BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Vampire Dimitri (Regency Draculia Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Thoroughly Enjoyed this Novel

    I had a wonderful time with this story. It doesn't happen all that often that I am anticipating what is going to happen next in a story. This was one of those times, I wanted to stay up all night reading it and finally had to put it down at 2:00am (and then finished it first thing in the morning). I even caught butterflies in my stomach at one point!

    Pros:

    - I loved the Beauty and the Beast spin to the story, I'm not sure how I didn't catch it before the fairy tale was mentioned. But it was a marvelous inclusion.
    - Maia was such an incredible character. I loved her tenacity and stubbornness. She always had an opinion about everything and was never cowed by a more dominant personality.
    - No matter how stubborn, or dimwitted Dimitri seemed to be, he had such a heartbreaking story that the book really had you on his side for the entire story. Anticipating his realization, AT LONG LAST, that he was actually in love with the heroine.
    - The world building was phenomenal, the book really brought you along for the ride and left you dreaming about their characters and world all night.
    - The love scenes were tasteful. It completely ruins a book for me if there is vulgar, unnecessary erotica added to it, Gleason did a great job of having a love scene without allowing it to become too flamboyant and crass.
    -I also liked the way that Gleason portrayed the Dracule. While they all actually did make a deal with the devil, it still remained that some were evil while some were good, maintaining the ideal that the same is true for any species.

    Cons:

    - There were a few mistakes when it came to historical accuracy; i.e. Dimitri has dark skin from a Romanian mother (which unfortunately was looked down on at the time), as well as the fact that Maia has kissed multiple men...now I didn't grow up in that era but from what I understand, kissing was a major taboo and I find it difficult to believe that a young woman would kiss 5 different men so frequently in that time period.


    I really grew to care about all of the secondary characters as well as the primary. This book was a joy to read and I look forward to reading the first and third books in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Historical Paranormal at it's Best

    At first I was a bit disappointed, because the first third of the book was essentially a retelling of The Vampire Voss, I thought. I then realized it was told from Maia's point of view and she went from the bossy little know it all to someone who was desperately trying to hold her family together. I loved seeing Maia fight her feelings for Dimitri all the while realizing that he was indeed a vampire. There were several times that Gleason had me laughing out loud at Maia trying to come to terms with it. Gleason has done it again, built a world in Regency London that is totally captivating. I love historical paranormals and though this series isn't quite as fascinating as Gleason's "Gardella" books (which if you have not read is well worth your time), I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good if you need some vampire to spice up your Regency

    The Earl of Corvindale has painstakingly kept his life as a vampire very secret - and his heart even more heavily guarded. When Chas Woodmore leaves the Earl with the distasteful task of watching over his sisters, Dimitri has to juggle expectations of escorting these ladies about town with his desperate search to rid himself of this bloodthirsty curse. It seems the feelings are mutual since Maia Woodmore feels that she is fully capable of handling society without a male guardianship. Will the headstrong, already betrothed Miss Woodmore be the death of Dimitri - or will she be the answer to breaking his curse?

    I have been on a romance kick lately, and I thought I'd try some historical paranormal out of curiosity. The Vampire Dimitri was a pretty decent read with ballgowns and tortured souls, but nothing that made me go over-the-moon. Good romantic tension, good action, good characters, interesting vampire politics - it just needed a little bit more special oomph to thoroughly ravish me over to the dark side. That said, I am still curious enough to check out the rest of the series to learn more about the other vampires.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    Good read from a sensational author

