Customer Reviews for

Vamplayers

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

So good you will love it!

Lily dies just to realize she has been turned and now is working for the Sisterhood of Dangerous Girlfriends. After several years of training she is now a Third Sister alongside with Cara (Second Sister) and Alice (First Sister).
And what they do is get into a potentia...
Lily dies just to realize she has been turned and now is working for the Sisterhood of Dangerous Girlfriends. After several years of training she is now a Third Sister alongside with Cara (Second Sister) and Alice (First Sister).
And what they do is get into a potential place where a vamplayer is planning to create an army of vampires using first one victim: the typical hot-slutty girl that will fall for his charm and then, once turned, lure everyone else into becoming vamps too.
Once they are inside such place (almost always high schools or places like that) they find the potential victim, save her form the vamplayer and kill him.

Easy peasy, right? Wrong. Lily is tired of being Third Sister, of going to high school after high school just to save ungrateful girls and, at some rate, she is also tired of Alice for being so slutty and superior. But on top of everything she wants to be a Savior.
Who are Saviors? They are something like the Elite, la crème de la crème of vampires. They are the ones who save the world when a vamplayer has gone already too far.

But for now she is stucked at being a Sister and their new assignment is to enrole into Nightshade Conservatory for Exceptional Girls and Boys. Yes, posh name means posh place.

Now what they need to do is go, blend in, spot the victim and potential vamplayer and save the world.

Sadly for Lily everything goes wrong when Alice starts to hung out with the cool guys and becomes -more- distant, cold and superior. And then Cara, sweet Cara, turns her back on her too. But at least she meets Zander, a geeky guy, and Groover, a guy a little bit too big but with a heart even bigger. They two make sure she is not alone and she even suspects Zander's feelings for her are specials.

Now she only needs to unmask Tristan as the vamplayer and save the horrible Bianca, who is the one making her life a living nightmare... But something seems a little off about her plan.

Personal opinion:
Once again I have to bow down to Rusty's ideas and his unique style of writing. I had a wonderful time reading this book and, like "Zombies don't Cry", I sure hope he will write a sequel for Vamplayers.

I mean, how cool is the idea of a vampire being also a player? I know nowadays that's what they do, seduce, but the word itself encircles a whole new concept.

Maybe the only thing that felt a little too forced was the bond between Lily, Cara and Alice... specially with Alice. I mean, if you work with someone that it's supposed to be like a real sister then, I'm sorry, but Alice isn't sister material at all. True to be honest I don't have brothers or sisters so I'm not sure how they interact with each other but I would have gladly punch Alice in the face a few times.
Now that I think of it, I assume that's the whole point, hahaha.

I finished the book yesterday night and all I could think of was: "Not only he managed to scare me a little and made me check the windows (just in case something was lurking outside, you know) but he also made me laugh with the witty dialogues and snarky answers while crying with some of the outcomes". I love a book that makes me feel so many things because it means the author managed to create a bond between the characters and myself.

And, just in case you wonder, Rusty manages to write from a female point of view in a superb way. More than once I found myself forgetting that the author is a guy!

posted by Alaiel_Kreuz on February 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Uknowwho

Is it a good book or not just say yes it was god or no it is sucky just say somthin

posted by Anonymous on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    So good you will love it!

    Lily dies just to realize she has been turned and now is working for the Sisterhood of Dangerous Girlfriends. After several years of training she is now a Third Sister alongside with Cara (Second Sister) and Alice (First Sister).
    And what they do is get into a potential place where a vamplayer is planning to create an army of vampires using first one victim: the typical hot-slutty girl that will fall for his charm and then, once turned, lure everyone else into becoming vamps too.
    Once they are inside such place (almost always high schools or places like that) they find the potential victim, save her form the vamplayer and kill him.

    Easy peasy, right? Wrong. Lily is tired of being Third Sister, of going to high school after high school just to save ungrateful girls and, at some rate, she is also tired of Alice for being so slutty and superior. But on top of everything she wants to be a Savior.
    Who are Saviors? They are something like the Elite, la crème de la crème of vampires. They are the ones who save the world when a vamplayer has gone already too far.

    But for now she is stucked at being a Sister and their new assignment is to enrole into Nightshade Conservatory for Exceptional Girls and Boys. Yes, posh name means posh place.

    Now what they need to do is go, blend in, spot the victim and potential vamplayer and save the world.

    Sadly for Lily everything goes wrong when Alice starts to hung out with the cool guys and becomes -more- distant, cold and superior. And then Cara, sweet Cara, turns her back on her too. But at least she meets Zander, a geeky guy, and Groover, a guy a little bit too big but with a heart even bigger. They two make sure she is not alone and she even suspects Zander's feelings for her are specials.

