Customer Reviews for

Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2273)

4 Star

(516)

3 Star

(189)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(83)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

74 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

Addicted...

I am a 28 year old woman reading this young adult series. I picked it up at the local Walmart one day because I was bored... I didn't expect much so I was very pleasantly surprised! Yeah, a lot of teen books are described as "goody two shoes" or whatever. The thing I li...
I am a 28 year old woman reading this young adult series. I picked it up at the local Walmart one day because I was bored... I didn't expect much so I was very pleasantly surprised! Yeah, a lot of teen books are described as "goody two shoes" or whatever. The thing I like about them is that I can enjoy the characters and plot without the adult content. For an adult who wants to escape, I say it's perfect. Rose--the main character--and her inner struggle with her feelings for instructor, Dimitri and stirring emotions about wanting to go forge her OWN way kept me pretty hooked. I read all three of the available books in a WEEK. Well written, romantic and emotional. If you liked the Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer I think you will actually like this better. :)

posted by Minnechicka on July 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

Didnt like it -_-

Ok I'll start out with the simple fact that I'm one of those people who get intrigued by the persons sense of writing. Yes story is very, very, very important but how can you express a creative story with such bland writing. I didnt like it I'm sorry, it just seemed lik...
Ok I'll start out with the simple fact that I'm one of those people who get intrigued by the persons sense of writing. Yes story is very, very, very important but how can you express a creative story with such bland writing. I didnt like it I'm sorry, it just seemed like the writer was talking to someone, instead of expressing an actual story. The words phrases were dull, the constant expressions were cheezy, and to top it off half the time I was literally forcing myself to read it. The only thing good about the book is the cover, and it sort of seems cliche in a sense. Vampires like 'gothic' atmospheres ok we get it, I didnt like it and I usually love most vampire books. If you want a good book about a vampire academy, read Vampire Knight its a manga/graphic novel but even there the writing is better -_-.

posted by Anonymous on July 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    Didnt like it -_-

    Ok I'll start out with the simple fact that I'm one of those people who get intrigued by the persons sense of writing. Yes story is very, very, very important but how can you express a creative story with such bland writing. I didnt like it I'm sorry, it just seemed like the writer was talking to someone, instead of expressing an actual story. The words phrases were dull, the constant expressions were cheezy, and to top it off half the time I was literally forcing myself to read it. The only thing good about the book is the cover, and it sort of seems cliche in a sense. Vampires like 'gothic' atmospheres ok we get it, I didnt like it and I usually love most vampire books. If you want a good book about a vampire academy, read Vampire Knight its a manga/graphic novel but even there the writing is better -_-.

    19 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    Couldn't get into it

    I didn't like it as much as I expected I would. I thought it was going to be really good, it sure sounded like it, but in all honesty I couldn't get through it. I read the first few chapters and had to give up on it.

    8 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    Frankly, I was dissapointed with this book. Though many of the concepts in it are original ones, but they aren't fleshed out enough to make this a truly engaging book.. The story itself drags on at the occasional interesting or good point, it just deflates. Its characters are bland, uninteresting, and stereotypical. Overall? This is just another one of those trashy teen-orientated books. The children's section has much better selections... though, unfortunately, it seems that vampire stories are quite a rarity there.

    6 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2008

    IDK???

    I started reading yesterday and am on page 200 something, so far... I don't like it! It is really boring. I really love any type of vampire book, this one disappointed me , but I guess I'll finish it.

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Beginner

    Just started this book and its very interesting. Rose has a lot of bad language though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    Pardon My French, But...

    Where, oh where, to start? I read the reviews prior to the book and hoped that it would be just as good as the description and promising reviews said. I set my expectations a little high.

    The plot was...disturbing.

    WARNING: SPOILERS! No, it's not because of the relationship between Dimitri & Rose (I actually thought that was cute, & age doesn't matter & blah blah blah...), but how easily Victor(?) disposed of his own daughter (Natalie). What kind of sick father is he? Literally! The author treated death as if it were something to joke about. Well, actually, maybe it is in the world she created...

    I also did not like the author's writing style. Primarily because of a load of unnecessary swear words, which made Rose seem more like an unreasonable, angry dhampir.

    Although, the book does have a couple redeeming qualities: the cover was pretty and I learned the difference between secondary and primary sources.

    The verdict: borrow the book from your local library, read it, throw it at a wall when Rose annoys the crap out of you, return said book & carry on with life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2009

    NOT THE BEST BOOK

    At first it was interesting and then when I got to the middle it just got really boring. The summary of the book was intreresting, but when I started reading I got bored and stopped reading it. Now I'm reading a different book and it is way better than this one.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    Eh.

    This book didn't compare to Twilight in any shape or form. Definitally not something I would come near to reccomending over the Twilight series.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    not what I was expecting

    I had a hard time reading this. It just didn't appeal to me. Honestly it was better to just watch the movie. I was hoping for so much more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Zane's bio

    Name:Zane Teshu. Age:17. Gender:Male. Species:Human (Yup. Normal.) Personality:Nice but can get co<_>cky. And mean. Description:Usually wears a black shirt and black jeans or shorts. He has a nice smile. His skin is a little bit tanned and without a blemish. He is 5'11. He has short blond hair and piercing blue eyes. History:I just wander from place to place. I also have a tiny nine-tailed fox that follows me around. He protects me from evil and unwanted things. He is orange with his tails tipped white. The small fox can turn big at will. That is all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    This book has a great plot line, but it is unprofessional. I do

    This book has a great plot line, but it is unprofessional. I do not understand how this book sold so well with all of its clear grammer and spelling errors. I want to go through this book and edit all of the mistakes. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Woww

    This is ok i donr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    boring

    I'm half way through it and it moves very slow. I'm a little bored with it and probably will not bother with the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    TO whom may concern: here my review on vampire academy.

    To whom may concern: here my review on vampire academy. I feel it's no my type of story. best regard

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    I am a werewolf so i shouldnt read ir Werewolf crused i have

    I am a werewolf

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Really want to read it

    Nevser read it but it looks interesting!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Whatever

    I dont get what all the hype is about. It doesnt get interesting until the end. I read the 2nd one and felt the same. I definately dont think its AMAZING. It is rather BORING. Way too much money. No comparison to Twilight. Ive read much beter books for much less $

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    A Bit Like Buffy the Vampire Slayer

    I found this book had a fun plot that could basically satisfy the tween age group, but it is not written for the older age group. The book was written as if a child wrote it. The writing has no depth and things are not really described well overall. This book was lacking enough detail for me to really get into. The character's are a bit two dimensional. The main character was not likable and I didn't like the whole "lets make vampires like witches" thing - sorry vampiers! Although, there were many action scenes to keep readers at the edge of their seats, these parts were not written well enough to envision each move. I only got through this book, because I never stop reading a book half way. I found this book to be a little like Buffy the Vampire Slayer. The concept was fun, but nothing really wowed me. If you must read, get it from your local library.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    only ok

    this book is so SLOW. i mean rose is supposed to be proctecting lissa but thats really the only thing that happens in this book. its just so plain and boring, the only not-so-boring thing is when animals turn up dead. a whiny little mia cant get over herself, and lissa gets kidnapped at the end. other than the dead animals and rose and dimitiri getting hot n heavy, im sorry but this book sucks! if you really want a good read, house of night series is a def. good choice!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2008

    It wasn't so good.

    If you're into books with romances like Twilight, The House of Night or Vampire Academy.. Then this isn't the book for you. It would just get you bored and wishing you never picked up the book. I've read good Vampire books and this one is by far not a good one to read. I recommend this book to younger kids who just picked up their first chapter book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3