Customer Reviews for

Vampire Vacation

Average Rating 4
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Vivacious Vampire Vacation

I give this book 4 bats with tiaras out of 5 bats because it was a great read and always leaves you wanting more.

This little gem of a story has been a great find and read. I am one of those people that usually if a book doesn't interest me by the end of the first ch...
I give this book 4 bats with tiaras out of 5 bats because it was a great read and always leaves you wanting more.

This little gem of a story has been a great find and read. I am one of those people that usually if a book doesn't interest me by the end of the first chapter, it is doomed to have to work the rest of the book to hold my interest. Vampire Vacation on the other hand had my attention by the end of the little glossary of people in the front of the book. it makes you look twice when the description for one of the people is "the dead guy in the first chapter."

I would have to say that Jonathan is my favorite character. Gotta love the sexy werewolf with a heart of gold and a sense of humor that would make Loki proud. Plus he makes a hell of an exit, ;)

This book is a nice mix of mystery and a new look at a situation with vamps and weres. There's also a glimpse into how seethes and other parts of vampire lives in this world work.

If you are looking for a good read mixing mystery, paranormal,and erotica this is the book you should find.

I can't wait for the next one and a big part of me is hoping for a prequel to get all the details of Vivi's back story.

posted by Tiny_Reverse_Vampire on November 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Needs less sex and more plot. Adults only warning should apply.

This is an erotic, sexually explicit vampire novel, which sadly had a great premise with the creation of a vampire vacation resort. If the author had spent as much time creating a plot as she did erotic sex scenes she could have had a heroine to rival Kim Harrison's Ra...
This is an erotic, sexually explicit vampire novel, which sadly had a great premise with the creation of a vampire vacation resort. If the author had spent as much time creating a plot as she did erotic sex scenes she could have had a heroine to rival Kim Harrison's Rachel or Charlaine Harris' Sookie Stackhouse. Her heroine had the strength for it. It was painful to see such a great concept lost. I'm glad it was only 99 cents. Hopefully, the author will take her idea and rework it.

posted by TheDownloader on June 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 177 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Needs less sex and more plot. Adults only warning should apply.

    This is an erotic, sexually explicit vampire novel, which sadly had a great premise with the creation of a vampire vacation resort. If the author had spent as much time creating a plot as she did erotic sex scenes she could have had a heroine to rival Kim Harrison's Rachel or Charlaine Harris' Sookie Stackhouse. Her heroine had the strength for it. It was painful to see such a great concept lost. I'm glad it was only 99 cents. Hopefully, the author will take her idea and rework it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    Vivacious Vampire Vacation

    I give this book 4 bats with tiaras out of 5 bats because it was a great read and always leaves you wanting more.

    This little gem of a story has been a great find and read. I am one of those people that usually if a book doesn't interest me by the end of the first chapter, it is doomed to have to work the rest of the book to hold my interest. Vampire Vacation on the other hand had my attention by the end of the little glossary of people in the front of the book. it makes you look twice when the description for one of the people is "the dead guy in the first chapter."

    I would have to say that Jonathan is my favorite character. Gotta love the sexy werewolf with a heart of gold and a sense of humor that would make Loki proud. Plus he makes a hell of an exit, ;)

    This book is a nice mix of mystery and a new look at a situation with vamps and weres. There's also a glimpse into how seethes and other parts of vampire lives in this world work.

    If you are looking for a good read mixing mystery, paranormal,and erotica this is the book you should find.

    I can't wait for the next one and a big part of me is hoping for a prequel to get all the details of Vivi's back story.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    A mush read!!!

    The cover of the book caugh my attention first. This was a fun and interesting read. I love Viv and her human husband, Rafe. He truly understands and loves her. All of the characters were very interesting. Viv has a wonderful personality for a vampire. LOL I found myself laughing out loud with some of her thoughts and comments.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    An excellent series start! Must read!

    This is one of my top reads of the season so far.

    I really loved this story as it tells about a vampire/human couple who have been happily married for a long time. They run a vacation hotel where couple and their companions can play out some of their hidden fantasies. There is sizzling chemistry and some sex scenes with the husband/wife team ,but nothing over the top...after all with an Inn catering to fulfiling fantasies did you expect anything else?

    When a dead body is found in the in things start to go from bad to worse...a rogue vampire, not booked at the inn, is hunting and preying on other patrons. The innkeeper and her husband attempt to find the rogue, but he slips past them for a while. It comes down to our innkeeper contacting an old friend to find out this rogue has a connection to a guest. After things start to escalate they bring in outside help to track and kill this rogue. Let the hunt begin. With guest safety on the line, the innkeeper asks the guests to step up and help. They gladly do and things are finally coming under control. They help seek out the rogue and try to surround and trap him. I won't go much past here as it ruins the great finale awaiting in the end of this novel.

    I instantly feel in love with the innkeeper/master vampire Vivian, as she is called. She is funny, witty, a bit of a voyeur and exhibitionist, but has killer instincts I wouldn't want to come up against. She has many vampiric powers, she can sense your deepest thoughts and desires with just a touch, read your emotions, she's empathic and anyone she has a blood bond with is fiercely protected by her and her seethe. She can come unglued at times and almost goes to her dark side when provoked, but with the help of her human husband, Rafe (Rafael) she can calm down and gain her composure. She has put her dark past behind her and has run the Inn for more then 50 years, but when the rogue shows up she knows he's after her for what he claims she did to him to ruin his life.

