Customer Reviews for

Vampire Mine (Love at Stake Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 462 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(255)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Another Fangtastic Book!

Connor's inner turmoil comes to a head as he watches his friends one by one fall in love leaving him no choice but to throw himself into work. As the search for Casimir narrows down Connor is the first on the scene only to discover an impossible scene, an angel.

Mari...
Connor's inner turmoil comes to a head as he watches his friends one by one fall in love leaving him no choice but to throw himself into work. As the search for Casimir narrows down Connor is the first on the scene only to discover an impossible scene, an angel.

Marielle, truly an angel fallen from heaven, is exactly what Connor needs. He becomes her protector and as their time together passes they end up falling in love. Only Marielle's love comes with a choice, to remain on earth in her human body with Connor, or to return to her beloved home.

Lets Talk About It:

Let me start of by saying this is one of my must read series. As soon as the book comes out get it now must read type of series. One of two or three that fall into this category.

And it doesn't disappoint. Through out the series I've become very fond of each character introduced and Connor is no exception. So I was happy to see this book would be about him, knowing he would finally find someone to call his own, however, it wasn't just about him and Marielle.

One of the best things about Kerrelyn Sparks books is that it is full of plots. It's never just about the main characters falling in love. It continues on with the story set in previous books, weaves a new thread, introduces new characters and ends a chapter previous set in the series.

I have never been disappointed with any of the books in the series. Each book keeps getting better and better.

If you haven't picked up this book yet what are you waiting for? Trust me this one you don't want to miss!

Melissa
Reviewer for 1000 + Books to Read

posted by 1000-Plus-Books-to-Read on July 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Love at stake? Not so much...

I read How to Marry a Millionaire Vampire, the first book in this series, and absolutely loved it! The underground Vamp culture, abilities, and characters that were created in that first book were hilariously endearing.

Now I enter into the 10th installment of the L...
I read How to Marry a Millionaire Vampire, the first book in this series, and absolutely loved it! The underground Vamp culture, abilities, and characters that were created in that first book were hilariously endearing.

Now I enter into the 10th installment of the Love at Stake series and am reintroduced to Connor Buchanan. Connor is a vampire on the cusp of his 500th birthday and is going through what his friends are calling a mid-life crisis. Is he buying fancy cars and being a sugar daddy to countless 200 year old whipper snapper vampire women? No... Instead, he's wallowing in the sorrows and deeds of his long existence. He feels he is unworthy of anything good; he's convinced that he is bound to a shame/guilt filled un-life until he can finally die and take his earned place in Hell. Connor has no problems risking his neck in the name of duty and often disregards orders in order to place himself in dangerous situations.

It is during one of his defiant bouts that his path crosses with a severely wounded (but of course very beautiful) woman he believes to be a vampire severely wounded because she wanted to spare lives during an attack on humans just moments before. He decides that he must have her wounds tended so that he can question her on the events of the evening, so he gathers her in his arms - against her semi-conscious protests - and transports her to his home base. It is soon accidentally discovered that she is an angel of death, not a vampire, and Connor must transport and guard her until the Vamp organization can determine what should be done with her.

When the woman regains consciousness, we learn that her name is Marielle and that she is a rebellious deliverer of souls (aka angel) who has been swayed by her compassion one too many times. She was banished by the Heavenly Host for wanting to spare the lives of three children that were killed during the vampire attack that evening. De-winged and bleeding from the wounds inflicted during her conflict/banishment, all Marielle wants is to return to Heaven and to do so, she believes it is her duty to help Connor and his Vamp society protectors take down their #1 enemy.

And so begins their tale...

My overall impression is that it is a cute book, but probably not one that I would actively recommend...

I liked Connor and Marielle separately as well as together. Marielle's naivety surrounding the mortal world and the inner workings (including going to the bathroom) were cute and that made her endearing to me. Connor is a man's man who is sexy, brave, and flawed in a sexy "I-want-to-save-him" kind of way. My biggest complaint regarding Connor was his always present self doubt berating; I simply tired of hearing him say again and again that he's a "cold hearted bastard" and unworthy of peace, happiness, and love...

There were a lot of 'in between' moments in the story, where it felt like I was just waiting for something to happen, but nothing really did. The action that did take place, no matter the placement in the book/story, was quick to happen & move on, leaving me thinking, "that's it?" The true action of the story took place within the last 60'ish pages. All the build up between Connor and Marielle ended on an anti-climatic note that felt rushed and/or forced and eluded to an outcome that is so similar, if not identical, to the other couples employed by Romatech.

After finishing the book, I questioned if it was real

posted by ChambersGirl on April 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 255 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another Fangtastic Book!

    Connor's inner turmoil comes to a head as he watches his friends one by one fall in love leaving him no choice but to throw himself into work. As the search for Casimir narrows down Connor is the first on the scene only to discover an impossible scene, an angel.

    Marielle, truly an angel fallen from heaven, is exactly what Connor needs. He becomes her protector and as their time together passes they end up falling in love. Only Marielle's love comes with a choice, to remain on earth in her human body with Connor, or to return to her beloved home.

    Lets Talk About It:

    Let me start of by saying this is one of my must read series. As soon as the book comes out get it now must read type of series. One of two or three that fall into this category.

