Customer Reviews for

Vampire Mountain (Cirque Du Freak Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 233 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    Sink Your Teeth Into Climbing Vampire Mountain

    First off, this is the fourth book in the Cirque Du Freak series. So far from the five books I've read form this series, this is the most action-packed, and clever. It all starts when Darren and Mr. Creepsley prepare to partake on their horrific journey to Vampire Mountain. Darren was only 13 when he was turned into a half-vampire to become Mr.Creepsley, a full vampire's assistant.
    Hidden away in a snowy, barely accesible corner of the world stands Vampire Mountain, where vampires come to meet every 12 years. The council (as they call it) is controlled by Vampire Princes- who are obeyed by all vampires. Second in command are the Vampire Generals.
    Darren and Mr. Creepsley's long, pain staking, and dangerous journey there takes up about half the book, During that time, Darren learns of some terrifying news.
    When they arrive, Darren meets the princes and generals. There they decide Darren and Mr. Creepsley's fate, because Darren is far too young to have been blooded. They come to agreement to have Darren partake in three extremely difficult "vampire trials" to prove himself worthy. If he does not, then he will be sent to the Hall of Death and be killed.
    The plot is very twisted and will leave you wondering what is to happen next. If you enjoy adventure, alot of suspense, plot twsits, a quick-read, and you just like to read in general then I reccomend reading the Cirque Du Freak series and Cirque Du Freak: Vampire Mountain.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Worst of the series, but it is still a great book.

    This book feels like a 208 page transition. It is slower paced than the other 11 books, but still is a compelling read. Even with the slow pace, this book is worth the read. And the series only gets better after this. Bottom line: More blood and guts. More vampires. More Darren Shan.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2009

    AWESOME BOOK

    This series is an incredible series. My older brother recommended this to me and I've read the first book and now I'm up to number 4 it's so awesome and I've even heard they may make a movie out of the series I hope they do!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A great book.

    This book kept me entertained throughout the entire book my favorite chapter would have to be chapter nine when Darren runs into a infected bear and getting in a brawl with it. I think that Darren Shan used descriptive words and fully explained the story in his writing. I thought that this book was awesome and should be read by everyone that loves a great story. I think that the overall age group for this book would range between 11-16.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2009

    The Review

    I would recommend this book because it is very well writen. I would also recommend the rest of the series because there are tons of exciting twist.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2008

    Vampire Mountain

    Vampire Mountain by Darren Shan is an exhilarating book about a half-vampire who treks through scorching heat, rain, sleet, hail, and snow on his way to visit the Vampire Princes with Mr. Crepsley, and his friend Harkat soon to meet up with old friend Gavner Purl. The whole reason they go to Vampire Moutain is to relay a secret message about the Vampaneze taking over and wiping out the Vampire population. On his way to Vampire Mountain Darren encounters a dead Vampire, a dead Vampaneze, and gets in a huge brawl with an infected bear!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    The books that leave you wanting more

    This book is one of the beat book's of the serie's that really give's you a really good read. The book Cirque Du Freak has a great out look on a young man's life and how he may save thousand's of vampire's. This book seems like a part of myself. A person who is out on a quest but doe's not know were im going. the author really know's how to draw the reader into the book. I was always asking myself to stay up later into the night to just get one more chapter read so i wouldn't keep asking myself what's next day while I sat in class. The book is full of act's that make the reader think more and more about it. I highly recamend reading this book it has lot's of twist's and turn's just like a exploer looking for new places.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    Good volume. The manga series is not that bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    Liking Harkat more and more and the growing friendship between h

    Liking Harkat more and more and the growing friendship between him and Darren. One of my favorite aspects in the series. As the characters, pace etc. This one has Darren and co traveling to as the title suggests Vampire Mountain. Love the cliffhanger endings to these, really makes you want to read the next book right away. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    READ ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    One of my very best friends got me interested in this series.this book wuz the last one of this seris that i red.4 some odd reasin,i just LOST MY INTEREST.some ppl call me crazy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    ilovethemall

    I love every single book. But i do admit that it ended pretty equick but still

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    Vampire Mountain is a book by Darren Shan, and the fourth book i

    Vampire Mountain is a book by Darren Shan, and the fourth book in the series Cirque Du Freak. The book is full of horror, action, and suspense, with vampires and animals that they meet up with on their journey that will make you shudder. The book is about Darren Shan (the main character) facing harsh and dangerous challenges on his bare feet and with the help of Mr.Crepsley and the little people, but still with all the help it does not protect them from the dangers on the journey to vampire mountain. There are vampeneze people who will kill you if they see you and there is a wild bear that almost kills Darren and kills one of the little people and they go through all of this just to get to Vampire Mountain. Vampire Mountain is a place where they meet the vampire princes and generals and even Seba, the old teacher that taught Mr.Crepsley. At the end of the book it leaves you in shock that makes you want to read the fifth book of the Cirque Du Freak series. I would recommend this book to people between ages 12-18, just because of the gore, dialog and the language that they use in the story. This book is awesome, it can be a good book to anyone who likes action, horror, or suspense.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    I luv this series

    This book gives a whole new meaning to vampires and werewolves

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Gdh

    Magnifaacent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Anomina

    I loved this book when i was finshed i couldnt belive that there was a book that i loved because i am a very picky when it comes to books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    Darren was an average boy until he met Mr. Crepsley and was turn

    Darren was an average boy until he met Mr. Crepsley and was turned into a half vampire and became Mr. Crepsley's assistant. Every 12 years there is a council meeting inside vampire mountain and all vampire's attend. This is the first meeting since Darren has been turned into a half vampire. He must make the cruel journey to vampire mountain with Mr. Crepsley and two small people. One of the small people has a message for the vampire princes. To make it to the top of vampire mountain they must fight through the bad weather, search for food, and try to keep warm.
    I liked this book because it was very action packed and there was always a weird twist that kept the story going.
    I would recommend this book to anybody that likes book that are exciting and have lots of action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Lolah

    I luv dis bok iet is awesum mye mome gawt me a nook fore mye berfday i luv daron shon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Must read of the centry

    I love this series u have to read this series if u like vampires it is better than twilight darren shan is one of my fave authors this book is great for young adults who like adventure

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    must read for young adults

    excellent

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Good book

    This is a great book it is slower paced then the other ones but is great for any age loved it!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12