    Now she only needs to unmask Tristan as the vamplayer and save the horrible Bianca, who is the one making her life a living nightmare... But something seems a little off about her plan.

    Personal opinion:
    Once again I have to bow down to Rusty's ideas and his unique style of writing. I had a wonderful time reading this book and, like "Zombies don't Cry", I sure hope he will write a sequel for Vamplayers.

    I mean, how cool is the idea of a vampire being also a player? I know nowadays that's what they do, seduce, but the word itself encircles a whole new concept.

    Maybe the only thing that felt a little too forced was the bond between Lily, Cara and Alice... specially with Alice. I mean, if you work with someone that it's supposed to be like a real sister then, I'm sorry, but Alice isn't sister material at all. True to be honest I don't have brothers or sisters so I'm not sure how they interact with each other but I would have gladly punch Alice in the face a few times.
    Now that I think of it, I assume that's the whole point, hahaha.

    I finished the book yesterday night and all I could think of was: "Not only he managed to scare me a little and made me check the windows (just in case something was lurking outside, you know) but he also made me laugh with the witty dialogues and snarky answers while crying with some of the outcomes". I love a book that makes me feel so many things because it means the author managed to create a bond between the characters and myself.

    And, just in case you wonder, Rusty manages to write from a female point of view in a superb way. More than once I found myself forgetting that the author is a guy!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Love it

    I reccomend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Not what I expected?!?

    I expected that this was after Zombies Don't Cry, but it is not:( Alrite on with this book! I really liked this book. The characters and depth of the story is amazing! :D Very happy with this one also.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Uknowwho

    Is it a good book or not just say yes it was god or no it is sucky just say somthin

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    If you want to read the best book ever you should DEFINATELY read this book. It would NEVER be a waist of time to read a book that is a GREAT book that almost everybody wants to read on their spair time that they have or just when their bored. But seriosly if you want a book that you can read in the passenger side of a car or at home or if your just a kid that likes reading you would really LOVE this book. I you read any of these books do not forget to rate and review the books. It will really help other people that are looking for a good book to read and you get to express your opinion about the books that you read and you can ask questions about if it is a good book to read or not so read up to rate and review all of your favorite books today. By the way this is by annoymous. Ah I guess that is all so farewell for now and I hope that I get the honor to talk to you all again sometime in a week or a month who knows... but what we can do is read to fill the void of not writing ones opinion so farewell, farewell, farewell... talk to you someother day. Goodbye.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!& farewell ( they both mean the same thing).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Meh

    Not horrible, but quite predictable and cliche'. I can't remember how much this cost but I am guessing very cheap. If it is under 2 bucks then I got my money's worth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Sounds so Campy-Plot is better than the title

    The title just makes me want to run screaming. I'm picturing vampires in 1970's lair with ghetto talk. When I read it I was happy the plot was written so well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Lllllooooovvvvveeeee it

    I loved it. The only thing that i thought was that the rnding should have had less drama

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Good

    Pretty darn good read! Wonderful vocabulary! I was really disappointed at first bc I bought it immediately after finishing Zombies Don't Cry and thought it was a continuation of that! Once I got over that I really got into it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Interesting and funny

    This was a great quick read that had a new twist on vampires. Very cute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Awesome story

    I really enjoyed the irony and complete plot to evertything, tthis author had a purpose!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    It takes a few pages....

    The story starts off in an utter void of sentiment and emotion, and it really takes a good few chapters to even care about any of the characters. As you keep reading though you find yourself caring more and more, and this novel turns into a major pageturner subtletly. Actually a very well done story, the only major beef I have against it is that you know how it's going to end despite the efforts to prevent it. This is definiely worth a read though despite that and the less than super start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Fischer did it again. Sorry at the spelling not very good at it :)

    Vamplayer is funny yet sad read. Lily is a vampire who was tured at the age of 16 after almost being killed by her mother. She works for the Sisterhood of Dangerous Girlfriends. In the school the girls are split into to groups Sisters and Savors.
    Sisters go in to schools find the vamplayer and become the friends of the vamplayers target. Then stop the vamplayer befor he can turn the hole school. There are only three sisters Alice ( the first sister ), Cara ( the 2nd ) and Lily ( the 3d )
    Savors are the one that you call as a last resort to stop the spreding of infecton if it gets out of control.
    Lily is tired of being a sister and wants to become a savore. The lates mission the girl are on they must go to nightshade find out how the vamplayer is and stop him. While on the mission Alice begings to drift away and Cara soon follows.
    As Lily trys to find out who the vamplayer is and protect the mean girl she finds love and new friend in the form of Zander and Grover. In the end will everone she cares for still be alive. If you loved this the you will also love Zombes dont cry.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Exciting

    An awesome read for anyone whos up for fantasy! One of my favorite vampire books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2