BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Vampire Next Door

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

To the delight of fans, Ashlyn Chase provides a wonderful romantic urban fantasy

Sly Flores the vampire misses his wife who died over two decades ago. Now a caring loner except for his daughter Merry, he patrols his neighborhood keeping it safe from crime. One night Sly intervenes when a mugger attacks a young woman. He takes a bite into the felo...
Sly Flores the vampire misses his wife who died over two decades ago. Now a caring loner except for his daughter Merry, he patrols his neighborhood keeping it safe from crime. One night Sly intervenes when a mugger attacks a young woman. He takes a bite into the felon only to chip a fang on the dude's sterling silver knockoff bling, which is poison to his kind.

He quickly races to the apartment of his friend Morgaine the psychic healer so that she can cure him of his illness. Morgaine loves Sly; she makes the elixir he needs. Meanwhile apartment 1b dubbed the "love shack" below that of Morgaine becomes vacant; so Merry plans to move her lonely dad in so that he and Morgaine can become an entry. At the same time that his offspring pulls his string, others plan to keep Sly and Morgaine apart.

To the delight of fans, Ashlyn Chase provides a wonderful romantic urban fantasy in which readers will believe that a vampire, a wiccan and other paranormal live next door. Sly is attracted to Morgaine but fails to act on it though she encourages the love of her life to do so; as do his daughter and other caring souls. The suspense enhances the romance between the vampire and the wiccan in the Chase universe.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Cute Read

An apartment building full of supernatural creatures is bound to be a riot. When one supernatural moves out it seems like another moves right in, and when they move into the "love shack" sparks are guaranteed to fly.

Morgaine seems to be an unlikely mate of a vampir...
An apartment building full of supernatural creatures is bound to be a riot. When one supernatural moves out it seems like another moves right in, and when they move into the "love shack" sparks are guaranteed to fly.

Morgaine seems to be an unlikely mate of a vampire with her agoraphobia (fear of public places or leaving safe places) and nyctophobia (fear of the dark). Therefore, when she fancies the owner of the building's vampire papa she is more than a bit confused. It could never work can it?

Morgaine seemed to be the glue that helps things together throughout the story. She definitely keeps her cousin Gwyneth in line, and even the other residents in the building seem to come to her with their problems. Sly was no exception to this, he could think of no one else to help him in his piling issues. She may have suffered a few phobias but she was definitely one of the strongest characters throughout the story. One thing I do regret is not getting to know more about her background story. I know she suffered years ago which caused her to not date for a long time; I would have just liked to have learned more about that incident.

Sly is everything but. There is nothing slick about a vampire. He is the kindest hearted and most genuine male in the building and story. I love that he refused to take handouts from others and is determined to figure out a way to do things himself. Especially with a daughter married to an athlete, he could have easily just let them take care of him. Moreover, he is somewhat of a tortured soul, with the tragic way he was forced to become a vampire and deal with the consequences for the rest of his life. Luckily, with Morgaine by his side he can find a little relief from his vampire vices as well as a little relief for his manly needs.

While I found the characters within this story entertaining, the plot was just a little on the dry side. I would like to have seen the plotline with Sly's maker drawn out a little longer and a more climactic. It seemed to end a little too easily. The wine/whiskey making was the plot that really carried the story for me. I was just as excited to see a good mixture as well as the characters in the story.

The characters, whether they are main or supporting, really drive this story. With entertaining supernatural creatures around every corner this story is a real hoot, growl, spell and whatever else supernatural creatures do.

Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

posted by LASR_Reviews on August 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    To the delight of fans, Ashlyn Chase provides a wonderful romantic urban fantasy

    Sly Flores the vampire misses his wife who died over two decades ago. Now a caring loner except for his daughter Merry, he patrols his neighborhood keeping it safe from crime. One night Sly intervenes when a mugger attacks a young woman. He takes a bite into the felon only to chip a fang on the dude's sterling silver knockoff bling, which is poison to his kind.

    He quickly races to the apartment of his friend Morgaine the psychic healer so that she can cure him of his illness. Morgaine loves Sly; she makes the elixir he needs. Meanwhile apartment 1b dubbed the "love shack" below that of Morgaine becomes vacant; so Merry plans to move her lonely dad in so that he and Morgaine can become an entry. At the same time that his offspring pulls his string, others plan to keep Sly and Morgaine apart.

