Customer Reviews for

Van Halen

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    One of the best debuts of all-time. Tons of energy, fun songs, s

    One of the best debuts of all-time.
    Tons of energy, fun songs, sing/shout along choruses and guitar work that revolutionized the instrument.
    Come for the massive radio hits ("Running with the Devil", "You Really Got Me", "Ain't Talking Bout Love") and stay for the jaw-dropping, electric deep cuts ("I'm the One", "On Fire", "Atomic Punk")

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Must have for any VH fan

    If you don't have this CD, you've got to get it. It's more like a "best of" than a debut. All the songs are hits. I first heard Van Halen in the 70s with "You Really Got Me" and have been a fan ever since (and that was when I was in middle school-really!) David Lee Roth is the ultimate VH lead man. This CD is the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    THis vinyl reissue is dissapointing to say the least.

    What a shame. This is one of the releases from the 70s that deserves a top notch remastering job and pressing. It got neither from Warner and Kevin Grey. I compared my 30+ year old original vinyl to this supposedly better 180 gram pressing and I could not have been more dissappointed.
    Roth's vocals all but dissappeared on the reissue. E-v-e-r-y-t-h-i-n-g is muddy. Low end has no punch or definition, mids are a jumbled mess and the high end has no air or detail whatsoever. Granted these original master tapes are over 30 years old so I would imagine only so much information can be derived from them but come on, this job isn't even close to being good. If you can find a copy of the original vinyl pressing.....grab it. I'm keeping my original and giving it a good disc doctor treatment. I'm givig this reissue away....as soon as I can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An outstanding debut album!

    This album is awesome from start to finish, and it features the hits &quot Runnin' With The Devil&quot , a cover of The Kinks' &quot You Really Got Me&quot , &quot Jamie's Cryin'&quot , and &quot Eruption&quot , which is definately for the guitar enthusiasts to learn, and for keyboardists too, because not only you could do the piano, but you can use the guitar sound on the electric keyboards too. This album is way before Wolfgang Van Halen's birth, whom he would replace Michael Anthony on bass, who in fact was the founding bassist, but features the debut of David Lee Roth who would help launch one of the greatest bands, who would one day be, Rock and Roll Hall of Famers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!!!

    This album probably re-defined guitar playing forever. Eddie took some of Jimmy Page/Tony Iommi and took it to another level. Eruption started a new era in guitar. Probably the best hard rock album in the late 70's, when Van Halen was at its peak. Too bad it was a time bomb fueled by an ego-maniac singer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This album rocks!!!

    I have to tell you that this is one of my favorite albums ever. Every song on this album is excellent. Erupton with a frantic, fast-paced, two handed-tapping mayhem guitar solo. Ain't Talkin' Bout Love's excellent guitar riff. On Fire's crazy screaming and nice rythmic beat. Ice Cream Man's excellent transitioning from acoustic (David Lee Roth) to the elictrifying electric guitar (Eddie) and the solo. Runnin' with the Devil's excellent chorus, guitar riffs, and background screaming. Jamies Cryin' fun to listen to song (hard to explain this one). Little Dreamers good guitar riff and chorus and alot of other things that makes this album awesome. Eddie Van Halen is one of my rock guitar idols. So far I have learned how to play every single song that involved Van Halen. all and all, if you are a Van Halen fan like me this should be your number 1 choice. Also look out for me, I have formed my band called Black Pheonix and my group is going to bring an onsluaght of old-school rock 'n roll. Featuring me: lead guitars, keyborads Kenny Louis: bass, vocals John Daichi Todokoro: drums. Our group is going to be similar to Rush, Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, and definetly Van Halen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Van Halen's Best

    This album is AMAZING. With tracks like: Eruption, Runnin' With The Devil, You Really Got Me, and Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love, HOW CAN THIS ALBUM BE BAD? I really like "Ice Cream Man", its transition from acoustic to electric guitar is really cool. Eddie Van Halen's talent on the guitar really shows on this album. If you really like hard rock guitar then you must buy this album, as my old guitar teacher would say: "You can't go wrong with Eddie Van Halen".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Eruption is the $#!T

    1978, when VH first made their self-titled album, eruption, i think on this album was probably one of the most influential %#!@in' solos ever made. I mean come on man, a f***** minute forty two, hammer on hammer off tapping, two handed finger tapping, this song was the reason that made me start playing the f***** guitar. And start my own band. EVH is my mother f***** hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1