Customer Reviews for

Vamps and the City (Love at Stake Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 430 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(252)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Recommended

I enjoyed reading this book and this series for me started with book #9 and after reading it, I had to start at the begining to understand some of the characters. If you love reading about sexy, daring, and warrior type vampires finding true love you might also like re...
I enjoyed reading this book and this series for me started with book #9 and after reading it, I had to start at the begining to understand some of the characters. If you love reading about sexy, daring, and warrior type vampires finding true love you might also like reading "The Blackdagger Brotherhood" seres by J.R. Ward.

posted by Juanita_81 on December 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another Vampire Series

Sparks writes well and has some humor in her books. But its just another vampire series in a long line of vampire series'.

posted by 22mj on February 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 434 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    I enjoyed reading this book and this series for me started with book #9 and after reading it, I had to start at the begining to understand some of the characters. If you love reading about sexy, daring, and warrior type vampires finding true love you might also like reading "The Blackdagger Brotherhood" seres by J.R. Ward.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    Vamps and the City

    Although some people might enjoy the benefits of being a vampire (can you say live forever and superhuman strength?), Darcy Newhart did not. Four years ago, she lost her job, her family, and her freedom (not to mention her life) when she was turned without her consent. Yet things are looking up. Now that Roman Draganesti, the Master of the harem to which she belonged (how medieval is that?!), was engaged to a mortal woman, she has the chance to change her life (okay, afterlife). Contacting the Digital Vampire Network (DVN for short), she pitches a new show and is hired to direct the first Vampire reality show: The Sexiest Man on Earth. Using five of the female vampires from Roman¿s harem as judges and a combination of vampire and human (talk about ratings boosts!) contestants, she sets out to create a hit as well as a new life for herself. Yet what happens when she can¿t resist one of the mortal contestants? Will she risk her new job and life for him? Austin Erickson (AKA Adam on The Sexiest Man on Earth) is actually an undercover CIA operative working to gather information about vampires. With his off-the-chart psychic abilities, he¿s able to infiltrate the enemy¿s lair (so what if it¿s a luxurious penthouse?), gather information (including photos of the gorgeous Darcy), and prepare to rid the world of a few evil vamps. Yet once he really gets to know Darcy, he realizes he may just be falling in love with her. Can he compete with the vampire contestants long enough for him and Darcy to decide just what to do about their relationship¿and his vampire slaying job? How did I ever miss this series? Kerrelyn Sparks has created a wacky, witty, wonderful world in Vamps and the City. The characters are fresh and most definitely unique and the story is so much more that what you¿d expect. On one level there is the romance that builds between Darcy and Austin. Both know that nothing can come of it yet neither can resist the pull between them. They each get into quite a few escapades while trying to deny their feelings and jumping each other¿s bones. On top of that, there is the growth of the harem vampires who learn to value their self worth. Their outlooks on life, sex and masters will leave you laughing out loud and have you cheering for them. Finally, the shift in prejudices between both the vamps and the humans is skillfully woven into this lighthearted reality spoof. I can easily recommend Vamps in the City as one book that you won¿t want to put down. Not only that, it will leave you eagerly anticipating the next story in the series. Georgia Reviewed for Joyfully Reviewed

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2006

    VAMPS AND PREJUDICE

    It¿s been four painful years since Darcy Newhart became a vampire. She thought that after her transformation, she¿d never be happy again, never feel warm again, and never see daylight again. But then a mortal, Austin Erickson, with his golden hair, tanned skin, and hot body ¿burst into her life like a brilliant sun.¿ Just as Darcy had resigned herself to giving up her old world¿her family, friends, and career in journalism¿and making the best of her situation by getting a job at the Digital Vampire Network, Austin shows up and tempts her with all that she can¿t have. Their relationship could never work, and she knows too well the pain of giving up a mortal life to ask that of him. But Austin only looks like a gorgeous surfer-dude. He¿s actually an undercover CIA agent charged with tracking and killing vampires, deemed by the government as ¿terrorist threats¿ to the United States. Austin¿s assignment is to infiltrate the Digital Vampire Network and become a contestant on Darcy¿s new reality TV show, sort of like ¿The Bachelor¿ for vamps. While he¿s supposed to be gathering as much intell as possible, Austin finds himself falling for the show¿s beautiful, sad director. Someone as vibrant, compassionate, and sweet as Darcy couldn¿t possibly be a vampire. Right? Convinced that she is mortal, Austin sets out to save Darcy from the evil vamps who must be holding her hostage, and ends up having to confront his own prejudices and stereotypes about these creatures of the night. Will he learn that, like humans, ¿vampires could be good or evil. They could love or hate,¿ before it¿s too late? Will Darcy allow herself a chance at love despite the seemingly insurmountable obstacles that separate her from Austin? VAMPS IN THE CITY, the follow-up to Sparks¿ HOW TO MARRY A MILLIONAIRE VAMPIRE, admits readers into a Harry Potteresque world full of magic and wonderfully eccentric characters drawn with heart and creativity. Sparks¿ witty, intelligent story deftly walks the line between laugh-out-loud humor and sweet romance. This book will leave readers dreaming about the sanctity of true love and the risks Austin and Darcy take to be together long after the book ends.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Sparkles with humor, suspense, and romance