    And it doesn't disappoint. Through out the series I've become very fond of each character introduced and Connor is no exception. So I was happy to see this book would be about him, knowing he would finally find someone to call his own, however, it wasn't just about him and Marielle.

    One of the best things about Kerrelyn Sparks books is that it is full of plots. It's never just about the main characters falling in love. It continues on with the story set in previous books, weaves a new thread, introduces new characters and ends a chapter previous set in the series.

    I have never been disappointed with any of the books in the series. Each book keeps getting better and better.

    If you haven't picked up this book yet what are you waiting for? Trust me this one you don't want to miss!

    Melissa
    Reviewer for 1000 + Books to Read

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    Awesome Book! A MUST READ!

    I have enjoyed reading every book in this series. They make you laugh, love & cry. I have to admit when I read a little about this one I wasn't too excited about reading it. It seemed really out there. I know a vampire book sounding out there!

    But, once you start reading your hooked. I loved this book more the any of the last 9 or even the one after (which I just finished!). It was so worth it! And if you have read any of them... you might be like me waiting for Conner to be the one falling in love. Knowing it would be huge... And, it didn't disappoint! The revelations revealed are truly astounding!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 stars Nobody was a bigger fan of vampires than me several y

    4.5 stars

    Nobody was a bigger fan of vampires than me several years ago. Then Twilight got popular and I found myself dismayed with them. Vampire Mine was such a great read for me, though. I found myself taken away by Connor's complex world and the adversity he had to face not only with the Malcontents but with himself. I loved him as a character and could completely relate to his internal struggles. Marielle is so adorable, I found myself loving her, too. I love the both of them together. I will definitely read more from Kerrelyn Sparks. I recommend this book to fantasy and romance lovers alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Biteme

    Read this twice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I wasn't very sure about having Connor as the main character, bu

    I wasn't very sure about having Connor as the main character, but I have to say I LOVED his story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Great series!!!

    Great love story! Could not put down & went to next book, but don't read out of order. It gives spoilers for twists!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Angels, Demons and Vamps..Oh My!

    This is by far my favorite book in the series. I love how the author incorporates angel/demon lore into the story which makes things very interesting. The character development was great, and you learn new details about your favorite vamps. Sparks' use of humor and comic relief is one of her best assets in the series. Definately a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Great Read!

    The audio books in this series are well read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Omg, this story will leave u in tears. I loved every minute of it.

    this particular story had me by the pages and i couldnt put it down, and had me crying for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    fing loved it

    omg i so loved this book made me laugh,cry,and on my toes all at the same tome. i very much recomend reading it on nook or papaer back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Best of the series

    I loved this book. One of the best from this entire series. Cant wait for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Love it

    Two thumbs up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    MUST READ THIS SERIES

    This series is amazing. I couldn't put them down, from book 1! I loved them all and you start to really feel for these characters and wish them the best. Great series read them all!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Oh my, Yes a very good read

    I loved all the other books from this series and this one was just as good and just as steamy. I recomend reading the other books first then this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Awesome!

    this book i think is the funiest book she ever wrote i loved it its a different veiw from any thing she has ever writin' i think. angels n vampires who woulda guessed?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Love it

    This book wuz really good i liked it alot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    another Keeper. This is a favorite

    Vampire Mine by Kerrelyn Sparks is wickedly delightful. Another gem in this wonderful series.

    Connor Buchanan takes everything in his life seriously. He is approaching his 500 year and though things are going very well for him. Something is missing. Everyone around him is paring off with mates but Connor feels that marriage isn't in the cards for him. His rough and steeling façade is enough to make any woman pause before tangling with him.

    On a mission one night to catch their most wanted enemy he encounters a woman who is not from this earth. Connor feels honor bound to protect Marielle since she is in need of help.

    Marielle Quadriduum has pushed the boundaries of her duties as an angel. She just can't seem to follow orders to the letter, this last time she went to far and its banished to earth. Marielle is woefully unprepared for life on Earth and looks to Connor for help and protection. There is something about this strong and virile man that stirs feelings in Marielle that she never had felt before.

    Connor and Marielle must learn to put their faith and trust in each other. There are forces from the underworld that would do any trick to get them on their evil side. This will test their new found love to its limits.

    Vampire Mine is extraordinary. Both Connor and Marielle are strong willed and complex characters. Their attraction is fought at every turn until it becomes something that neither can ignore. Once they do give it its electric.

    I can't say enough good things about this series. Each book is as fresh and exciting to read as the first book. Looking forward to more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Highly Recommend this entire series.

    I love that each book hits on a new character from the previous books and still keeps us informed about what is happening in the lives of the other characters. This has made the series very addicting. I am hoping that Ms. Sparks will continue with this series. I can't seem to put these books down once I start reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    Wonderful!

    Another wonderful book in the Love at Stake series! Connor finally has turn for happily ever after!Could not put it down, stayed awake all night to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Series

    I love this series from the start. It's been a joy following each character as they fall in love and continue to fight for the humans their vowed to protect. The author has put humor in her books along with steamy love scenes. The female characters have spunk, sass, with a touch of stubborness I think which does not make them weak. These scottish men are strong, protective and very manly when it comes to their mates especially. Which makes them compatible to argue, fight and then make make...whew is that not HOTT!!! Yes I do love this author she is one of my top 10 authors!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 255 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13