. After all of her training as a medicine woman, she can't help but to nurse to health any ill or injured creature that crosses her path and, so it is the reason she makes some unusual lifelong friends. I love the descriptions in this book of the terrain, weather, animals, plants and how Ayla perceives everything in her new world. A very entertaining and informative book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    MagiV's review dated Feb 8, 2011 says that at that time, there w

    MagiV's review dated Feb 8, 2011 says that at that time, there were lots of typos, punctuation and formatting errors - enough to ruin the eBook. I stayed away from this nook book until now because of this review, but finally bought it. I have read to page 36 and have found no typos, punctuation errors, or formatting issues, so I guess B & N did get access to the electronic files and has since come out with a clean copy. Don't not buy this book because you're afraid of poor quality text - that problem seems to have been solved. As to the book itself, I've always really liked Auel's Earth's Children series and this is my favorite volume because of the rich descriptions, based on Auel's research, of the way people lived in Paleolithic times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2000

    Graet book!

    This book continues the epic story of the beautiful Alya who is cast out of her clan. She walks the world alone until finding a a majestic valley filled with wild horses. She meets up with a handsom youth who was terribly injured in an attack by a cave lion. Does not understand his language but amazingly quickly learns. Jonolar shows her, her first loves. This book is wonderful on how Ayla survives just by using a sling and her incredible intellegence of the land. Great for people with a good imagination

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Fixating!

    I just finished the second in this series and i cant stop!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    highly recommend

    love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Highly Recommended!!!!

    This is a wonderful book for people that like romance and stories of cavemen. I have all 6 books from the series and can't hardly put them down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Last book

    I wish jean auel would reconsider and continue with her story of ayla, was hoping she would write more about aylas son, somehow it seems unfinished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Gabby

    Nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Sam

    *wakes up. Goes into the bathroom nd changes clothes. Walks out*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Water Dorm

    -Raven

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    Great book!

    Though the author consults scientists while researching for her books, the stories and characters come from her fertile imagination. I recommend this book and the others in the series. The Valley of Horses is reputed to be her best work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Recommended

    This series gets better and better..loved Ayla in the first book and in this one..cant wait to read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    Phenomenal!

    After reading Clan of the Cave Bear, I didn't think I would ever love a book as much. Then this book came out, and proved me wrong. Unlike the first book which took me two sittings to read, this one took only one. I literally could not put the book down. I was totally absorbed and captivated with the characters, the story line, etc. Don't read this one till you have read the first though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The new book is great "Land of the Painted Caves" but

    The new book is great "Land of the Painted Caves" but I am surprised that above Barnes and Noble says Jean Auel is still working on the 6th book of the series. B&N had better keep up better than that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    I liked THE VALLEY OF THE HORSES THE BEST..

    Have read all 6 of the books in the Earth Children series DID NOT CARE MUCH FOR THE LAST THREE 3- books in the Saga. Slow reading, a bit boring etc. CLAN OF THE CAVE BEAR IS MY SECOND CHOICE

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Love it!

    This is still my favorite book of the series. The way Ayla keeps going, no matter what, is encouragement to meet current problems head-on. I have read the series multiple times over the years and feel as if I am visiting with old friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    Great Book!

    I have to admit, this is my most favorite book in the whole series. I love how Ayla only has herself to count on and boy, does she get to work on surviving! It is proof of just how much one person can do if they have the will to survive and the determination to do so. I also love how she made her first best friends - Whinney and Baby - from animals. Ms. Auel did a wonderful job creating characters in a time and age in which little is known. She truly made them come alive. I will miss them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing story. A little hard to follow in the beginning when yo

    Amazing story. A little hard to follow in the beginning when you are meeting new characters, and I was worried I would not be able to finish it for having trouble seeing how it was going to come together, but the author does so in an amazing way. The last several chapters are full of suspense, as you do not know which way it is going to go and what is going to happen. I am glad I stuck it out because it was well worth it. Can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Loved it

    My favorite book of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 250 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13