    Former TV journalist Darcy Newhart detests being a vampire as she can no longer see herself in a mirror or have her picture taken by a non-digital camera. However, thanks to the information age, she has been selected to direct a new reality show on the Digital Vampire Network, The Sexiest Man on Earth. The contestants, some humans and some vampires compete for the title since digital cameras enable vampires to show up on the screen with the prize being the vampiric harem of Roman Dragnesti (see HOW TO MARRY A MILLIONAIRE VAMPIRE).-------------- CIA Stake-Out Agent and psychic Austin Erickson goes undercover as a contestant with the objective being to destroy this rat¿s nest of killing vampires. However, Austin finds himself attracted to the director of the show who seems nice and caring not bloody and murderous as his superior Sean Whelan insists all vampires are. As Darcy and Austin fall in love, she rejects any permanent relationship since she still struggles with being a creature of the night and unsure of star-crossed partnering with mortals.---------------- VAMPS AND THE CITY sparkles with humor, suspense, and romance. The story line is fun not just because of the antics of the lead duet the five vamps first prize consists of delightful interesting individuals whose differences add to the overall plot as readers wonder who will the harem. Vampire romance fans will appreciate this refreshing tale and look forward to more as the confrontation with the evil vampires remains unsettled.------------ Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun & Enjoyable

    Enjoyed this second book in the series as much as the first. I especially like how the characters and plot in the first book,"How to Marry A Millionaire Vampire", continue into the second book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT!

    I LOVE the Love at Stake series. I enjoyed this book even more than the first book, "How to Marry a Millionaire Vampire," - with Shanna and Roman.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Recommended if you like this type of reading.

    I enjoy this series. To me it combines the Outlander series with the Black Dagger Brotherhood.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    it is a cool book i just cant wait to read the rest of the serie

    it is a cool book i just cant wait to read the rest of the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Another Vampire Series

    Sparks writes well and has some humor in her books. But its just another vampire series in a long line of vampire series'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Love it

    Love it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Superb

    This book was even more thrilling than the first one. I recommend this to anyone that enjoys getting lost in the vampire world!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Love it

    If u read the first one u will love this one. I was worried about spending the money but i soon found i could not put it down. I have other books on my nook but i found i wanted to read this first. I am considering getting the next one. Yay gotta love vampires!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    thumbs up!

    This is the second in the series. Loved the first.. I think I am hooked. Like the continuation of characters and fleshing them out =)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Great!

    Loved the twist on the game show aspect...hilarious! Sexyand heartwarming too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    yay!!!

    Great writing, great story, great characters. I loved it. So much fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    loved it

    after reading book 1 in the love at stake series i was compelled (no pun intended) to read book 2. darcy is such a lively character and austin is such a charmer. again when i finished this book i needed to know...what comes next.

    great thing is this series gravitates around the same of characters you came to adore in how to marry a millonaire vampire (book 1). off to book three!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    pretty darn good!

    I am loving this series!! have them all and cant put them down. this is the second in the set and was pretty good- I loved the story but got annoyed by Austin- whose self struggle to be with Darcy borders on extremely insulting. I felt the author created Darcy too tough for that but otherwise- cant wait for the rest

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    kristen morton

    i have already read this book so i am re reading the whole series. but this book is really good and detailed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    'verra' good!

    I am really enjoying these books! Can't hardly put 'em down! You go girl! I would like to watch them as movies too!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    Not your typical vampire romance

    Good story. I loved that the author injected humor into the plot. I'm going to read the rest of this series. I also love the suspense gendre. I've got to know how the Malcontents are conquered---so I've got to read this series. I just can't stop. thsi one I couldn't put down. Loved it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 434 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22