BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Vampire Voss

Average Rating 3
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

a dark historical romantic fantasy

In 1804 in London, the Woodmere sisters become concerned when their twenty-seven years old brother vampire hunter Chas vanishes. They turn to their guardian, the Earl of Corvindale, hoping he can find Chas who they fear is in trouble due to his hazardous occupation.
...
In 1804 in London, the Woodmere sisters become concerned when their twenty-seven years old brother vampire hunter Chas vanishes. They turn to their guardian, the Earl of Corvindale, hoping he can find Chas who they fear is in trouble due to his hazardous occupation.

Meanwhile Dracule Lord Voss Arden returns to England from the upstart colonies calling themselves the United States with news about Chas, who he believes abducted his sister. Voss has no heart as a minion of Lucifer. However, he is stunned when he meets one of the Woodmere sisters Angelica, who has the gift of sight. He wants her as she makes his blood boil. She feels the same way until she learns the nature of her beloved. Now she feels betrayed while each share a broken heart.

The Book of the Regency Dracula is a dark historical romantic fantasy starring two star-crossed wannabe lovers. Besides her brother never accepting a Vampire as suitable for any of his younger sisters, his species (and others) would never allow him to be with a human possessing the Gift. Readers will enjoy this new paranormal trilogy starring a seemingly Romeo and Juliet couple in Regency England. Colleen Gleason provides a respite for Victoria Gardella with The Vampires Voss' dangerous tale of forbidden love.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on March 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Interesting vampire lore, sympathetic characters, but no wow.

This is not your mother's romance book! Is there lust? Is there smex in it? Are people overcome with passion/love/weak knees? Yes to all of the above. But you get 89% through the book before the hero even gets to third base! This book was a romance novel in the strictes...
This is not your mother's romance book! Is there lust? Is there smex in it? Are people overcome with passion/love/weak knees? Yes to all of the above. But you get 89% through the book before the hero even gets to third base! This book was a romance novel in the strictest sense: it was about the relationship (not the sex). The story is written from five different viewpoints: Dimitri, Voss, Angelica, Maia, and Narcise. The book opens with Dimitri's POV, which was a bit confusing and I double checked a few times to make sure that I was reading the right book. The story then moves on to alternate mainly between Voss and Angelica; occasionally revisiting Dimitri and just a smidgen of Maia and Narcise thrown in. Gleason has taken an interesting slant on the vampire myth. The Devil approaches certain descendants of Vlad Tepes, and makes a deal with them in their dreams. Eternal life in exchange for joining his army during the final battle. Many believe that the dream is just that, merely a dream and agree to the bargain. Once they wake, the first thing they see will become their greatest weakness, his kryptonite if you will. It could be copper, rubies, pine needles, ink, anything. Each member of the draculia is also marked with a black root like mark on their back - representing their devil's bargain and the crack in their soul. Lucifer never mentions this, nor does he mention their new propensity for bursting into flames in the sunlight. As I said above, this book wasn't really about Voss and Angelica's physical relationship. It was very much about Voss changing himself, Angelica trusting herself, and them finding each other. Voss had to fight Lucifer's painful reminders of the type of life he was expected to lead - this more sympathetic and in love Voss is not what the Devil wanted. There were times that I thought I knew how Gleason was going to resolve certain problems, but then there would be a twist and the game changes. However, there came a point where I'd pretty much figured out how the HEA would be achieved, but it was still a satisfying ending. Problems I had: Voss, and most vampires, are accustomed to using their "thrall" to get sexual partners and donors. While I'm not going to get into the awfulness of this or its implications, Gleason tosses this out so many times that it affected my view of the book and Voss. I would be enjoying his character, and then these reprehensible hints pop up, and my enjoyment decreases. I hated Maia, just hated her. She's pushy, nosy, overbearing, ridiculous, demanding, and infuriating. While there are hints as to why she is this way I just don't have patience or compassion for her at the moment. Once you figured out how the book "had" to end you you could kind of see how the other books in the series would end. Verdict: For me, this was a totally different type of vampire romance - and I while enjoyed it, something holds me back from giving it a 4 star or more rating. I loved how self-centered Voss was, Angelica was sweet and likable, and the story moved along at a nice clip. I can't help but think that this is a book best checked borrowed instead of purchased. It was fun, but not awesome. I give it 3 stars.

posted by AnAbundanceofBooks on March 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Interesting vampire lore, sympathetic characters, but no wow.

