Customer Reviews for

Vanilla on Top

Average Rating 4.5
( 216 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

First in the "Walk on the Wild Side" series [a series

First in the "Walk on the Wild Side" series [a series of light BDSM discovery stories], Vanilla on Top follows Heather and Tony's growing relationship. Heather goes from a wallflower into a strong woman who is not afraid to go after what she desires where as s...
First in the "Walk on the Wild Side" series [a series of light BDSM discovery stories], Vanilla on Top follows Heather and Tony's growing relationship. Heather goes from a wallflower into a strong woman who is not afraid to go after what she desires where as successful businessman Tony, learns the freedom in letting go and together they become something more. The sex scenes are tastefully done and hot to read, and the plot is well written.

Fans of the Shades of Grey trilogy should enjoy this story.

posted by Wendy_C on January 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Very bad story

Dont read it ar all nothing intersting

posted by Anonymous on January 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    First in the "Walk on the Wild Side" series [a series

    First in the "Walk on the Wild Side" series [a series of light BDSM discovery stories], Vanilla on Top follows Heather and Tony's growing relationship. Heather goes from a wallflower into a strong woman who is not afraid to go after what she desires where as successful businessman Tony, learns the freedom in letting go and together they become something more. The sex scenes are tastefully done and hot to read, and the plot is well written.

    Fans of the Shades of Grey trilogy should enjoy this story.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    Once again, C.J. Ellisson has exceeded my expectations. Vanilla

    Once again, C.J. Ellisson has exceeded my expectations. Vanilla on Top was an amazing, HOT read. I literally couldn't put it down (who needs to do housework anyway when I've got a delicious book like this lying around???). I read it in under 24 hours and NOW I'm (im)patiently waiting on a next-in-series. I always love it when I can put myself in a storyline. I could SO see myself in some of the things Heather did and felt. The only thing that could've probably made the story better (for me, personally) is if she'd been a redhead! ;) 

    Vanilla on Top is very well written and extremely detailed. Character development is awesome and I LOVE how Heather grabs what she wants by the...ahem...pants and goes for it! I also love how it's not a one-sided relationship where the "take charge" is concerned. By the end, they learn to give and receive. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this book!!!! 

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Far from 50 shades...in a good way.

    Based on the blurb, one would assume this book would be like a certain trilogy that involves an individual named Grey. Where those books had no real direction and plot, "Vanilla on Top", actually weaves a story between the two leads where the connection is more genuine. Both leading characters are searching for something that has been missing from both their career and personal lives and through time and each other they are able to find what they are looking for. Although in the case of Heather, it was a bit of a stretch that limited acting lessons can allow her to change her persona but I guess the idea is that it was a side of her that she never got to show. All in all, I felt the connection was believable and it is told in a way that captures your attention.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Very Very Very Good! I really enjoyed this book. I feel like Hea

    Very Very Very Good! I really enjoyed this book. I feel like Heather does what almost every girl wants to do. She is shy and basically lets most people walk all over her, but then she meets Tony at speed dating. Tony is a workaholic who complains about wanting someone else to tell him what to do every once in a while. Heather takes him up on it and then some. 
    This story is very HOT and will leave you wanting MORE!  I recommend this book. It was a quick and enjoyable read. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    While the pace of the book is fast and thrilling, CJ Ellisson ma

    While the pace of the book is fast and thrilling, CJ Ellisson managed to ingrain a good bit of anticipation and depth into her plot. The scenes are HOT! The kind that will leave you fanning yourself as the room gets inevitably warmer. As a woman, you can’t help but want to put yourself in Heather’s shoes, especially when she’s calling the shots! :-p We should be taking notes, ladies. It’s almost a manual. The interaction between the protagonists and their respective best friends felt real, allowing me as a reader to connect with them as well as find them relatable. The many facets of Tony are a treat to unwrap throughout the book and make him more than your typical lead. Overall, I am very pleased with the book and can’t wait to see what else CJ has in store for us. Perhaps Marcus and Carla hit it off? Wink wink.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    4.5 STARS Fun Sexy Read Had a few hesitations going into this b

    4.5 STARS Fun Sexy Read

    Had a few hesitations going into this book, which clearly were unfounded as I was unable to put the Nook down! We start out with our timid Wallflower Heather who realizes sometimes you simply have to be the change you wanna see and take the bull by the horns (*ahem* and does she ever)! Annnnd enter Tony Carmine stage left... Company big shot and notorious playboy. Something about this take charge vixen he meets while speed dating leaves him with an unsated taste for more. ;] Heather quickly learns that she enjoys playing this role, but will her confidence shatter when their professional worlds collide? Will Tony's need for control resurrect?

    This was my first C.J. Ellison book and won't be my last. Vanilla On Top is well written told from both Heather and Tony's point of view which only added depth to the characters and thier story. They were refreshingly relatable, mature in the sense they’ve learned from past relationships and experiences and are willingly apply those lessons into exploring a potential future; that is if the world around them doesn't destroy them first.

