Customer Reviews for

Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3066 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2247)

4 Star

(508)

3 Star

(181)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(80)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

69 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

Addicted...

I am a 28 year old woman reading this young adult series. I picked it up at the local Walmart one day because I was bored... I didn't expect much so I was very pleasantly surprised! Yeah, a lot of teen books are described as "goody two shoes" or whatever. The thing I li...
I am a 28 year old woman reading this young adult series. I picked it up at the local Walmart one day because I was bored... I didn't expect much so I was very pleasantly surprised! Yeah, a lot of teen books are described as "goody two shoes" or whatever. The thing I like about them is that I can enjoy the characters and plot without the adult content. For an adult who wants to escape, I say it's perfect. Rose--the main character--and her inner struggle with her feelings for instructor, Dimitri and stirring emotions about wanting to go forge her OWN way kept me pretty hooked. I read all three of the available books in a WEEK. Well written, romantic and emotional. If you liked the Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer I think you will actually like this better. :)

posted by Minnechicka on July 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

Didnt like it -_-

Ok I'll start out with the simple fact that I'm one of those people who get intrigued by the persons sense of writing. Yes story is very, very, very important but how can you express a creative story with such bland writing. I didnt like it I'm sorry, it just seemed lik...
Ok I'll start out with the simple fact that I'm one of those people who get intrigued by the persons sense of writing. Yes story is very, very, very important but how can you express a creative story with such bland writing. I didnt like it I'm sorry, it just seemed like the writer was talking to someone, instead of expressing an actual story. The words phrases were dull, the constant expressions were cheezy, and to top it off half the time I was literally forcing myself to read it. The only thing good about the book is the cover, and it sort of seems cliche in a sense. Vampires like 'gothic' atmospheres ok we get it, I didnt like it and I usually love most vampire books. If you want a good book about a vampire academy, read Vampire Knight its a manga/graphic novel but even there the writing is better -_-.

posted by Anonymous on July 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3081 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 155
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Addicted...

    I am a 28 year old woman reading this young adult series. I picked it up at the local Walmart one day because I was bored... I didn't expect much so I was very pleasantly surprised! Yeah, a lot of teen books are described as "goody two shoes" or whatever. The thing I like about them is that I can enjoy the characters and plot without the adult content. For an adult who wants to escape, I say it's perfect. Rose--the main character--and her inner struggle with her feelings for instructor, Dimitri and stirring emotions about wanting to go forge her OWN way kept me pretty hooked. I read all three of the available books in a WEEK. Well written, romantic and emotional. If you liked the Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer I think you will actually like this better. :)

    69 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent read

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    52 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Is like ten million times better than twilight.

    Vampire Academy is a great book filled with twist and turns in the plot that will leave you in sunspense till the last word. A great book for teens that enjoy fictions. A good book for a rainy, stormy, or boring day. An amazing book not only with romance but action and a bit of humor.Excellentlly written book with a fanasty that we all wish we were a part of in some ways.<BR/>kudous to richelle mead.

    39 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great series starter.

    While I loved the characters of Rose and Lissa (I've always liked the name Vasilisa from Ukrainian/Russian folklore), it took me a few chapters to get into this one. It's written well enough and it's got a great hook for the beginning, but I'm a stickler for Vampire tradition. Mead has created her own world of vampires, something I've seen a lot of YA authors do when it comes to the undead, and while that is not necessarily a bad thing, for me it delays my interest in the story.

    After a few chapters, I was hooked and fully emerged in the world Mead had created with Vampire Academy: There are two types of vampires--Moroi are mortal vampires and wield the earth's magic elements (fire, water, air, earth). Strigoi are immortal undead. They've gone to the dark side and lost their magic but gained strength and ferocity. They're basically the traditional vampire but they now carry an uncontrollable desire to drink from the Moroi. Then we also have dhampirs. While half-breeds aren't a new concept, having them as guardians that devote their lives to protecting the Moroi, is (I hate ending a sentence with the word "is" but for today, I'll deal).

    Rose is a novice guardian and she's fully devoted to protecting Lissa, her best friend. In an effort to protect Lissa, from what Rose doesn't fully understand, she takes her away form the academy. The book begins with their return to St. Vladimir's Academy. They're back within the well guarded confines of the school, but danger may be even closer than it was on the outside.

    Like I said, I thought it was well written. Mead is a very talented story teller and not once did the book feel dull. There's romance, secrets, scandal and vampires. Oh! And big sexy Russian vampires! Ya lublu, tebya, Dimitri Belikov. What's not to love? I recommend this series to all teen vampire fans.

    33 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Totally Surprised at how much I loved this Series...

    After reading the Twilight Series and the Sookie Stackhouse series, I needed something to fill my time. I honestly never thought I would enjoy this book b/c it looked like it should be for a younger crowd. I was wrong, this book is FANTASTIC! Great characters that you can definitely identify with and become a fan of. Had plenty of suspense and forbidden attraction...loved it!

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Really Good!

