Customer Reviews for

The Vampire Shrink

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

GREAT VAMPIRE ROMANCE READ

With the Twilight phenomenon going on I am noticing many crazy Vampire Romance books on the shelves. I am a huge Vampire fan but it's been hard to find anything worth reading (Twilight series, J.R. Ward and Jeaniene Frost are some of the BEST). I saw this book by itself...
With the Twilight phenomenon going on I am noticing many crazy Vampire Romance books on the shelves. I am a huge Vampire fan but it's been hard to find anything worth reading (Twilight series, J.R. Ward and Jeaniene Frost are some of the BEST). I saw this book by itself on a shelf, it was the only one in the store, and I was drawn to the cover. I opened it and started to read the first page to get a feel for the author and her style of writing and I realized that I could not stop reading the book, I had to have it.

It was a GREAT vampire romance book. It's a fast read and the characters are to die for - literally. I just received the second book in this series and cannot wait for Lynda Hilburn to write more.

If you love Edward, the Brothers and/or Bones, you will want to meet Devereaux, he is HOT!"

posted by DravensMom on May 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Meh, it was ok.

It was ok. The female character in the book was well written, but her love interest falls short of a developed character. I also felt like the characters kind of ran in a circle of stupidity. How many times do you need to be attacked in your own home by something or ...
It was ok. The female character in the book was well written, but her love interest falls short of a developed character. I also felt like the characters kind of ran in a circle of stupidity. How many times do you need to be attacked in your own home by something or another that goes bump in the night before you realize "Hey, maybe I need to stick a little bit closer to my all-powerful-supposed-to-be-protecting-me vampire boyfriend." I don't know . . . just a thought. :)

posted by 2724876 on October 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    GREAT VAMPIRE ROMANCE READ

    With the Twilight phenomenon going on I am noticing many crazy Vampire Romance books on the shelves. I am a huge Vampire fan but it's been hard to find anything worth reading (Twilight series, J.R. Ward and Jeaniene Frost are some of the BEST). I saw this book by itself on a shelf, it was the only one in the store, and I was drawn to the cover. I opened it and started to read the first page to get a feel for the author and her style of writing and I realized that I could not stop reading the book, I had to have it.

    It was a GREAT vampire romance book. It's a fast read and the characters are to die for - literally. I just received the second book in this series and cannot wait for Lynda Hilburn to write more.

    If you love Edward, the Brothers and/or Bones, you will want to meet Devereaux, he is HOT!"

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Fun!

    Enjoyed reading this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    This is a well written and intuitively observed story here. It h

    This is a well written and intuitively observed story here. It has the right elements of chracterization, plot, dialogue, narrative and it is fast paced. It is certain to strike to chord with its target readership and even beyond; so promoting it is a good idea. I started reading these genres after reading The Verdict of Hades. But now, irrespective of the genre I am ardent about, I will always go for well-crafted stories that are enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I enjoyed this book. I liked the way she began with life going on as usual and then worked the vampires into it so skillfully that I hardly noticed. It was another page turner. I think anyone would like it who likes to read fantasy love stories. I would also recommend it for book club discussions. There is a lot to talk about in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    There are no other words to describe this book but, the word exc

    There are no other words to describe this book but, the word exceptional. Lynda writes in such a way, that I haven't seen before. It takes alot for me to open a book, so I was surprised by how much I liked it! My friend gave this to me to read, because she wanted me to get into Vampires. Surprise! Surprise I am now a vampire fan!! Kismet Knight,PhD , is a scientist smart girl that doesn't believe in the paranormal. She especially doesn't believe in vampires, so when she begins talking to this young girl "midnight" who can't stop talking about vampires. Kismet it is some strange fantasy the girl has made up to cover up other problems in her life, however Kismet soon begins to wise up and learns a thing or two when she meets a, very handsome man named Devereux who is an old man. (800 years old) BUT gorgeous!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Brilliant Vampires for mums!