    To the delight of fans, Ashlyn Chase provides a wonderful romantic urban fantasy in which readers will believe that a vampire, a wiccan and other paranormal live next door. Sly is attracted to Morgaine but fails to act on it though she encourages the love of her life to do so; as do his daughter and other caring souls. The suspense enhances the romance between the vampire and the wiccan in the Chase universe.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    I love this series! The only "negative" thing i have t

    I love this series! The only "negative" thing i have to say about the books is the fact that Gwyneth's so called "accent" & "slang" is ridiculous. I am a Southern girl (born & raised) & I can tell you first hand that Southerner's don't actually talk like that. For instance, the one thing that really bugs me is the use of the slang word "y'all". Yes, we DO use that word in the South BUT we use it in reference to more than one person; considering it's just a shortened & condensed version of "you all". But in this series Gwyneth uses it when speaking to one single person & quite frankly I have yet to come across anyone in the South that uses it that way.

    BUT all in all, I LOVE this book & the other two in this series. :) I will DEFINITELY be reading more books by Ashlyn Chase.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Loved this series

    Read the entire series and loved them. Good, solid light reads

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Read!

    I really enjoyed the series it's a lite hearted read the first 1# Strange Neighbors, and the 2# the Werewolf Upstairs. Then this one is the 3# The Vmpire Next Door, it was fun to read about this wacky building filled with crazy neighbors in the apartment. Magic beings and romance whats more fun then that!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Cute Read

    An apartment building full of supernatural creatures is bound to be a riot. When one supernatural moves out it seems like another moves right in, and when they move into the "love shack" sparks are guaranteed to fly.

    Morgaine seems to be an unlikely mate of a vampire with her agoraphobia (fear of public places or leaving safe places) and nyctophobia (fear of the dark). Therefore, when she fancies the owner of the building's vampire papa she is more than a bit confused. It could never work can it?

    Morgaine seemed to be the glue that helps things together throughout the story. She definitely keeps her cousin Gwyneth in line, and even the other residents in the building seem to come to her with their problems. Sly was no exception to this, he could think of no one else to help him in his piling issues. She may have suffered a few phobias but she was definitely one of the strongest characters throughout the story. One thing I do regret is not getting to know more about her background story. I know she suffered years ago which caused her to not date for a long time; I would have just liked to have learned more about that incident.

    Sly is everything but. There is nothing slick about a vampire. He is the kindest hearted and most genuine male in the building and story. I love that he refused to take handouts from others and is determined to figure out a way to do things himself. Especially with a daughter married to an athlete, he could have easily just let them take care of him. Moreover, he is somewhat of a tortured soul, with the tragic way he was forced to become a vampire and deal with the consequences for the rest of his life. Luckily, with Morgaine by his side he can find a little relief from his vampire vices as well as a little relief for his manly needs.

    While I found the characters within this story entertaining, the plot was just a little on the dry side. I would like to have seen the plotline with Sly's maker drawn out a little longer and a more climactic. It seemed to end a little too easily. The wine/whiskey making was the plot that really carried the story for me. I was just as excited to see a good mixture as well as the characters in the story.

    The characters, whether they are main or supporting, really drive this story. With entertaining supernatural creatures around every corner this story is a real hoot, growl, spell and whatever else supernatural creatures do.

    Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Very good

    Read this in one night after reading the sample. Its not a great classic but for anyone who likes romance,supernatural, and detailed bedroom scenes this is a book for you. Would highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    What's not to love about a Vamp & a Witch falling in love.

