Customer Reviews for

Vampire in Denial

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short Fun Read

Absolutely loved it. Fun read from beginning to end. 144 pages

posted by 16604105 on June 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Grrrrr

Just got done with this book which was FREE and i see the next books you have to pay for! I dont have enough money on my account left to get the other 2 books! If you are gonna make the first book free make the other books in the series free too is what i think! An...
Just got done with this book which was FREE and i see the next books you have to pay for! I dont have enough money on my account left to get the other 2 books! If you are gonna make the first book free make the other books in the series free too is what i think! Anyone want to let me borrow their copies like a library does? Lol

posted by Anonymous on July 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Short Fun Read

    Absolutely loved it. Fun read from beginning to end. 144 pages

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    Anonymous

    A new twist on vampire stories. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2014

    Hello

    A very good 150 page free book about vampires, teenage angst, and adventure with romance. Good book. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    Interesting Read For Someone Who Like Cliffhangers

    I enjoyed the story and was surprised at the ending. Will be looking forward to the next book to continue the story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    WOW

    This book starts off a little slow. Pickes up when the action starts. Ends with a cliff hanger. Have the next book before you start this one. The 10 seconds it will take you to buy book two is to long to see what happens next.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    [This review also appears on Andi's Young Adult Books. I receive

    [This review also appears on Andi's Young Adult Books. I received a
    complimentary ebook in exchange for my honest review.] Tessa is
    part-human, thanks to some weird genetic anomaly that occasionally pops
    up every few hundred generations or so. She has never been truly
    accepted by either side, but feels closer to other humans than to other
    vampires. It seems pretty typical of being a teenager. Many times, you
    aren't comfortably in your own skin and have to try on different people
    to find your place. When her human friend is kidnapped by some rogue
    vampires, Tessa wants to do the right thing and save him. Of course, she
    is ridiculed by her fellow vampires. They don't think they should
    sacrifice themselves to go after a human. Even if they do, Tessa is
    nowhere near their vampire standards, and probably can't help. Tessa is
    a typical stubborn teenager, much like myself at that age. Tell us we
    can't do something, and we will set out to prove you wrong! Tessa hones
    in on her vampire side and discovers she has more to offer than anyone
    had previous imagined. I find Tessa's ability to switch between vampire
    mode and human mode, particularly in eyesight, to be strange, yet
    interesting. Put the two together and she can dominate both sides. It's
    a pity it has taken her so long to realize her strengths, as well as
    being a shame it took the abduction of someone she cares about to do so.
    As the series develops, though, I think she is going to take on both
    worlds by storm and completely rule. Her love interests on both her
    human and vampire sides, as novel as they both may be, are going to be
    interesting to watch develop. The book reads like a TV show or soap
    opera. The episode goes back and forth between the characters, bringing
    one scene to a close before moving to another scene. "Meanwhile,
    back at the vampire mansion..." It keeps the pace flowing and the
    pages turning. And, just like a TV show or soap opera, it abruptly ends
    with a cliffhanger that makes you anxious for the next installment. I'm
    glad I already have book 2 to read!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    Exciting first installment in a new YA vampire series!

    The main character, Tessa, is 16 years old and a member of a powerful vampire family, but she also has a lot of human characteristics that separate her from her mom, dad, and brothers. This causes her family to severely miscalculate her abilities and also causes her to underestimate herself. She finds it easier to try and fit in with her human friends; that is until a group of vampires kidnap her crush, Jared. She really steps up to the plate at that point because she knows that most vampires look down on humans and see them as little better than animals. She certainly surprised me with her conviction, since at the beginning she didn't want much to do with her vampire traits, but she knew she needed to embrace them to save Jared. She not only showed her family just how strong she was but also discovered that she was more extraordinary than any of them thought. I loved seeing her become more confident and gain more respect, especially from her father. Their relationship at first was rocky, but it strengthens greatly over the course of the book; when she finally fully embraces who she is, they are able to bond over it, which was exactly what she needed to finally feel like she belonged in her family. I assumed that Jared would be her love interest throughout the entire story, but I was wrong. Her feelings for him get the action rolling, but in the process of searching for him she becomes closer with her brother's best friend, Cody. With her new-found self-confidence, they see each other in a different light, but unfortunately with all of the chaos they aren't able to explore their blossoming feelings. The chemistry is definitely there, however, and I look forward to seeing what develops in the next book. This book managed to stand out amongst the plethora of vampire novels out there. I liked how vampires had different abilities and how some of them, like Tessa, seemed more human than vampire (i.e. could be out in the daylight, didn't crave blood). It added a bunch of new dimensions to the world and I'm liking where the series is going. This really was a great read. I was entirely able to relate with Tessa and enjoyed watching her change throughout the story. Just a warning, the author leaves us with one heck of a cliffhanger, so I can only hope that the next book comes out soon!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1