    Rafe is a perfect match for Vivian, he's tall dark, handsome, quirky and has a very dirty mind. Noting of course that Vivian can't handle. With being her bonded mate, he doesn't age and with her blood he also gains some of her powers. This bond also provides one big benefit, they can communicate telepathically. This doesn't just mean words, they can transmit images or videos to one another. Rate is fiercely protective of Vivian, but he knows she can handle her own.

    I give this a 5. Its a great read and the story flows along perfectly. You get an in-depth look at Vivian and Rafe and get a good feel of all the other characters in this cleverly written story.

    Highly Recommended!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    I could get a mental picture of the Vivacious Vivianne she exudes sensuality not just from being a vamp but also from being a woman

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    I want more

    I loved it. I could't put it down. I want to read the next books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    Hilarious and original

    Quite the fun read with an engaging heroine and an interesting premise. Lots of spicy moments, may be a little too much at times, but still an enjoyable story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Good read

    The large sample definately lent to buying it.. good and sexy writing although a bit too far fetched at times its an indulgent read one is willing to forgive a few overdoneness bits for the delicious bits given up as well. Would recommend even if your not into vampires. Steamy!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Extremely good book

    I wasn't sure, at first, how much I'd like this book. Once I started it, it was hard to put down. Can't wait to get the others to download them.
    Funny, sexy, sarcastic...sometimes a little too graphic for my upbringing, but excellent writer!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Looking forward to the sequel!

    Just finished reading this one and I loved it! the main character, Vivian, is sexy and smart - everything a female vamp should be. I loved the relationship between her and her human husband, Rafe. It was totally different from all the normal human/vamp relationships that have saturated the market these days. Add to that some hot sex and a murder mystery, you can't go wrong. I've heard rumors of a sequel and I can't wait!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended -- It "turned" me into a vampire story fan.

    Before reading Vampire Vacation, my exposure to any kind of paranormal or vampire-related fiction was restricted to the late night Bela Lugosi and Lon Chaney movies I grew up watching and Twilight.

    I was hooked on this story from page one. Werewolves and vampires and sex, oh my.

    This book has it all - an interesting mix of characters, a mysterious murder, and habanero-hot sex. Some authors use sex scenes as the central focus of a story and some inject it gratuitiously. The sexual scenes in this story are woven masterfully into the plot and serve to enhance it.

    Vivian/Dria and her husband, Rafe, have a unique relationship. Despite having been together for hundreds of years, the sex is still exciting and *gasp* -- they communicate with each other. Verbally and through telepathy. After all these years together, they still like each other.

    Vivian has other interesting powers too. I shiver to think of the damage I could do with her power of persuasion! If my boyfriend tuned out my voice (like I know he routinely does), I'd simply get into his head where he couldn't avoid me. But I digress....

    The characters are well developed and the reader is able to become involved in the story through their thoughts and actions. As others have commented, I would have liked to have more background on Vivian, so I'm looking forward to the prequel.

    This story is captivating and a fun read. Given my limited exposure to vampires and werewolves, I would have expected the author to have made the story darker and closer to the horror genre, but she kept it just light enough to be entertaining without being too comedic.

    The fact that this was completely done in first person point of view is outstanding in itself.

    Considering how well this was written, it's hard to believe this is the author's first book. I can't wait for the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Highly Recommend this book!!

    I enjoyed reading Vampire Vacation, loved the chemistry between Vivian and Rafe. Trying to figure out who done it and all the other nuances between the characters in the book, It was a very enjoyable book from start to finish.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Great Characterizations

    I loved this story, read it in one sitting. The plot keeps moving, never getting dull and always keeping you guessing. There is a sexual and enjoyable tone to the whole story, but I loved the characters most of all. The relationship between Alexandria, the heroine, and her husband is adorable, funny, hot and, above all, real. They fight, they're fond of one another, they trust each other and together they are ready to take on anything!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    This book is FUN!

    I have fallen in Love with C J Ellison's wonderful world of Vampires and Werewolves. A murder mystery, a sexy love story, a strong female heroine all rolled into one awesome book. It is one of those books you just can't put down. Give it a nibble and you will devour it in a sitting. I am seriously looking forward to the second installment!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    This is NOT Twilight,

    So happy to have a vampire story for adults. This was a delightful read!!! A spicy, amuzing, captivating story....don't miss out....great way to escape reality for a bit! Thanks for a great story C.J.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    C. J. Ellisson books are a must read!!!! A great mix of characte

    C. J. Ellisson books are a must read!!!! A great mix of characters and the stories bring mystery, paranormal,and erotica!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved, loved, loved it!

    I was a little skeptical because I am always trying new authors and 75% of the time disappointed. But this was a pleasant suprise! Don't usually like so much erotic content but this was done so well. Just enough humor. The characters were really well thought out and brought to life. Hope to read much more from this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2011

    Love the story line Highly recommended this book

    Found this book to be truly interesting. Slightly diffrent take on vampires. Found this to be a quick read, kept me quessing. Looking forward to the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Great book!

    Vampire Vacation is a great book. Sexy and humorous, it kept me reading until the very end. I love Viv. She's definitely a vampire you don't want to mess with. Around the middle of the book the intrigue heightens and kept me riveted to the story until I finished it. I'm really looking forward to the nest installment, The Hunt.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    simple erotica.

    After 65 yrs of marriage, the persistant horneyness of Vivian and Rafe is a bit over the top. A little hygiene might be in order with all the anal sex. Their need for constant sex overshadows the story line. Enough is too much!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 177 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9