Customer Reviews for

Vampire Knight, Volume 1

Average Rating 5
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Series!

    I would Buy this series of manga 100 times for my kids! It Is a great Series!


    Story: Yuki's earliest memory is of a stormy night in winter, wherein she was attacked by a vampire... And then rescued by another. Now 10 years later, Yuki Cross, the adopted daughter of the headmaster of Cross Academy, has grown up and become a guardian of the vampire race, protecting her savior, Kaname, from discovery as he leads a group of vampires at the elite boarding school. But also at her side is Zero Kiryu, a childhood friend who's hatred for the creatures that destroyed everything he held dear, is now determined never to trust them. This coexisting arrangement seems all well and good, but have the vampires truly renounced their murderous ways, or is there a darker truth behind their actions. Is Kaname's infatuation with Yuki the beginning of a forbidden romance, or is it something in her forgotten past that draws him to her. Because in this world of secrets, nothing is as it seems. And the price of misplaced trust may even be worse than death.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    This book is awsome!!!!!!

    I LOVE LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!! But I have a question, is there a anime or something like a tv show about this series? This is kinda sad but I'm, like, addicted to this series. But my mom won't get me all the books at once. So I'll read one book until I know every single line until I get a new one.
    P.S: If you like this seies try Black Butler. It's really good.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Twilight of mangas!

    It is really like Twilight in the sence that there is a vampire that does not want to hurt people and the fact that he is appalled by himself when he drinks the blood of his best friend. I imagine that it would be a tough life.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    THE BEST MANGA SERIES EVER!!

    This is one of the best mangas I have ever read. The first book is great, but the second book made me obsessed. I can't wait for the 6th book!! The art work is so beautiful too, you can tell that Matsuri Hino wanted to make it perfect. Also the best character is hands down: Zero Kiryu, I love him. Every one must read this book they will be addicted too. Thank you Matsuri Hino for this Wonderful Manga Series!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2007

    WOW! FABULOUS!

    this manga is one of the best. i love vampires and stories about them and so i was so afraid that this would be terrible like so many of the vampire stories are but it was great. aido, yuki, and zero are my favorites. i recommend it to all who love vampire stories and to all who like manga.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    Me and my friends have this little manga reading club and they let me read this book and I absoultly fell in love with it! I can't wait till the others come out! I didn't want to give the book back to my friend, seriously.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Other animes you'll also like

    Black butler is one of my favorite series along with,vampire knight,rosario+vampire,and some others that i forgot but you should check out those series too :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Great

    Tjis book is awesome spolire: kaname senpai is yuki's sister and Zero is awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Omg! Best series ever!

    First of all, this series goes off with a bang! It is so suspensful and romantic. One of my favorite parts is when Zero flips over Kain and makes him fall on his head! So awsome! Another is when Zero bites Yuki! If you are a vampire maniac like I am, I recommened you to read these series! You will not be able to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    For a Vampire Lover like myself

    This book is the proluge of the beginning of a epic tale of a young girl who goes to Cross academy, the only thing is...she has to keep a secret.the night class is full of vampires and one of them she likes or is it love?One things for sure though Zero her "partner" is in love with her! you can tottlay tell. The only thing is does she love him back?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it, love it, love it!

    I love this series sooooo much. The way it's written/drawn is amazing. The only thing that might offset readers is the fact it's read from right to left, not left to right. If you enjoyed this book in the least bit, go on to the other ones in the series. It only gets better from here. Also, if you like the books, go to Google and find a site where you can watch the anime. It is just as good, if not better than the manga. Happy reading :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Zero!

    Vampire Knight is the most amazing manga, my absolute favorite. It is dark and mysterious. Great storyline and plot. So far there are eight released here in the US and the story only gets better with each installment released. Vampires mixed with humans at Cross Academy, only the humans have no idea why the night class, which is all vampires, go to class at night. There is an actual hierarchy among the vampires, a distinction between a good and a bad vampire! And of course the love triangle that leaves readers pulling thier hair out, poor Yuki! How will she ever choose, I cast my vote to Zero ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Yuki Cross

    Vampire knight is a love triangle, adventure story. Its about this girl Yuki who cant remember anything before she was 5. She was found on a snowing night by Kaname Kuran, a pureblood vampire who saves her from another vampire. Kaien Cross adopts her and a few years later takes in Zero Kiryu, who's family was killed by a pureblood vampire. Kaien Cross is the headmaster for Cross Academy. But Cross Academy has two classes. A day class for humans and a night class for vampires. Headmaster Cross believes in peace between vampire and humans, so its yuki and zero job to be the school's guardians and protect the night class's secret. This series is wonderful, and can easily become one of your favorite books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Vampire Knight is amazing

    this book is amazing! it's also the reason i'm so into manga now, i thank my boyfriend who insisted that i read at least one vampire knight book before writing off manga all together. this book is perfect for anyone who loved manga or vampires or both!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Welcome to Cross Academy

    Private school Cross Academy has two classes: the Day Class and the Night Class. It also has a big secret guarded by a select few. The Night Class is full of vampires. It is the job of the Disciplinary Committee (two students) to keep the Day Class away from the Night Class, which is difficult as vampires are inherently alluring. Yuki, half of the Discipinary Committee, was rescued from a vampire attack when she was a child, so she knows they are dangerous. However, her rescuer was also a vampire, so she is torn. Are vampires all monsters? Can a vampire be good? The first volume in this manga series is both beautifuly drawn and contains interesting characters. With plenty of action, drama and angst, this sereis should have an read-worthy arc.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the BEST EVER!!! *^_^*

    This is the very first manga I ever read, and it really is the best I've read since catching the manga-bug!!! The characters are awsome, complex and intriguing and the art is spectacular! A MUST for any vampire lovers out there!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    OMG. love this Manga

    OMG,OMG,OMG!I LOVE this book. If you like the saga twilight then you will fall in love with this Book. Vampires, Love triangles, Forbidin acts!!! It makes my head spin'in a good way' If you want action, love, drama, and Funny in one then you have to Read Vampire Knight!!!!!! ' * * O

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    BEST COMIC SERUES EVER!!!!

    The art in the book is amazing. Matsuri Hino put her heart and soul into the drawings. Not many other comics csn match. She also mad a amazing story. Zero is the best charater and Yuki is second best. I Love this book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    Vampire Knight Book One

    This book was so amazing.I couldn't put it down the very minute I began to reas it.The artwork and storyline amazed me.I can't wait to read book 2.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    THIS BOOK IS GREAT!!

    There is more to this book than just vampires and protecting the day class. This specific book introduces the characters to the reader. It also forshadows love triangles between human and vampires. The series itself is a real attention getter. It holds secrets, twists, and romance. If you are a reader who appreciates a good romatic, tragic, comedy, than i assure you this series is for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9