Customer Reviews for

Valleys of Neptune

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Only 3 Truly *New* Songs On This *New* Album Chips Away 3 Stars...

    Let me first say that I really enjoy listening to this CD. It IS good stuff but the major problem I found was the major false advertising on the part of Experience Hendrix and Sony Legacy. They put a big sticker right on the front of the packaging that says "Over 60 Minutes Of Unheard Jimi Hendrix" when that's far from the truth.

    What you *actually* get are 2 new tracks and 1 new instrumental track for a total of 3 tracks that are truly *new.* The other 9 tracks are songs that have appeared on another main Hendrix release in the form of another version.

    Astonishingly, Experience Hendrix and Sony Legacy took the liberty of actually re-titling some of the songs just to make them appear *new* but anyone who knows many Hendrix tunes will pick up on these.

    Below I've listed the track list with two sets of prentices. The first set of prentices tells if the song is an alternate version of a released song as well as clarifies if it was re-tilted and which song it actually is. The second set of prentices tells which Hendrix album the song appeared on.

    1 - Stone Free (Alternate Version Of Song)(Are You Experienced?)
    2 - Valleys Of Neptune (New Song)
    3 - Bleeding Heart (Alternate Version)(South Saturn Delta)&(Blues)
    4 - Hear My Train A Comin' (Alternate Version)(Blues)
    5 - Mr. Bad Luck (Alternate Version Of Look Over Yonder Just Re-titled)(South Saturn Delta)
    6 - Sunshine Of Your Love (New Instrumental)
    7 - Lover Man (Alternate Version)(South Saturn Delta)
    8 - Ships Passing In The Night (Alternate Version Of Night Bird Flying Just Re-titled)(First Rays Of The New Rising Sun)
    9 - Fire (Alternate Version)(Are You Experienced?)
    10 - Red House (Alternate Version)(Blues)
    11 - Lullaby For Summer (Alternate Instrumental Version Of Ezy Ryder Just Re-titled)(First Rays Of The New Rising Sun)
    12 - Crying Blue Rain (New Song)

    Now, I can hear the die hards already saying "This is new Hendrix man, these are studio recordings." I agree with that to an extent. However, regardless is this is "Jimi" stuff or not, false advertising is false advertising.

    When you buy "Over 60 Minutes Of Unheard Jimi Hendrix" music, and you've *heard* 9 of the 12 songs on various other Hendrix albums, that's an issue. Experience Hendrix knows much better than doing what they've done with this "new" album, which is demonstrated by their release of the albums South Saturn Delta and First Rays Of The New Rising Sun which really DID include new tracks.

    It appeared when they released South Saturn Delta and First Rays Of The New Rising Sun that they were attempting to clean up the scattering of releases that chopped up all of Jimi's work after his passing which I applaud.

    Instead of being billed as a new *album*, Valleys Of Neptune should have been accurately billed as *studio sessions & alternate takes* with a couple of bonus tracks to account for the 2-3 new songs. Another accurate way to think of this disc is as if it were one of the discs from the 4 disc, Jimi Hendrix Experience Boxed set which had alternate versions of songs with a couple of new tracks sprinkled on each disc.

    Again, I do love this CD. If properly advertised, I would have given this release 4 solid starts, possibly 5. I am keeping it and playing the heck out of it. Hopefully Experience Hendrix reads these reviews and advertises accurately & gives us a real album of *NEW* studio material.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1