Customer Reviews for

Shadow Souls (Vampire Diaries: The Return Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 1002 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(592)

4 Star

(197)

3 Star

(104)

2 Star

(57)

1 Star

(52)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Best in the Series!

I have got to say that after the first part of nightfall i wasn't too sure i wanted to read the next but i decided to give it a shot and see what happened next. I could not put it down! There were some parts where the details of a certain unimportant thing was dragged o...
I have got to say that after the first part of nightfall i wasn't too sure i wanted to read the next but i decided to give it a shot and see what happened next. I could not put it down! There were some parts where the details of a certain unimportant thing was dragged on but it was so worth it! The Damon-Elena story was wonderful! And the ending was unexpected and left me anticipating the next book! Great read for the fans of The Vampire Diaries series!

posted by SusieD on April 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I didn't like The Return: Nightfall and The Return: Shadow Souls was even worse. It seems as though the author just wrote the books due to the success of the excellent TV show and didn't care about developing a good story. Shadow Souls dragged on and was boring. I th...
I didn't like The Return: Nightfall and The Return: Shadow Souls was even worse. It seems as though the author just wrote the books due to the success of the excellent TV show and didn't care about developing a good story. Shadow Souls dragged on and was boring. I thought the writing was a bit hard to follow at times and almost gave up on the book, only following through so I can end the series. I would not recommend either book in "The Return" series.

posted by Heather_CJ on April 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    Finished too fast

    I loved the book, though I have to confess that I was a little confused at times. Some of the things they were talking about just didn't make sense to me. I don't know if I was the only one with that problem. But I loved the development of the relationship between Damon and Elena. It made me really anxious to see how the series is going to end. I really don't know if Elena will pick Stefan or Damon. And I really can't say who I'm pulling for. I just know it's going to be heart wrenching because one of the Salvatore's is going to get his heart crushed and I can't stand to think of which one it will be. I'm really trying to figure out how Smith is going to give this one a happy ending, but I can't see it. I think Smith has done a great job in developing the love triangle. I don't think the love triangle really existed until this book. Other things I loved about this book includes Damon's "charming" attitude, he cracks me up, and the setting of the story. It was really intriguing how Smith envisioned that completely eerie "world" and made me feel like I was there. Overall I would definitely recommend this book. While it wasn't perfect, it was certainly entertaining, and hard to put down.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Anonymous116

    I love The Vampire Diaries book series and would definetly reccomend it to anyone who's a fan of the books and show . It's full of mystery,love,and tons of drama ! But it all depends on which side you're on ,whether its team Delena or Stelena and I'm personaly Team Stelena , but as I read the last book I found myself being Team Elena , because she ultimately has to make her chose of who she wants to spend forever with . And I know that shes had her ups and downs when it comes to choosing who she really wants to be with , from going back and forth with guys,making mistakes, again and again , but she grows up throughout the books with all the responsibility that she has to protect her friends along with everyone that she cares about. And the way it all turns out is what made me choose team Elena !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Had fun reading this series and this installment didn't disapoint to much!

    This book was a-lot slower than the others ,not that their's no excitment,but because there are more details ,such as the author desribes Elena,Bonnie,and Meradeths dresses when they go to the party's to find the fox keys to save Stefan.This book is mostly all about finding Stefan,freeing him and bringing him home.Damon and Elena get a-lot closer,to the point were I believe Elena has feelings for Damon too.I don't want to give to much away,but the girls end up being Damon's slaves to get in to the place they need to be to free Stefan.My favorite parts are when Elena had to get whipped on the back and Damon channeled the pain were he would feel it ,but it was Elena's blood fallen to the ground.At the end[and i think this is funny]<spoiler>Damon is human and is very unhappy about it.We'll have to wait untill the next book to see how he deals with humanity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    Loved It!!

    I really adore the vampire diaries...it was a great continuance from the last book. I love this series!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I thought it was good but not amazing

    It was a good book and i really got attached to Damon but i thougth at some parts it was a little dragged on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    This book was Edgy

    I knew i would like this book since i have read all the others in this series. This book i think was the best out of all of them. It was filled with such emotion and challenges for all the characters. And theres more to the characters than they it may seem. I just wish Damien could find true love too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Vampire Diaries The Return: Shadow Souls is a great read and will keep you on the edge of your seat till the end

    This is a great book! However there were somethings that were just so unreal that I had to reread the section. This series is truely one of the best and is a really easy reread even though it is kind of long.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    Much better than the earlier books.

    The tenor of this book is closest to that of the TV show, which also makes it more readable. I'm not a fan of weepy heroine who cry over everything, but the pace is quick and Damon is a great character. I liked the reference to Camelot at the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Vampire Diaries

    I really liked this series, although it is very similiar to 'Twilight'. Then again they are both about vampires so I guess it's the same topic. Kind of hard to differentiate. Also, we never get to learn why Katherine and Elena look so much alike, except for a very brief explanation that they may be related.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Cant wait to read it

    Is this a good book...??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Who does Caroline ends up with

    Please I need to know!!! Team Klaroline forever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Quill

    He pants and then races off after a deer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Anonymous

    SPOILER BE WARNED: I wanted Damon and Elena together so bad. I love Stefan, its just I felt like Elena was better for Damon, and Damon better for Elena. Stefan is so sweet, he could end up with anyone. Elena was special to Damon, no one could replace her. I loved the storyline though, I was happy with the ending but what about DELENA</3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    CRAZY PEOPLE

    I think that all people who dislike this series are all out of their mind. If you don't have something nice to say, don't say anything at all. They may have asked for your review, but they wanted a good opinion and L.J Smith is a very good writer and she deserves a little respect. The mystery, the super-natural, the love, and the adventure mixed into one makes this series the best. And i personaly hope Elena picks Damon. Stefan is a jerk in the tv series after what happened with Niclaus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    <3

    Amazing!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    What

    I think this book was great and for those who say it was confusing you need to reread the book to get a better understanding. (Im not finished yet .) This book repeated ot self a few times but over all it was fantastic .i cant wait to read the next one !!!!;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Monica Wilson

    This book is really good l am reading all the others so far so good. Really happy l have this no more library fines!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    highly recommended-i loved this book and you will too if you like vampire writing

    i loved this book. even though it is a long book it keeps you reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    read this book-there is more to stefan's story!

    this takes place after the first book and also shows the beginings of the bitter on and off feud between the brothers after they lost katherine,their father died hating them,and being run out of mystic falls and starting over as vampires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11