Customer Reviews for

Van Halen 101

Average Rating 3.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2006

    Would be a good book thats if your a guitar player

    Sorry would like to read more about the band itself. Had almost a whole chapter on counting the notes in guitar solos? Much more important stuff to cover then something like that. Repeated info over and over again. Dont see how this was considered a great book. What about what happened on the tours? None of this was really covered.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2006

    A Waste of Time

    I'm sorry but I felt Mr. Sanchez told us long time Van Halen fans little to nothing that we did not already know. And I have followed Van Halen since 1978. This nearly 400 page book could have been approx. 200 pages if the author would not have repeated himself so often and 'babbled' on and on. I was very disappointed in this book. There is also some guesswork done here. I can do that! Sorry, but I have to wonder how this book got published. This is nothing more than a Van Halen fan rambling on and on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Longwinded

    Glad this was cheap. This guy is repetitive and dull. He blows through Van Halen history then just focuses on his sycophantic worship of how great Eddie is... page after page of it. We already knew that dude... tell us something we didnt know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    LOL!

    I love the cover! It is so cool and awesome!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Horribly written rehash of known material

    The authur has no business writing a book when he fails ar grasping even the basics of grammar and spelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2006

    Van Halen 101

    All a fan could want in a book and much much more. Terrific job. Extremely thorough and detailed take on that little 'ol band from Pasadena. A book for the true fan as well as the novice looking to sink their teeth into VH. Anyone who reads this will walk away with an encyclopedic knowledge of this group and there's even a tribute to Eddie where all these amazing musicians turned up to discuss and pay respect to the man who is arguably the most important rock guitarist of our lifetime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    Van Halen 101

    You won't find a better more comprehensive guide to Van Halen anywhere. The first, last and only VH book fans will ever need. Desert Island reading material.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2005

    Van Halen 101

    This is an excellent book. Nice to read something by someone who so clearly understands the subject they have written about. I don't know if any book is perfect, but this one is as close as it gets. Every other page found me shaking my head going, 'Damn, I never knew that.' Mind you, I've always considered myself a pretty knowledgeable VH fan. Well this book humbled me with a quickness. The overall focus of this book is on the history, influence and music of the band, not on the drama. I have to admit that is quite refreshing considering how many books on musicians & bands always seem to focus on the drama rather than on what's truly important. It is 400+ pages brimming with all things VH, plus a tribute to Eddie that one must read to believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2005

    Van Halen 101

    Hands down the best VH book I've ever come across. A monumental effort that has left even die-hard fans such as myself shaking their head. The foreword by Brian May is priceless, the cover shot is impossible to take your eyes off of, and the commentary provided by all those legendary musicians who appear in the Tribute to EVH chapter is mind-blowing. Far as I'm concerned its the only VH book I or anyone else will ever need. Thumbs up for VH101.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2005

    Van Halen 101

    Buy it, borrow it, or flat out steal it! Do whatever you have to do to get your paws on this book. If you're any kind of a Van Halen fan, you have to own a copy. The same can be said for anyone simply trying to learn about Eddie and the band. Over the years I have religiously purchased anything and everything ever written about VH. Basically, Van Halen 101 put 'em all to shame. I'd probably need an hour or two just to explain everything I love about it. Besides that, I think the 'About the Book' section on this page covers it quite well. It tells you everything you need to know. So definitely give this one a shot. You won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2005

    Soon-To-Be Bestseller

    This is one of the most professional and complete books I have ever read on any musical group. As a professional musician myself, I am thrilled that the author captured the history of this group with a profound depth that excels above the norm. It is a MUST READ for any rock music fan guitar fan musician and even the history buff. Bestseller potential? You bet!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1