Customer Reviews for

The Vampire Lestat (Vampire Chronicles Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 473 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(325)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I Sometimes Think Lestat is Going Appear in the Room!

I highly recommend this series. I have read the first four novels (Interview, Lestat, Queen, and Body Thief). While "Interview" may not thrill the reader as much as future novels, once you delve into "The Vampire Lestat", you'll be hooked! Of the first four, "The Vam...
I highly recommend this series. I have read the first four novels (Interview, Lestat, Queen, and Body Thief). While "Interview" may not thrill the reader as much as future novels, once you delve into "The Vampire Lestat", you'll be hooked! Of the first four, "The Vampire Lestat" is my favorite. Every word is another heartbeat shared with Lestat. Rice creates a world and a creature so real, I swear one day Lestat will appear in the room while I'm reading.

Additionally, in comparison to the "Twilight" series, you'll find Rice's Vampire Chronicles to be written at a more advanced level, for a mature audience.

posted by E_Bennet on May 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Haven't even been able to finish it

I started reading this immediately after reading Interview With the Vampire, got less than 100 pages into it, and have read about 4 or 5 books since putting it down. To me, the writing just comes off as pretentious, though people who like it would probably hail its "ele...
I started reading this immediately after reading Interview With the Vampire, got less than 100 pages into it, and have read about 4 or 5 books since putting it down. To me, the writing just comes off as pretentious, though people who like it would probably hail its "elegant prose." Rice is a very talented writer, don't get me wrong, but I think her style just is not for me. Like I said in my review for Interview, I like to read for fun, and this is not, well, fun. There's also a decent amount of man love in the beginning part of this book, which I'm not too keen on reading about. I've got nothing against homosexuals, but just like I don't care for watching that in movies or tv shows (except for comedy), I'm not so into reading so much of it in a book.
Anyway, I've heard that later parts of the book are better from some people I trust, and I've heard that you really have to read both this and Queen of the Damned, plus a later book, Memnoch the Devil, is the best in the series, so I'll have to finish this eventually... I'm just not in a rush.

posted by NJ_Eric on August 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 474 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Sometimes Think Lestat is Going Appear in the Room!

    I highly recommend this series. I have read the first four novels (Interview, Lestat, Queen, and Body Thief). While "Interview" may not thrill the reader as much as future novels, once you delve into "The Vampire Lestat", you'll be hooked! Of the first four, "The Vampire Lestat" is my favorite. Every word is another heartbeat shared with Lestat. Rice creates a world and a creature so real, I swear one day Lestat will appear in the room while I'm reading.

    Additionally, in comparison to the "Twilight" series, you'll find Rice's Vampire Chronicles to be written at a more advanced level, for a mature audience.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Haven't even been able to finish it

    I started reading this immediately after reading Interview With the Vampire, got less than 100 pages into it, and have read about 4 or 5 books since putting it down. To me, the writing just comes off as pretentious, though people who like it would probably hail its "elegant prose." Rice is a very talented writer, don't get me wrong, but I think her style just is not for me. Like I said in my review for Interview, I like to read for fun, and this is not, well, fun. There's also a decent amount of man love in the beginning part of this book, which I'm not too keen on reading about. I've got nothing against homosexuals, but just like I don't care for watching that in movies or tv shows (except for comedy), I'm not so into reading so much of it in a book.
    Anyway, I've heard that later parts of the book are better from some people I trust, and I've heard that you really have to read both this and Queen of the Damned, plus a later book, Memnoch the Devil, is the best in the series, so I'll have to finish this eventually... I'm just not in a rush.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    Excellent Vampire book

    The story starts off a little slow, but picks up after Lestat starts telling his story. Before he was a vampire, he lived in a castle with his family in an area in France near Paris. Before he went to Paris, he hunted down 8 wolves that were killing sheep. It cost him his horse, his 2 beloved Mastiffs, and it nearly cost him his life. Then, a few months after he moved to Paris with his best friend Nick, a 700 year old vampire, who had never made a vampire before, named Magnus turns him into a vampire against Lestat's will. From there on out there are just too many adventures to go into detail about, but he eventually meets up with Louis and Claudia. This is an excellent book. I reccomend this book for anyone over the age of 13.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite By Far

    I am a huge fan of Anne Rice's Vampire Chronicles and The Vampire Lestat is my favorite of the series by far. Wherein the hero of Interview with the Vampire (Louis) is a bit on the "poor me" side, here anti-hero Lestat is a classic narcassist with overflowing ego that fully captures the reader's imagination and attention. Awakened in modern day New Orleans, Lestat goes on a quest to become a famous rock star - all the while relating the tale of his upbringing as a young noble in France and his eventual turn into a vampire. One of the best vampire books I've ever read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    They don't get much better than this. A rockstar vampire. This is one of my all time favorite books and I hope it becomes that for you too. Very interesting and exciting read. The movie Queen of the Damned combined this book and the next book, of the same name, and very much sucked compared to the two.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Good Book

    Lestat is my favorite character so I really enjoyed reading about his backstory. In my opinion it's the best one in the series. I recommened this book to anyone who likes vampire books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Listen up,

    Anne Rice is my aunt, and i respecr her. Her books are incrEDIBLE and arre very thought out. Since my uncle stan rice died, she wrote more and more and is very good at being a world famous author!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    awesome

    if you love lestat, then hearing his story will capitavate you. i 100% fell in love with him, for all of his flaws and all of his good qualities.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Read this book!

    I loved this book mainly because i love Lestat. This was the first book in the series that i read. DO NOT DO THAT, START FROM BOOK 1. I fell in love with it anyway. I liked some of the actors in Queen of the Damned but that movie was one of the worst book recreations ever. Always read the book before you see the movie. READ THIS BOOK!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Tedious

    After a rousing start, this book gets bogged down to a tedious middle section and a draggy end. Definitely will not press forward with the next book in this series. (Why was this a best-seller? Others must be more patient than I am!)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Read it, if only to keep the characters alive.

    Not as good as the first by far, but worth it. I continued on with the rest of the Chronicles and insist this one would make you loss out on the rest if skipped. A must read as crazy fiction goes. And good to know if you want to stop loathing Lestat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Lestat!!!!

    From the very first book my fav person was Lestat! This book is one of my favs of all time! The characters seem so real. When I was reading it, I felt like I was in another world!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Slow start but trust me you will want to hang in there

    I love this book. Plain and simple. I frequintly give copies of it as gifts. Highly recomended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Love this book

    When you read this book it want to be a vampire to with the power that they have

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Enthralled!

    If you read Interview with the Vampire you have to read the second in the series. Lestats story is sooo much more enthralling. I didnt want it to end. Now to see what Queen of the Damned has in store

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Great book

    Much more interesting and exciting than interview with the vampire!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    I love almost anything Ann Rice. She is the only author (so far)

    I love almost anything Ann Rice. She is the only author (so far) that could sucker me in to a vampire story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    One word CLASSIC.

    One word CLASSIC.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 474 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24