Customer Reviews for

The Vampire Armand (Vampire Chronicles Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 245 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(114)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of the best books you will read...

This book is so original. I remember reading it when I was younger. It really can be very shocking at first, but I promise it will not disappoint you. Ultimately,it's very moving and gives you a different perspective on life, religion and cultures/traditions that preced...
This book is so original. I remember reading it when I was younger. It really can be very shocking at first, but I promise it will not disappoint you. Ultimately,it's very moving and gives you a different perspective on life, religion and cultures/traditions that precede our time, our culture. I really enjoyed it. I can't tell you how many times I have read this book.

posted by mgc02 on July 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Oh god Lestat, Please wake up...

I am wildly enthusiastic about The Vampire Chronicles... I read the first five books at record speeds (even the Body Thief which was probably the worse out of the first five). I literally plowed through those books, then I hit the barricade which is The Vampire Armand.<...
I am wildly enthusiastic about The Vampire Chronicles... I read the first five books at record speeds (even the Body Thief which was probably the worse out of the first five). I literally plowed through those books, then I hit the barricade which is The Vampire Armand.

Now, I don't mind all the homosexuality in these books as I am not homophobic, but I draw the line when Marius gives oral sex to Armand when he was just a bit older than a child. This semi-pedophilia theme goes on all throughout the beginning in great detail and it makes the book difficult to read.

Not to mention Armand is just a boring storyteller who hits on David Talbot a bit too much for an asexual immortal.

Buy it if you're a hardcore Vamp Chronicles reader only! Or maybe for your collection. The only thing that pushed me to finish was that I have to read everything I start... hopefully Merrick is better...

posted by 634199 on December 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 245 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    Oh god Lestat, Please wake up...

    I am wildly enthusiastic about The Vampire Chronicles... I read the first five books at record speeds (even the Body Thief which was probably the worse out of the first five). I literally plowed through those books, then I hit the barricade which is The Vampire Armand.<BR/><BR/>Now, I don't mind all the homosexuality in these books as I am not homophobic, but I draw the line when Marius gives oral sex to Armand when he was just a bit older than a child. This semi-pedophilia theme goes on all throughout the beginning in great detail and it makes the book difficult to read.<BR/><BR/>Not to mention Armand is just a boring storyteller who hits on David Talbot a bit too much for an asexual immortal.<BR/><BR/>Buy it if you're a hardcore Vamp Chronicles reader only! Or maybe for your collection. The only thing that pushed me to finish was that I have to read everything I start... hopefully Merrick is better...

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    One of the best books you will read...

    This book is so original. I remember reading it when I was younger. It really can be very shocking at first, but I promise it will not disappoint you. Ultimately,it's very moving and gives you a different perspective on life, religion and cultures/traditions that precede our time, our culture. I really enjoyed it. I can't tell you how many times I have read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Well

    It's a bit hard for me to say, but it's being a strugle to read it, i kind of like it, so I will just finish it because I already bought it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    .

    .

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    uhnmmm

    i liked it but boring at times.. i couldnt wait to finsh it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay but not that great.

    I first read this book about five years ago and found it hiding on my bookshelf yesterday. I sat down to read it and it was just hard for me to follow. Armand has an interesting story and I loved getting a look at it but... he was sort of a boring story teller. I found my mind wandering and it was hard for me to keep track of what was going on.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    the vampire armand

    In the book, 'The Vampire Armand,' by Anne Rice, the antagonist is Armand. He's curious so he is always asking questions and is always willing to learn. He always listens to Marius, except when it comes to his drinking problem. The other main character is Marius, Armand's master. Marius is very to himself and independent. Armand and Marius have a strong relationship. Armand is like a real person. You can relate to him because he deals with real situations, that some people deal with, when it comes to his relationship with Marius. We get to know these characters through dialog and through their actions. This book is fiction. In this book Anne Rice uses flashback. The whole book is about Armand telling David his story of how he became a vampire. Since Marius is the one that made Armand a vampire he is the one teaching Armand how to act. Marius tells Armand the way he views life. Marius think that immortals should have patience with mortals because the mortals are going to die and immortals won't die. The setting of this story is important because this book is just one of the books of the vampire chronicles. If the setting was different then it would be confusing at some points. Like the way this story starts out the setting is important because it deals with something that happened to Lestat before. There are other setting that aren't so important, like when they go around to feast. The point of view is important in this story. It is being told in first person. It would not be able to be done in any other way because it is Armand telling his story. Since Armand is the narrator telling us his story he is a reliable narrator. One thing that I really didn't like in in this book is that Anne Rice goes into too much detail with the clothes that they're wearing. Details are important but i don't think we need to know so much about the clothes. Other than that I really enjoyed the book. I do recommend it to other readers. It is a really intersting and good book to read. I do recommend to first read the book ' Interview With The Vampire' because it does talk about some things from that book. If you don't read that book first you might get a little confused. It also talks a little bit about the vampire Pandora, so you can read her book first, but its not so important that you'll be confused without it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Good Read

    The book was good but it was a slow read. I'm not sure what the point to the story was it seemed to lean toward being a good person with all but one person chagning their views on life. kinda weird.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Boring !

    I ran out of steam by the time I got to this book. I just couldn't get into this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I liked this book very much.It transported you through time and space.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Awesome

    I freakin love it, im completly over lestat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous book. Great addition to the seriers.

    A beautiful historical fiction that is well worth reading and is well writen. Some is a little dull if you have read the whole series, but still it is a must read to enjoy the full series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Vampire Armand, the Vampire Chronicles, Book 6

    Coming soon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    You have to read this book.

    This book tells the other side of Armand. It tells us the side that we all want to hear about. It's not always about Lestat, though he is also an amazing character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    Boring - 0 stars

    Boring and disappointing. All of her male vampire characters have flamboyant homosexual traits and tendancies.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2007

    Vampires Rule.

    This was the first Rice book I read and I'm so glad I actually picked it up at the library! This is an awesome read, any vampire-enthusiast's MUST HAVE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2006

    wonderful

    This was the first of the Vampire Chronicles I'd ever read and I found it to be enchanting. The characters are exquisite and seem so real. It mesmerized me, every word is perfect. It is an emotional piece and full of history. I loved it and so will you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2006

    Armand is enchanting

    For some reason, Armand was the first of Anne Rice's Vampire Chronicles that I read. I just saw it in a book store and bought it. Boy, was I glad I did. Armand is an enchanting story, with unbelievable imagery. Anne Rice brings Armand to life. Excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2005

    I love anne rice

    I love anne rice she is a very talanted author and this is one of my favorite books from the vampire chronicles. Probably because I fell in love with his character from when he was introduced in interview with the vampire. I just love his relationship with marius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 245 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13