Customer Reviews for

The Vampire's Bride (Gena Showalter's Atlantis Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 265 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(149)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Gena Showalter¿s latest romantic fantasy is a wonderful tale

    Two centuries ago the dragon horde killed the beloved Susan. Since then vampire king Layel has lived for one thing seeking vengeance on all dragons; collateral deaths are acceptable consequences. That is until he meets Amazon warrior Delilah who matches him sword thrust to sword thrust.<BR/><BR/>At the same, in the pantheon, the Gods decide to have fun with the residents of Atlantis. They create life and death contests between sentient species. The rules are simple but deadly: the squad that loses a contest loses a player. However, Layel¿s attraction for the female of another team could cost him his undead life; she reciprocates his feelings but does not trust love as binding<BR/><BR/>With a nod to ancient mythology, Gena Showalter¿s latest romantic fantasy is a wonderful tale because the author makes her two protagonists and the key support cast including the pantheons as plausible. No one is above killing as Layel especially has a two hundred years old blood feud in which he has stalked dragons, killing unmercifully. The gods are as fickle as they appear in Greek mythology. Fans who appreciate a touch of realism in the lead characters will enjoy the latest entry in the Showalter mythos (see Lords of the Underworlds saga ¿ THE DARKEST PLEASURE, THE DARKEST KISS and THE DARKEST NIGHT).<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    highly recommedned

    excelent book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Great Read.

    I loved this book. Not as fabulous as the Lords of the Underworld series but it can stand on it on ground against it. I loved the side story of Shivawn and Alyssa! They should have their own book to themselves to further their story. His intense confusing hate and being undeniably smitten at the same time was such an amazing side short story! I was really hoping Nola would eventually warm up and cozy with Zane...bummer. All and All Layel and Delilah's story was wonderfully entertaining!! I recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Imaginative!

    So ive read quite a few of gena showalters books like the lords of the underworld and alien huntress and loved them both. And as i read the atlantean series, i immediently fell in love. Especially this one, i felt really connected to the characters and felt like i really knew them,, so i loved, cried, hated, and laughed my a$$ off with them lol. Its a definite must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    LOVED IT!!

    i very much LOVED reading this couldnt put it down!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Great book

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Hooked again!

    Layel, the Vampire King is one sexy being. Now this story is more touching, and proves that there is love after love, even when you try not to look for it. When it draws you to someone, it draws you. There's no point in fighting it. And try as hard as Layel can to avoid Delilah, he simply can't. And she's one cute little spit-fire of the smaller Amazon women. The competition was genious Gena, and the lust scenes between these two was hot and tormenting to them, leaving them secretly hungry for more. MUST...HAVE...MORE...ATLATIS...BOOKS!!! I'm getting too much sleep waiting!! Book 5 comes out this year (2010) and I'm hoping Gena takes care of other creatures we were introduced to past who have not found their mates yet. I know they're out there!!!! Get this series...you'll love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wow!

    This book was actually very good. I was a little surprised because the beginning was a bit slow and with the Vampire King's 'obsession' with his passed on wife, thought it wasn't really going to be that great later on. The sultry and borderline erotic type writing definitely caught my attention back. Loved it the rest of the way; intense characters, different plot line, and intense in a lot of places.

    Good read in my opinion! The hardest part is the first step!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    excellent

    Very captivating!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Showalter Hit!

    I LOVE GENA SHOWALTER'S BOOKS! Another Great Read! You will enjoy as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    Great Book

    I enjoyed this book. I love the fact that Gena Showalter took the time to give one of the characters that was evil in the other previous books a book of his own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    THE VAMPIRE'S BRIDE is a wild romp on a deserted island

    I have been a fan of Gena Showalter since I read THE STONE PRINCE. Her main characters are INTENSE and their sexiness just pours from the pages! THE VAMPIRE'S BRIDE is a page turner from the start. It shows how love conquers all and is told in exciting ways full of action and suspense.
    I look forward to future visits to Atlantis.
    It doesn't disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    vampires bride gena showalter

    was a wonderful and funny book each page had me going on not letting on what is going to happen would recommend it to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wow!!!

    This book was so good!!! You fall in love with the characters. This is one of my favorite books by her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG!!!

    i've never really read until the twilight series but i kept looking and looking till i came upon this book!!! This book is sexy,hot,and steamy,but its not just about desires and passions its a love story, and a game in it to make it more suffisticated. Great plot and everything. Amazing book!! Youll LOVE it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Story!

    I happened to pick this book up right as I was walking up to the check-out counter, and let me tell you, I was NOT disappointed! I am someone who goes through about 3-4 books a week and is not easily impressed, but let me tell you...this book was an amazing read. The author captured the characters so vividly that I felt like I was a part of the story throughout. I found myself falling in love with Layel as his emotions were so well-written. This has got to be one of the steamiest books I have read in a long time, in that the heat between Layel and Delilah slowly builds until you're begging for the characters to come together in the end. This author is now one of my favorite romance authors, and because of this book I immediately went out and bought all of her other novels to get inside the other characters throughout Atlantis that captured my attention in this book. This is an amazing book that should not be passed up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    first time reader of this author, yet has passed all my expectations!!!

    I'm a first in actual reading one of Ms. Gena Showalter's books, just happened to read it out of boredom, and was immediately submerged into her world. I love the way she used the combination of all the mythical creatures found in legends, the lost city of Atlantis, and how she uses Greek mythology and legands, all mixed in one! The charcaters are wonderful, Delilah is a strong Amazon woman and is funny, and strong, yet has her scars are worries about her future. Layel's story is sad on how he losed his first love, yet quite funny on how he turns on other characters in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8