Customer Reviews for

The Van Alen Legacy (Blue Bloods Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 872 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(550)

4 Star

(208)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Great Way to Continue the Series

Melissa De La Cruz's fourth book in the blood blue series is her best book yet. The pace and plot are rich and driven, leaving the reader with a focused, engaging story. Schuyler Van Alen is on the run from the New York coven, blamed for the murder of her grandfather, L...
Melissa De La Cruz's fourth book in the blood blue series is her best book yet. The pace and plot are rich and driven, leaving the reader with a focused, engaging story. Schuyler Van Alen is on the run from the New York coven, blamed for the murder of her grandfather, Lawrence. Her conduit, and best friend, Oliver Hazard-Perry is with her as she tries to seek the aid and protection of the European coven, all the while trying to discover more about The Van Alen Legacy. Meanwhile, Mimi and Kingsley, part of the Venator team, are back in Rio trying to find Bliss' younger sister Jordan, who was revealed at the Watcher, Sophia. Bliss is trying to deal with and overcome being a silver blood, and harboring Lucifer himself inside of her. Super charged with secrets, backstories, revelations, and a less than ordinary bonding ceremony, The Van Alen Legacy promises to satisfy readers while leaving them begging for more.

posted by Kady on October 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

It was ok

I was so excited for this book to come out after the last book left off, but for some reason I felt like this book dragged on alittle. I felt like it was going no where. It had its moments like oh my gosh! but then it continued to drag. It could have been better but I o...
I was so excited for this book to come out after the last book left off, but for some reason I felt like this book dragged on alittle. I felt like it was going no where. It had its moments like oh my gosh! but then it continued to drag. It could have been better but I only hope the next one will be better

posted by Nerd8491 on January 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 881 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 45
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    so happy

    I was so happy when I found out that this is not the last book the the blue bloods! I was very happy by the way VAL ended! BB forever!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow.

    This keeps you wanting more. Story line takes a few lefts and right (turns), but it's definetly thrill ride. Love the characters.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by YoungBibliophile for TeensReadToo.com

    Blue Blood Schuyler Van Alen and her Conduit, Oliver Hazard-Perry, are on the run.

    Her grandfather has just been murdered by the Silver Bloods, but the Conclave thinks she did it. Their last hope is to ask the European Conclave for refuge and aid as she tries to fight the demon that killed her grandfather and is looking to maybe get her next.

    Meanwhile, her best friend, Bliss Llewellyn, in is the Hamptons, where her body has been taken over by an unknown spirit she calls "The Visitor."

    Mimi Force is flying around the world, looking for Bliss's sister, Jordan, who is actually The Watcher, an age-old Blue Blood who keeps a lookout for the fallen angel, Lucifer.

    Old love brings Schuyler back to New York along with Mimi as Bliss fights to overcome her mysterious Visitor. But in the end, they must all come together to fight the Silver Bloods when they return with a vengeance.

    I really enjoyed this installment of the BLUE BLOODS series. Seeing the characters mature and change along with their relationships was so satisfying. We also learn a lot about the history of the Blue Bloods and the Croatan betrayal, which all ties into real history, which was really interesting.

    Overall, this was a great read, and I can't wait for the next one!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    Not Twilight!!!

    I picked up this book loving Twilight and the rest of the series. But when I read Blue Bloods, that quickly changed. Twilight is about a modest, semi attractive girl, with no fashion sense. With Blue Bloods you get the spoiled rich brats, who are all extremly good looking and partiers. And I like it. While Bella is a klutz and unfashionable, the Blue Blood characters have a Urban chic, party going, life style, that in these times most people need to escape the real world. They may be shallow but they truly have great lives.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    O.....M............. G!

    I can't WAIT! I want Scyler with Jack and i want Mimi to DIE! she needs to! Long live Jack and Scyler

    Anyways, I also want to know what happens to bliss, I feel sorry for her. And the Jordan thingy kinda puzzeled me.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Show Stopping!!

    This is by far the best book yet! I really enjoyed the change of perspectives and the way that De La Cruz is portraying the characters. I could not put this book down and I doubt you will be able to either!!! This book is full of Romance, Betrayal, Mystery, Suspense, and even a little Comedy. A must read!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good so far...

    So far i have really liked these books. The first one was hard to get through and keep my attention, it was as if De La Cruz was just getting the story together. i found it hard to follow but after the first one it has been a great series so far. I, however, still wonder why we don't get a look inside of Jack head... i'm sure she will explain later. Bliss didn't catch me off guard i was expecting it, i wonder if she will be strong enough to fight for herself though. I mean she is after all supposed to be a strong Blue Blood just as her sister, her visions(from the first or second book that she saw Mimi and Jack get married in) were not explained either - which is weird, she shouldn't be having them. i hope some of my questions are answered in the upcoming book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Perfect Shade of Blood

    I've been following the series since the second novel, and I am now completely hooked. The story is deep, the characters are complex, when can we have more?

