Customer Reviews for

Vampires in the Lemon Grove

Average Rating 3.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

I just love this book.

I just love this book.

posted by donjuanMS on February 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Without throwing the baby out with the bath water, I'd have to s

Without throwing the baby out with the bath water, I'd have to say that only a few of these stories were very good. Some ran all over the place, others were too back-story heavy which is not good practice in short stories because the conclusions were very abrupt. After ...
Without throwing the baby out with the bath water, I'd have to say that only a few of these stories were very good. Some ran all over the place, others were too back-story heavy which is not good practice in short stories because the conclusions were very abrupt. After the first two wonderful stories, i was repeatedly disappointed.  

posted by bibliophile51 on February 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    Without throwing the baby out with the bath water, I'd have to s

    Without throwing the baby out with the bath water, I'd have to say that only a few of these stories were very good. Some ran all over the place, others were too back-story heavy which is not good practice in short stories because the conclusions were very abrupt. After the first two wonderful stories, i was repeatedly disappointed.  

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    I just love this book.

    I just love this book.

    4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Highly Recommended - this is excellent

    Karen Russell is just amazing! Where in the world does she get these strange, socially meaningful tales? The 'Lemon Grove' short stories are masterfully told, delightfully poignant, and heartbreakingly close to your heart. But WARNING: Every story will leave you with a giant "WHAT?" at the end. That's why I've come to love young author Karen Russell...the question(s) she leaves us.

    If you want to really engage another reality, without any sci-fi nonsense, this is your book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Anonyomous

    Thanks!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Don't waste your time.

    Having read the review I thought that I would enjoy this book. It looked interesting and I liked the fact that it was compiled of several short stories. However after reading four of them I didn't bother with the rest because the ones that I did read had no point to them and quite frankly were boring.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    Unless you are inclined to plow through dark and decidedly depre

    Unless you are inclined to plow through dark and decidedly depressing stories, I recommend that you not go near this book. I p\got through 4-5 of the stories and decided I could not read a single page more. It was really dark, totally depressing, and frankly unworthy of my time and energy. I was expecting far better prose - it's not that a depressing topic can't be engrossing - but this was really just macabre and awful. I contrast it with, for example, The Cellist of Sarajevo, which was unbelievably sad, but utterly compelling and engrossing. This was a flat zero for me.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Love it

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2013

    Excellent Prose. Title story was my least favorite. Wish this

    Excellent Prose. Title story was my least favorite. Wish this author could rewrite some of the recent "hits" - interesting stories but poor writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Incredible

    Stunning short stories. Awesome book cover.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Great stories!!

    It Karen Russell. Imaginative, surprising, extremelu well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Just Okay.

    Short stories are not really my cup of tea. Actually found that I couldn't finish this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Highly recommended - you don't want to miss this!

    Russell is a brilliant writer. She sucks me in and I can't put the book down. Her stories may be utterly bizarre, I don't want to spoil anything by give always, but they stick with me long after I've read them. She taps into some fundamental truths and has a magical way of sharing her wisdom. I am insanely jealous of her skill. But ever so grateful I picked up her book. I look forward to reading anything else she has written or will write in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    No, thanks.

    I just couldn't get into this one. I read a couple of chapters and quit.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Raine

    Good

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Don't understand the great reviews

    Couldn't even finish it. It was ridiculous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    Disappointed

    vampires in the lemon grove was a very disappointing read for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    &star

    Name (she-cat): Rosetail<br>
    Name (tom): Pinefur<br>
    Clans: different<br>
    Type: R.ape<br>
    Do they know each other?: no pinefur is a warrior and Rosetail is a medicine cat pinefur r.apes Rosetail

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    On The Border: OC Fic, Hawkstep X Raingrove

    Hawkstep POV: <p>I slipped quietly out of camp and looked over my shoulder. No one was following! I smiled and raced along the shore, haring past ShadowClan I paused beside RiverClan and sat waiting. I smiled broader as a gray tabby she-cat picked her way carefully towards me, her blue eyes brightened whn she spotted me and she hurried. I met her, nuzzling her lovingly,"Hello, Raingrove." I purr. "How are you, Hawkstep?" She asks. "Just wonderful." I reply and suddenly catch a strange scent tht made my member tingle. She was in heat! Lust made my mind fuzzy but I shook free of it as we lay on our backs to star gaze. "Those ones look like a cat running across the moor!" She purred, pointing the constellation out. I nod and point out another one,"That one looks like a river." She nuzzled my cheek. "Have you ever thought about having kits?" I froze and then smiled. "With you, yes." She purred and lay with her belly on mine, I met her eyes and smiled love and lust swamping my mind again. She brushed her moist core against my unsheathing member softly and moaned, closing her eyes. I stood and gently nosed her onto her back, she spread her hind legs and I stood over her. I knew what to do more or less and lowered my muzzle sniffing and then licking her center to test her. She gently moved her hips against my face and I purred, sticking my tongue deeper in her, lapping at her walls she moaned louder and pulled my head closer with her paws and I happily obeyed. She rolled her hips against my face faster and harder I could feel her start to tighten around my tongue and I pulled my tongue out. She whimpered in displeasure but I quickly filled her with something far more satisfying, my thick, barbed pen<__>is. She gasped as I thrust in and then I pulled out an then thrust in again, getting myself further inside her warm moist pu<__>ssy. She mewled in pain and I paused, using all the will I had to let her get used to me being inside of her. She finally nodded to tell me to start agains and I pulled out until only the tip was inside of her d then etered before starting a rythym, grinding my hips against her's and groaning with pleasure, my barbs lightly scraped her insides and she dug her claws in my shoulders now returning my humping we moaned together and I licked her face lovingly and then licked her neck and chest still rolling my hips in a circular motion against her's. I hit her spot and she gasped and bucked harder against me, I repeatedly hit her sweet spot and my long member began to tingle with the sensation of cu<__>mming. I squirted pre into her and we now made a squelching sound with each thrust into her. I let out a gutteral sound and hit her indes hard as my co<__>ck pulsating wildly spurting cu<__>m deep in her, sure to get her pregnant. She yowed in pleasure d her insides tightened around me, milking all of my seed from my still spasming love meat. I collapsed on top of her. "That was fun." I purred, licking her chin. "That was very fun." She giggled. <p>Comment and rate! <br>-Holly

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    J

    H

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2