    This is not your mother's romance book! Is there lust? Is there smex in it? Are people overcome with passion/love/weak knees? Yes to all of the above. But you get 89% through the book before the hero even gets to third base! This book was a romance novel in the strictest sense: it was about the relationship (not the sex). The story is written from five different viewpoints: Dimitri, Voss, Angelica, Maia, and Narcise. The book opens with Dimitri's POV, which was a bit confusing and I double checked a few times to make sure that I was reading the right book. The story then moves on to alternate mainly between Voss and Angelica; occasionally revisiting Dimitri and just a smidgen of Maia and Narcise thrown in. Gleason has taken an interesting slant on the vampire myth. The Devil approaches certain descendants of Vlad Tepes, and makes a deal with them in their dreams. Eternal life in exchange for joining his army during the final battle. Many believe that the dream is just that, merely a dream and agree to the bargain. Once they wake, the first thing they see will become their greatest weakness, his kryptonite if you will. It could be copper, rubies, pine needles, ink, anything. Each member of the draculia is also marked with a black root like mark on their back - representing their devil's bargain and the crack in their soul. Lucifer never mentions this, nor does he mention their new propensity for bursting into flames in the sunlight. As I said above, this book wasn't really about Voss and Angelica's physical relationship. It was very much about Voss changing himself, Angelica trusting herself, and them finding each other. Voss had to fight Lucifer's painful reminders of the type of life he was expected to lead - this more sympathetic and in love Voss is not what the Devil wanted. There were times that I thought I knew how Gleason was going to resolve certain problems, but then there would be a twist and the game changes. However, there came a point where I'd pretty much figured out how the HEA would be achieved, but it was still a satisfying ending. Problems I had: Voss, and most vampires, are accustomed to using their "thrall" to get sexual partners and donors. While I'm not going to get into the awfulness of this or its implications, Gleason tosses this out so many times that it affected my view of the book and Voss. I would be enjoying his character, and then these reprehensible hints pop up, and my enjoyment decreases. I hated Maia, just hated her. She's pushy, nosy, overbearing, ridiculous, demanding, and infuriating. While there are hints as to why she is this way I just don't have patience or compassion for her at the moment. Once you figured out how the book "had" to end you you could kind of see how the other books in the series would end. Verdict: For me, this was a totally different type of vampire romance - and I while enjoyed it, something holds me back from giving it a 4 star or more rating. I loved how self-centered Voss was, Angelica was sweet and likable, and the story moved along at a nice clip. I can't help but think that this is a book best checked borrowed instead of purchased. It was fun, but not awesome. I give it 3 stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a dark historical romantic fantasy

    In 1804 in London, the Woodmere sisters become concerned when their twenty-seven years old brother vampire hunter Chas vanishes. They turn to their guardian, the Earl of Corvindale, hoping he can find Chas who they fear is in trouble due to his hazardous occupation.

    Meanwhile Dracule Lord Voss Arden returns to England from the upstart colonies calling themselves the United States with news about Chas, who he believes abducted his sister. Voss has no heart as a minion of Lucifer. However, he is stunned when he meets one of the Woodmere sisters Angelica, who has the gift of sight. He wants her as she makes his blood boil. She feels the same way until she learns the nature of her beloved. Now she feels betrayed while each share a broken heart.

    The Book of the Regency Dracula is a dark historical romantic fantasy starring two star-crossed wannabe lovers. Besides her brother never accepting a Vampire as suitable for any of his younger sisters, his species (and others) would never allow him to be with a human possessing the Gift. Readers will enjoy this new paranormal trilogy starring a seemingly Romeo and Juliet couple in Regency England. Colleen Gleason provides a respite for Victoria Gardella with The Vampires Voss' dangerous tale of forbidden love.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Kikua

    Runs off to china town first result

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Jimmy to kikua

    F u c k s her

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Lantern to kikua

    Dont be i just want to stop from making a bad choice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Wasp

    *she walks in, then bashes Jimmy's head in with her hammer.* That's all the love you're gonna get.*she disappears with a puff of black fog.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    Historical + Vampires = Awesome

    Its been about almost more than a year since I've read a full on historical romance/regency book. And reading this was extremely refreshing. As a lover of all things Austen and Bronte this was almost of its like but with its own originality. Of course, this was more simple in terms of descriptions and dialogue. But all together great!

    Okay fine, vampires are overrated. But come on! We've all contributed to its "overratedness" and you can't deny it at all. In this first installment in the Regency Draculia series, Vampire Voss likes playing games and sneaking around observing his peers and learning about their dirtiest and darkest secrets, which he uses against them. In all his years as a vampire, he has gained more enemies than friends. Throughout the entire book he had probably only one friend, who eventually turns on him somewhere. That wasn't a spoiler!

    As handsome, dark and alluring Voss may be, he has met his "match" in the opposite gender. Angelica is stern, not all that kick-ass but someone you can realisticly connect with. I loved how her demeanor was portrayed and enjoyed her urge to go against society's morals.