    Love the story and the residents of this apartment complex. Want to read more about this wacky group. Fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Chick-lit with a paranormal flavor this book was fun in an empty calories kind of way

    This book was cotton candy—light, fun and easily gobbled up but not particularly satisfying or complex; a cute read that melts away from memory almost as soon as it is finished. If you’re looking for something to do with an afternoon that doesn’t require thought but is a fluffy kind of entertainment than this book might just fit the bill. A straight-forward plot that solves the villain problem in a “might as well” kind of way, this book is full of quirky characters that are a bit one dimensional but amusing non-the-less. Chick-lit with a paranormal flavor this book was fun in an empty calories kind of way. I give this book a forgettable three stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Rating: 3.5 Heat Rating: 4 out of 5 The Vampire Next Door by As

    Rating: 3.5
    Heat Rating: 4 out of 5

    The Vampire Next Door by Ashlyn Chase is the third book in her unarguably jocular paranormal romance series, Strange Neighbors. This time it's Sly and Morgaine who get their stories told.

    I was really excited to finally get to read more about Sly. When we first learned his back-story in Strange Neighbors he captured my interest. I'm vamp girl after all LOL! Anyways, learning more about him was great. I found it excellent that he always thought of his daughter. He was completely devoted to her.

    Morgaine was always someone that I never paid attention to. She kinda paled in comparison to Gwyneth. Well, that was until her makeover in The Werewolf Upstairs. After that it was her turn to shine - and shine she did. She had some psychological issues that I thoroughly understood. I respected how she fought against them. That took a lot of strength. It made me proud to see her fight them to help her man.

    One thing that I will always remember about this book is the sex. Sly and Morgaine got it on a lot and that's all good as far as I'm concerned. While they had WAY MORE nookie than your typical PNR the explicitness was average. By average I don't mean it was without steam though. Those two definitely put off some heat! 

    There are a number of other great things about this story. Like the other books in this series, The Vampire Next Door was filled with lots of pop culture references and I loved that! I always smiled when I come across them. There was even an appearance of the famous American witch, Laurie Cabot. The setting for this book is Boston so there were a number of street names and places mentioned that the reader might recognize. Since I've been lost in the city a few times I certainly did *G*. Also, I found it quite ingenious that Chase managed to use Vampire Vintage in this story. That just happens to be the name of one of her Ellora's Cave titles.

    There was a side-story in this book concerning the new maintenance man and new neighbor. Though it was hilarious it got to be a little to much for me. There was merit to the characters however and if Chase were to adapt them and create a new story I would read it for sure.

    Another thing that brought this book down for me was the timing. I found that the story lagged at times and I was a bit bored. IMO, the story could have been condensed more at the end without harming the plot whatsoever.

    All in all The Vampire Next Door was an enjoyable read for me. It was a great ending to a wonderful series. I'm gonna miss that brownstone and all it's strange neighbors!

    Giggle-worthy Gwynisms

    Gwyneth is Morgaine's cousin. She's a total country gal and has a flair for words that always has me giggling. 

    -"What's got y'all madder than a bottle full of bees?"
    -"Well, snap my granny's garters!"
    -"Y'all are helpless as a Yankee at a grits-eatin' contest."
    -"Ya'll look like a pup that was left behind when the family went for a Sunday drive."

    Favorite Quote

    "You're amazing," she whispered hoarsely.

    He pushed back the hair from her face. "You too."

    "How? All I do is let you play me like a piano."

    He chuckled. "You've got a great keyboard."

    Cover comments

    I think this is my favorite cover of the three books in the series. It has Morgaine with the delightful swirlies coming from her hands. They give a whimsical feel to the book as well as signify Morgaine's magic. The coffin is great as it appears in a pivotal point in the story. I also love the bottle on the floor. It's a great detail. It even has a V on it for Vampire Vintage!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Great book

    Great book.This was the 3rd one.They were all great.Really enjoyed all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Confused

    I love this series and I am half way through with this one. I could not stop myself from stopping to write this review. In this book one of the witches is from the south. Everytime she refers to a person she says ya'll.... The word ya'll is for more than one person and is not used to replace the word you. I wish if the writer was going to have a southern character that she would have done her research and got it right... Sorry for the rant

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    recommend

    great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Not as good as I thought

    Good characters with interesting stories but with a lot of emotion that forced and it wasn't that funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    really enjoyed

    fun and funny, cant wait to read an other

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Great read

    I have read all of this series and have loved them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not good

    I enjoyed the first book in the series. I enjoyed the second a little less and this one not at all. Weak plot, too much 'blah, blah, blah' that I just had to skim over...in fact, when I think about it, I skimmed over 50% of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4