    Vampire is a good book to read if you like vampires and romance. The main character is strong female and it is a good point of view to write from. It is an easy read and once you start reading it is hard to put down. I bought the first book and I was lucky I also bought the second one because I had to continue reading to see what happens next or else I would have gone crazy. For those of you who liked Twilight and are vampire fans, this is a really good book to read.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    Didnt like it -_-

    Ok I'll start out with the simple fact that I'm one of those people who get intrigued by the persons sense of writing. Yes story is very, very, very important but how can you express a creative story with such bland writing. I didnt like it I'm sorry, it just seemed like the writer was talking to someone, instead of expressing an actual story. The words phrases were dull, the constant expressions were cheezy, and to top it off half the time I was literally forcing myself to read it. The only thing good about the book is the cover, and it sort of seems cliche in a sense. Vampires like 'gothic' atmospheres ok we get it, I didnt like it and I usually love most vampire books. If you want a good book about a vampire academy, read Vampire Knight its a manga/graphic novel but even there the writing is better -_-.

    19 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    HOPED THIS HELPS! Please Vote This As most helpful!! Thanks :-)

    This book, is like no other! There somthing about the books that makes you feel love, affection, jealousy, and fear for the charictors. This book pulls you in, right from the first page! I finished this book within one setting. What can i say? I couldnt put it down. This book is a MUST READ for anyone who loves romance and heart-breaking twists, oh, and dont forget: Vampires too!! look out Twilight, theres a new book in town, and its working its way up to the top!

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent!

    It grabbed me from the beginning and didn't let go! I found the characters and the storyline very entertaining. Before I had finished the book, I purchased the next two in the series.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OMD!

    This was one great serise. Yes this one wasn't as good as the others, but the serise in genral, WOW! Never before did I ever think that I would find a serise better than Twilight, but here it is. And don't even get me started on the SMEXY RUSSIAN. Forbiden love, a choice between the love of her life or her best friend. This will have you begging for more. So READ IT!

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    Two Words: READ IT!!!

    To be honest I was a little skeptical when I first picked it up. The only reason I bought the book was because Twilight was over and I needed a new vampire book to read. I mean, it took me about six trips to Barnes and Nobles to actually buy it but once I did I couldn't put it down. The main character is independent and funny, and her best friend seems timid and shy. The story was an overall good read. There was mystery and romance, action and humor. To be honest it was better than twilight, while Bella is weak and dependent, Rose is the exact opposite, independent and strong. Great Book!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My Review....

    I will admitt that the very begining of this did bore me a little. It was slightly hard to read it because of that. But after you do get into it, I found this book to be very well done. It was exciting, had a little bit of romance but what amazed me the most was the friendship between Rose and Lissa. Having such a close bound with someone you really care for is what most people ever really want. I loved it. I do have to say that I find it immature that people have to put there review in all caps. After all if you didn't like it that's all you have to say. Don't freak out about it. It was just a book. If you didn't like it then move on....

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    Couldn't get into it

    I didn't like it as much as I expected I would. I thought it was going to be really good, it sure sounded like it, but in all honesty I couldn't get through it. I read the first few chapters and had to give up on it.

    8 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing

    My friend recommended it to me and I have been addicted ever since. I read the first 4 books of the series in about four days. I hardly slept because I couldn't put the book down.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    Frankly, I was dissapointed with this book. Though many of the concepts in it are original ones, but they aren't fleshed out enough to make this a truly engaging book.. The story itself drags on at the occasional interesting or good point, it just deflates. Its characters are bland, uninteresting, and stereotypical. Overall? This is just another one of those trashy teen-orientated books. The children's section has much better selections... though, unfortunately, it seems that vampire stories are quite a rarity there.

    6 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is absolutely amazing!

    I love the whole idea of the teacher and student relationship. It creates suspense. Dimitri is amazing. Rose and Lissa are great characters. It shows how Rose matures over the period when she's with Dimitri. Overall I can just say I love this whole serious. And I'm ecstatic for Spirit Bound (May 18,2010)!!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    awesome series

    i love this series. i've read all the books that i can, and can't wait(though it's the day school starts) for the 25th of this month. i also can't wait for Spirit Bound, the 5th book in the series, coming May 18, 2010. so far away! oh well, can always reread the books til that day.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    All Right

    This book is okay just to have fun with. The plot isn't particularly unique, but it is intriguing. It has enough supernatural romance and modern teen affairs to keep readers interested. The characters are strong, if a little stereotypical, and I look forward to see them progress later in the series. The writing itself needs a little work, for there was a lot of typos and grammar mistakes, but its easy enough to understand. This series has a lot of potential, and I believe it is better for vampire-loving girls than Twilight.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING!!!!!

    i have read all the books and i fell in love with all them. I can't wait for blood promise to come out!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Believe me when i say WOW

    This book was amazing
    i give my props to RICHELLE MEAD
    When I read this book i was astonished
    This book was really nice
    How rose what risk any thing for her best friend Lisa
    Even if that means she cant be with the one she REALLY TRUELY LOVES
    Thatz a true friend
    She would do any thing 2 keep her friends safe
    Even by taking her awwway from school
    This Book YOU WILL LOVE
    just as I

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3081 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 155