    3.5 stars

    The Vampire Dimitri was a good read from a sensational author. Though I feel that this series can't stand up to Gleason's Gardella's it is still an enjoyable read.
    However, the first half of this novel I could of skipped with the exception of maybe two scenes. I would of thought that The Vampire Dimitri, being the second novel in the Regency Draculia series, would of started off after the events in The Vampire Voss but the first 150+ pages was a recounting of that first book from the two main characters, Maia and Dimitri, point of view. In The Vampire Voss, there were numerous scenes from their POV, so it was a bit redundant to go into it again here.
    Once you get past that and into the second half of the novel though, it starts getting good.
    I loved the main characters here, Dimitri and Maia. Dimitri has been searching for a way to break his convent with Lucifer from almost the very beginning and he utilizes all his time and resources for this purpose, leaving very little to socialize or leave his study - period. And because of the circumstances surrounding his pact with the devil he is wary to trust others, especially women. His loyalty, strength and sense of right & wrong though really made me admire him.
    Maia is a strong, spunky, take-charge woman who sometimes got to be a bit long winded but entertaining. I really liked these two's dialogues with each other, their back & forth, and the determinedness to do the right thing for those they care for despite the loss to themselves. Their relationship and romance was a bit slow going but it's always nice to take a break from the hot & heaviness found in a lot of the romance genres.
    The writing and world building was fantastic, just what I expect from Colleen Gleason. If it weren't for my issues with the first half of the novel The Vampire Dimitri would have had a higher rating. Overall though it was a good read and I look forward to the next in the series. This one hinted at a possible love triangle in The Vampire Narcise, which I am a sucker for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The second Regency Dracula romantic fantasy is an exciting tale

    Charles Woodmore vanishes leaving his sisters to seek help from their guardian, Dimitri the Earl of Corvindale. However, Dimitri is irate with the demanding tone of the note Charles' sister Maia sends to him. He wishes they would be like all the females of the London aristocracy and just attend balls as simpering females. Instead the sisters interfere with Dimitri's plan to rescue Chas as their ringleader Maia is foolishly brave; she finds her guardian arrogant and aloof.

    However, Dimitri knows he wants his mortal houseguest, but is elated she is to marry someone else. Maia is appalled that she is attracted to Dimitri when she is betrothed to someone else. As their desire grows, Dimitri realizes Maia is in peril, but he cannot get her to back off so he must keep her safe.

    The second Regency Dracula romantic fantasy (see The Vampire Voss) is an exciting tale due to the changing relationship between the lead pair. The story line is at its best when the plot remains in tense 1804 London; when the tale looks back too frequently, some of the "current day" tautness is lost although in fairness those flashbacks enhance the Gleason vampire mythos. Readers will enjoy this entertaining thriller as the market price for love is a soul.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    I love stories where the prim and proper, and slightly annoying

    I love stories where the prim and proper, and slightly annoying Miss, gets under the skin of the cool, aloof lord with a deep, dark secret! Maia is the sister of vampire hunter Chas Woodmore. While he's off trying not to get killed by nasty vampires, he has entrusted his sisters to the Earl of Corvindale for safe-keeping. Even though Corvindale is a vampire, he's been trying to break his ties to Lucifer for over a hundred years. He has denied his cravings for so long, but he has an instant attraction to Miss Woodmore that may lead to his undoing...or his redemption.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Historical and Kicking!

    This is the first book I've ever read that actually started out like the first book but in someone else's point of view. Its safe to say that anyone can read any part of the series without reading the first few books.

    I loved this better than Vampire Voss. I think it was the concept of the Beauty and the Beast that made it all the more intriguing. I really love all the love and hate relationship. Its so fun to read! Plus, Dimitri is waaaaay hotter than Voss. And Maia is waaaay better than Angelica. Haha, that didn't make much sense.

    Okay, so I kind of skipped some parts in this one because there was repeated conversations and events that was in the first book. That bit kind of put me off a bit. But when I continued reading on, I just couldn't stop reading.

    Another 5 stars to Colleen. I'm hesitant on reading Narcise. Mainly because I didn't like her much in the first two books. She just seems so "evil in disguise". BUT I'm looking forward to reading Colleens other work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Tension that keeps coming with each turn of the page...

    urned once by giving his all to a woman, Dimitri never wants to be so vulnerable again. Until Maia. Dimitri's own loyalty thrusts Maia right under his nose, as he suddenly has to fulfill his word to become her guardian when her brother becomes missing in action. By his own hand Dimitri has Maia's presence in his home, her warring words in his face, and her scent enveloping him. It's almost more than he can bare, and when Mais' bravery gets the best of her, she's down right irresistible. Gleason continues on with this new twist of the vampire world, but exceeds her first book with characters that keep the tension coming with each turn of the page. For readers who enjoy backtracking through the past (to catch every missed moment between a main character and their love interest in past books) this will be a winner all the way around. Gleason does this throughout the entire first half of the book, by taking the reader back through a lot of events that occurred throughout book one. Personally, I prefer that stuff in the form of flashbacks or "extras" on the authors website. *I received this eGalley free in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1