    Kismet Knight,PhD , is a rational scientist who doesn't believe in the paranormal. She especially doesn't believe in vampires, so when she begins counselling Midnight a young girl who seems to be obsessed with vampires, Kismet just presumes it is some strange fantasy the girl has made up to cover up other problems in her life, however Kismet soon begins to wise up when she is introduced to a handsome (drop dead gorgeous, pardon the pun!) man named Devereux who claims to be 800 years old! Kismet doesn't buy into his vampire story, but she then also can't quite explain why she has such odd reactions and strange powerful feelings when he is near to her. Then another client introduced to Kismet by Midnight turns up almost completely drained of blood staggers into her waiting room and then two angry men force their way into her office, causing her to consider the possibility that she really has run afoul of a vampire mafia style underworld. Next to enter this ever increasingly strange reality is the handsome FBI profiler Alan Stevens, who warns her that vampires are indeed very real, and one is a murderer,......a murderer who is after her!


    I love, love, loved this book, I cannot recommend it enough, its vampires but not in the usual glittering, sugar coated teen way. This is Vampires for the mums! I truly would put this book as better than the Vampire Diaries and The True Blood Series. Part of me would love to see the book made into a tv programme, though I would want it to be totally accurate to the book, unlike some tv adaptations I could mention. Kismet is no young stupid girl, she's a common sense approach kind of woman who finds herself wandering deeper and deeper into this dark vampire underworld. Kismet ends up in a kind of love triangle, at the beginning of the book she has no male interest in her at all, then she ends up with the gorgeous, immortal, strong, magical Devereux (phwoooaaar) and the vampire obsessed FBI agent, Alan who isn't lacking in the looks department either (Hmmmmm). Kismet also has magical/spiritual gifts of her own that we only briefly explore maybe we will explore them more later in the series. YES there's more in this series.....I can hardly wait. The book is brilliantly written, the descriptions of the emotions so good you can almost feel what the characters are feeling. I would point out there are very mild sexual references in this book (probably no more than they will see on tv). I feel there is plenty of scope for more adventures for Kismet, Devereux and Alan. So to some up......go buy it/order it now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    Meh, it was ok.

    It was ok. The female character in the book was well written, but her love interest falls short of a developed character. I also felt like the characters kind of ran in a circle of stupidity. How many times do you need to be attacked in your own home by something or another that goes bump in the night before you realize "Hey, maybe I need to stick a little bit closer to my all-powerful-supposed-to-be-protecting-me vampire boyfriend." I don't know . . . just a thought. :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    I read downloaded this book to my Nook after reading a preview. The preview was good enough to make me buy the book. I thoroughly enjoyed the book and bought the second one in the series, Dark Harvest. I enjoyed it just as much. I look forward to the third installment in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read

    I have to say that is is a really good book. I picked it up not knowing anything about the author and it was a nice treat. I immediately ran out and got the second book after I finished the first. It's a romance, but it written very tasteful. I never contact an author, but I did contact this author to tell her how much I enjoyed her books and I couldn't wait for the 3rd book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    worth it

    It worth it. I really hope theirs more to this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    4 stars

    4 stars
    Worth Reading...
    Book 1 in the "Kismet Knight, Vampire Psychologist" series.
    This is a really good series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Ok, the Dev is a freaking hot vampire. This is no Bella and Edward story. Kismet is hard core and not stupid. If you are looking for a vampire book with enough kick a$$ this is the book for you. READ IT. Dev will love you forever. The author has a good writing style too. I read it in one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Awesome Read

    I read a book or two weekly and this book is one that I really enjoyed. The Mental Health Expert gets more than she asked for after advertising to help vampires in need of counseling.