    As much as I liked the characters, the dialogue was even better, especially when everything was written so smoothly. The book was filled with many elements. My favorite being the historical bit and maybe the splash of paranormal here and there.

    The plot had a wonderful introduction, peak and everything in between. It really does keep you reading and may seem a little rushed in places but that usually can't be helped.

    Colleen Gleason has written an excellent book about duty, propriety and unconditional love. Along with her wonderfully written dialogue and sprinkles of humor, she almost had it perfectly. Definitely a good read for the historical lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Ok read

    I wouldn't read it again. Definitely a trade in for the used book store

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    I was pleasantly surprised...

    I don't think this is the typical Vampire story. But I liked it! I liked the twist in the story. Bad can still be good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not Worth Your Money!

    I found this book very frustrating. It is jumpy and you can't follow which character is doing what. There is also a lot of "terms" that aren't defined that you have to just sort of guess at (like Dune but much less cool). I found the writing style to be rambling and pointless. I wouldn't recommend this book at all. I had high hopes and found that evening getting half way through took more time than it should have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gleason Does It Again! 4****

    Having read the "Gardella Chronicles" by Gleason and loving them, I was tickled to death to see her new trilogy of historical paranormals. While the level of mystery and suspense wasn't there as it was in the "Gardella" books, the sex level was definitely sizzling. I love the world that Gleason has created and especially the albatross that is around the neck of every vampire. The first thing they see upon waking (cat, dog, diamonds, a bird) is something that weakens them and can be used to control them. This is definitely a darker read than a lot of paranormal romance out there and I love this darker vampire world.
    While I didn't care for Voss in the beginning, he did begin to grow on me and by the end I thoroughly enjoyed the bantering between him and Angelica. She is a much younger, livelier young woman than her sister, Maia, who is very straight laced. She's funny and an excellent match for Voss. This book was a very fast read for me and I pretty much read it from start to finish in hours. Luckily I have the next two books in this series and can start them immediately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    I REALLY ENJOYED THIS STORY

    I thought this story enjoyable and I really got into Voss and A ngelicas love story. I cant wait to finish reading book 2 of the series. This is the first I have read from this author and look forward to reading some of her other works

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Vampire Voss is the first novel in Colleen Gleason's new Regency Draculia series and I really enjoyed the read.

    3.5 stars

    I want to start off saying that I am a huge fan of Colleen Gleason's Gardella Vampire Chronicles and the Envy Chronicles she writes under Joss Ware, so that being said I was so excited to hear she was starting a new vampire series.

    The over all idea for the series is interesting and unique with all vampires being distantly related to Vlad Tepes and Lucifer coming to certain family members in their dreams offering them immortality in exchange for carrying his mark. And with each vampire having his or her own specific weakness that ranges from the common to the almost unknown. The regency world that Gleason has built around her characters is detailed and you can easily put yourself into the tight restraints of the era and the crowded ballrooms dancing the scandalous waltz. It was quick-paced with mystery and intrigue.

    However, the relationship between Voss and Angelica was a little unbelievable to me. The main reason being that even though he was starting to have feelings for Angelica, Voss still slept with numerous women. Every other character's growth and development was conceivable but his; he pretty much stayed true to his original form until the end and then it seemed rush. All of the sudden he was this proper gentleman. Though I did enjoy his perfect good looks and his naughty ways, he is a very sexy main man

    The Vampire Voss went back and forth between three couples; Voss & Angelica, Dimitri & Maia and Narcise & Chas and each will have their own story and HEA. Now this concept can be good and bad for the story arc; and here's how it was bad in this novel - Dimitri & Maia's character's and potential relationship completely outshined Voss & Angelica's. I was more interested in them then the main couple and really look forward for The Vampire Dimitri, out April 26th.

    Despite all the obstacles and difficulties between these two, Voss and Angelica make it to their happily ever after. The ending was a complete surprise for me but it felt a little too perfect and unbelievable.

    If you are expecting another in league with the Gardella's you might be somewhat disappointed but Regency Draculia is still a good read in it's own right and I look forward to the continuation of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A superb addition to the paranormal world!

    Voss is neutral when it comes to siding between the warring sides of the Daculia. Not evil and not necessarily good, he prefers spending his time trading and buying information. After all, information is always the best kind of weapon. It's only when Voss find a woman who captivates him that he finds a side he wants to be on. A side no vampire dared to dream he could be on. Gleason's Daculia world can be described as many things: Dark, captivating, passionate, but more than anything the Regency Daculia is unique. From their origin to their secret vulnerabilities, this is a new twist on vampires that makes for a superb addition to the paranormal world. It is a world which is the driving force behind this book for myself, as a reader. The characters were good, but not great. I was more interested in other characters in the book than Voss and Angelica. Particularly Dimitri and his love interest, which take center stage in book two. *I received this eGalley free in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2