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Sink Your Teeth Into the Action-Packed Story of The Van-Alen Legacy

    The Van Alen Legacy is the fourth book in the Blue Bloods series. The book picks up after the battle in Rio between the blue bloods and the silver bloods. It continues following the post-battle experiences of the vampires. The young vampires face more challenges as more secrets are found out. Schuyler Van Alen, a half-blood vampire, is convicted by the Conclave, of her grandfather's death during the battle. She leaves New York City for Paris where she plans to hide and run forever. Bliss Llewellyn, a blue blood, faces negative after effects from the battle, back in New York City. She realizes that she is confused to who she is and finds herself responding to an alter ego voice inside her head. The blue blood Mimi Force is back in Rio on a mission to find Jordan Llewellyn, "the watcher," and retrieve the information from her, that can be used to defeat the silver bloods. These three young girls continue on their independent adventures and discover more secrets revolving the battle. Familiar vampires are reintroduced into these vampires' lives. Schuyler, Bliss, and Mimi have their loyalties tested as they discover their true identities. Their paths finally cross when they all meet at the wedding of the year. With an unexpected twist, their fate is changed yet again and just as the old secrets come out, new ones emerge. It seems that their battles will never end.
    The main character is Schuyler Van Alen. She is tall and skinny with blue eyes and dark hair. She wears baggy clothes and is known as a social outcast at school. Not only at school but even as a vampire because she is a half-blood. Although not everyone accepts her, she is not afraid to be her own person. She is the only one in her family left alive, so she relies solely on her friends. Her best friend Oliver is there to support her, just as she would do for him. She is loyal. She also is very brave and tricky as she challenges the Conclave. Although she is viewed as an outcast, she is the one that can defeat the silver bloods. As she learns how to do this, her loyalties are put to the test and she loses friends. Her life becomes more hectic compared to what she was used to, but her adventures continue and she survives.
    I would definitely recommend this book for anyone. It is a lot like Twilight because the characters are strong and interesting. It is unpredictable where their adventures will lead them. This book has a more complex but also more captivating plot line than Twilight. Almost everything is a hint from the past and very interesting to piece what lead to the battle. I like books where irony contributes to the structure like this one. It's very entertaining. Both these books are about vampires that are strong characters, but the plot is different. However, they are similar and I would recommend the Twilight series as well. In this book, the theme has a good message- to be confident in the skin that you have. Schuyler was known as an outcast but was ok with it. As a result, she ends up being even more important than she thought. This is something that people everywhere should follow. Every person has something to give to this world, although they may not know what it is. Schuyler shows that even if you are different, you have the power to make a difference.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Breathtaking Blue Bloods!!!

    Melissa de la Cruz has done it again! This is the best book in an awesome, original series, I can't wait to read what happens next!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Keeps getter better and better

    Wow, This serise just gets better by each book that comes out. Bliss, Mimi and Schlyer kinda tell the story. Biliss is kind of Crazy and is going to trun into a ..........! Mimi and Jack are going to go their own ways for a year but something in Mimi changes and it has to do with Jack and ..........!Schlyer and Oliver are on the run from the New York Coven. Like always someone is trying to kill Schlyer Van Alen. There were many question that were answerd form the last books in this one but it will leave some lose ends. Some thing that I was not expecting to happen was that Gabrielle is going to help Schlyer and Bilss in a way that you won't imangen. Oliver is the best friend that Schlyer could have becuse he is goting to ....... I would recommend this book to anyone how is reading the Blue blood serise. GREAT BOOK ( dot dot dot are for you can read the book and find out what is going to happen)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    Worth waiting for

    I was so excited to get my copy and i have top say it didnt let me down. I had a hard time putting it down. I cant wait fo rthe next book in the series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!! Starting to get somewhere now!!

    I love love love this series!!! The begining of the book was a little confusing because of the switching between the three characters points of view so quickly, but once i got use to it...WOW!!! This was def my fav so far!!! It had me guessing til the end and like always left me wondering whats next for my fav New York Blue Bloods!!! Great book, surprise after surprise!!! Who does skye chose jack or ollie???? Must read to the book and find out wouldn't to spoil the fun!!! I was def not dissapointed!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best book of the series so far!!!

    Finally everthing is beginning to make sense. I have been a little confused as to where to story was supposed to be heading, but no longer.
    In this fourth installment characters are fleshed out and evolving. Some experience heartbreak while others experience joy. I found myself really enjoying a character that up until now I despised. By far the best book so far. Am now waiting with breathe that is baited for the next book.

    If you haven't read this series make sure to start at the beginning, well worthe the read!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    great series

    the book that started my vampire craze was Blue Bloods when it first came out. now i have read almostevery novel done on vampires. This series will always hold a place in my heart and can not wait for the next installment to come out.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    love this series

    i love the series! i fell in love with it! I especially like the characters, they are always on point and there never dull.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT SERIES!!!

    I REALLY ENJOY READING... WHEN I WAS FINISHED WITH THE TWILIGHT SAGA I WANTED MORE... SO I WENT TO THE STORE I PICKED UP THIS SERIES AND FELL IN LOVE WITH IT... I BEEN WAITING FOR THE NEXT BOOK... SINCE I FINSHED THE LAST ONE... SO IF YOU ENJOY TWILIGHT AS MUCH AS I DID YOU SHOULD READ THIS SERIES!!! NOTHING LIKE TWILIGHT BUT YOU WILL ENJOY IT AS MUCH...

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    omg!!!

    what happened to jack and schuyler!!!! they werent ezactly perfect for eachother cause of mimi but i mean still!!!!! mimi is just a witch i mean only thinking about herself! i cant wait to read it!!!!! my freind and i are in love with these books!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    OMG!!!!!WOW!

    OH MY GOSH! What happened to Jack and Schyler? They were....well i can't say perfect because Jack's technically meant for Mimi- but they were really really close to perfect. And I love them together! Long love Schyler and Jack!!! Love this series. Sometimes confusing but I still LOVE it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't Wait!!!!

    I love the whole Blue Bloods Ser.!
    I was soooo sad at the end of the last book! :(
    I know this book will be great!!! :)


    P.S.
    I hate Mimi!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 881 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 45