    The story continues with a "can't put the book down" pace all the way through the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    OMG one of the best book's I have read in a long time can't wait

    OMG one of the best book's I have read in a long time can't wait for the third book Crimson Psyche. Hope it come out soon !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    2013 has only just started and yet I have already found a book

    2013 has only just started and yet I have already found a book that I believe will make my top reads of 2013! The Vampire Shrink was flat out amazing! I enjoyed this so much and I am so happy to report that! Lately the paranormal (urban fantasy) genre has been..meh for me, it's just a genre I can't get myself into lately, but Vampire Shrink completely flipped that around! If you're someone that loves vampires, a steamy romance, hot men, hilarious dialogue, and action then this is a book you need to pick up!

    Lets start off with the characters...I freakin loved each and every one of them! Very often when I read a book the characters will come off as sharing way too many personality traits, but not with Vampire Shrink! Everyone has their very own distinct personality, and I loved each of them! Even the bad guys in this novel I found myself liking just because their personalities differed SO much from everyone elses.(They were CRAZY!!)

    I don't even know if I should start on the romance...it was perfect. You have Alan who is the sweet, sexy, funny, FBI agent...then you have Devereux who is the old school, sexy, mysterious vampire that believes Kismet and him are soul mates. I just loved every second of the romance in this book, it had the perfect amount of everything, there weren't too many steamy scenes, there weren't too many over lovey scenes, everything just flowed so smoothly with the romance and I can definitely understand why Kismet is confused!

    Last but certainly not least I have to talk about the authors writing, it was another thing among many things that I loved. I flew through this book within (less than) 24 hours, anytime I could find a spare minute I was reading this book. Last night I was literally sitting in a Burger King drive threw with my car light on reading while I waiting for my food...seriously any minute I found to read more of the Vampire Shrink, I took! I did not want to put it down, I was so curious about what was going to happen and what was going on! The author wrote amazing characters, an amazing romance, and made the mystery very suspenseful! This is a book I really believe people will have a hard time putting down!

    Overall the Vampire Shrink is a book that any paranormal/urban fantasy lover should pick up! I have nothing bad to say about this book and I really just loved it, Lynda Hilburn has officially gained a new forever fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    Lynda Hilburn has one imagination, The Vampire Shrink was intens

    Lynda Hilburn has one imagination, The Vampire Shrink was intense, full of passion, drama, and adventure. There was never a dull moment reading this story. I couldn't get enough, after ever turn of the page there was something going on.

    Dr. Kismet Knight is a shy girl, not really good with relationships and follows the line of logic completely. Then Midnight shows up in her office claiming she hangs with Vampires and wants to become one herself, she fears this girls is completely delusional but lets her tell her stories of interacting with Vampires. Then she finds there is lots of people in Midnights same boat wanting to be Vampires and believing they are real, which Dr. Knight knows is so not true. She decides this is just the break she has been looking for and becomes a Vampire Therapist over night.

    Now Dr. Knight is receiving threats, murders are popping up all over Denver and she is having trouble distinguishing the difference between reality and fantasy. She fears she's lost it just as much as her own clients has. Especially with Mr. Devereoux and the hot FBI agent, Alan both believing in this same babel and here she finds herself acting completely different with two hot guys vying for her attention and she is at a complete loss of what she is doing anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Vampire love story

    Really enjoyed this story. Author did a great job with the characters. Story well written and funny in parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    This was a good read.

    Another love triangle with a vampire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    It was "okay"

    Wish it would have grabbed me like Twighlight, but it didn't. It was a good read, though.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    It was an interesting book to read. The first half was a great

    It was an interesting book to read. The first half was a great vampire story. The female lead was a sarcastic and imdependant woman who didnt have the best love life, something alot of women can relate to im sure. Sadly the male vampire had no personality and seemed really creepy to me because he always carries Kismet everywhere, She never really walks when they are together. Anyway, i wont spoil the book but the second half gets a bit weird and then nothing gets explained.

    All in all though i did enjoy the book and look forward to reading the next one. It was a fun book to read and it passed the time which was what i got it for and it did its job well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4