    "Damn, I've got it bad. When the hell did this sneak up on me?
    She had you when she told you to get on your knees." Tony to himself

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    VANILLA ON TOP (Walk on the Wildside #1) by C.J. Ellisson ABOUT

    VANILLA ON TOP (Walk on the Wildside #1) by C.J. Ellisson
    ABOUT THE BOOK:  Released January 2013
    Discover your inner bad girl, and set her free…
    Heather Pierce is done being a wallflower, both personally and professionally. Desperate to live a different life for one night, she attends a speed dating event. Maybe here, anonymous unless she chooses otherwise, she can become someone new. When a man way out of her league sits across from her, Heather gathers her courage and takes charge of what she wants, secretly fearing he won’t desire the real person she’s desperate to hide.
    Top acquisitions officer and international playboy Tony Carmine is about to close the biggest deal of his career. But then he meets Heather at a speed dating event…and discovers losing control may be exactly what he needs. Her blossoming sensuality occupies his every thought, consuming him with the need to possess the most intriguing lover he’s ever encountered—until he walks into the boardroom and sees Heather on the other side of the negotiating table
    REVIEW:  
    I was first introduced to C.J. through her amazing and sexy V.V. Inn series about a powerful vampire and her seethe of vampires and werewolves.  As an example of a powerful woman, Vivian is the ultimate hunter-she knows her prey and they know what to expect.
    VANILLA ON TOP is another example of a strong woman-but a woman who must think outside her protective cocoon and step up to play the game.  
    Heather Pierce is a woman who is tired of waiting in the wings for something exciting in her life.  On the advice of a friend, she reluctantly attends a speed-dating event only to find she is intrigued with the idea of bringing a man to his knees-literally.  Heather venture into the wild side will change everything she ever knew about herself and more.
    Tony Carmine is the ultimate alpha-male.  He knows what he wants and he goes for the jugular every time-especially in the world of hostile corporate take overs. But when a chance encounter at a speed-dating event brings Tony to his knees, he is no longer sure of anything in his life.  Something has to give and Tony knows he has to make the ultimate sacrifice if he wants to survive.
    CJ Ellisson writes a story of one woman’s desire to step outside of her comfort zone and explore the wilder side of life. It is every woman’s fantasy to take control and in VANILLA ON TOP we live the fantasy through CJ’s writing. From Heather’s explorations of sensual picnics, smexy texting and seductive foot wear, the reader will be pulled into the storyline and experience one woman’s re-awakening at the hands of the man with whom she is falling in love and the experience of exploring one’s inner vixen-all in the name of power and control. The likelihood of such an abrupt 180 turn around in reality may not be plausible without something major precipitating the change, but Vanilla on Top is a fun story to push the proverbial edge-after all it is a work of fiction and every reader wants to escape the reality of their own lives. And in the end, the ultimate power and control over each other’s heart is what this couple had been looking for –all along.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Yum

    This was the first book i read from C. J. and definately wont be my last,

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2014

    I truly enjoyed Heather and Tony little merger.... Being who she

    I truly enjoyed Heather and Tony little merger.... Being who she really was inside after a moment of thinking outside the box not only brought Heather a new job but love in the real form. 
    I guess Tony proved men can be persuaded given the right paddle boost. It not only had him aroused but brought him from a stressful environment. He was a great man and enjoyed a little power exchange.
    This was a nice read but I wanted Brian to get fired SO bad. LOL, the jerk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    C.J. Ellisson's Vanilla on Top is steamy, funny, serious and not

    C.J. Ellisson's Vanilla on Top is steamy, funny, serious and not quite believable. However, that did not stop me from enjoying this story of a shy kitten turning into a lion. It has strong plot development, even stronger characters and it’s all about the relationship. The characters do not whine, abuse or generally annoy each other or the reader. Heather is a wonderful main female character; Tony is great too but at times a bit over zealous. The switch back and forth from POV was interesting not distracting. Good read for an evening alone, because once you start you will want to finish. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    I received this book exchange for an honest review. This is a go

    I received this book exchange for an honest review. This is a good book, I had a little trouble with it at first. I thank in the beginning it was missing the connection but as I read it got a lot better. The fact that they were both alphas and could balance that out with each other and have a lot of fun made the book very interesting. I like the way C.J. Ellisson writes. If you like your romance with some kinky fun you'll like Ms. Ellisson's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    I received this book exchange for an honest review. This is a go

    I received this book exchange for an honest review. This is a good book, I had a little trouble with it at first. I thank in the beginning it was missing the connection but as I read it got a lot better. The fact that they were both alphas and could balance that out with each other and have a lot of fun made the book very interesting. I like the way C.J. Ellisson writes. If you like your romance with some kinky fun you'll like Ms. Ellisson's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    I enjoyed it, once I realized that it was "light" domi

    I enjoyed it, once I realized that it was "light" dominance and not too heavy. It was interesting watching both 
    characters step out of their comfort zones to become a couple. There was just enough of both the dominance
    and romance to make it interesting. The characters are very believable, both workaholics who wanted
    more. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    Interesting story -- and yes, there actually was a story, altho

    Interesting story -- and yes, there actually was a story, altho at the very beginning I almost doubted that. Heather meets
    Tony at a speed dating even. She decides to act 'out of character' and has a rendevous with Tony on a balcony during
    the event, where she realized that she doesn't have to always be the submissive partner. Tony calls her a 'vanilla dom' as
    opposed to a hardcore one -- not sure I would have liked the latter for heather.  I enjoyed watching the two
    characters change and become more true to themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Nice

    Very good, quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Good read

    Enjoyed the switch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Good read

    I wasn't sure what to expect when I read this. Good light romance read. I would read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Awesome!

    Absolutely loved this book! Excited to see what comes next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is Book One of C.J. Ellison's new series, 'Walk on the Wild

    This is Book One of C.J. Ellison's new series, 'Walk on the Wild Side.'


    Heather is a shy, intelligent woman looking to spice things up when she meets Tony at a speed dating event. She takes the initiative to be more dominant with him and discovers a whole new side of herself.


    If you are looking for a fresh new take on the rising trend of erotic, office romance, this book is definitely for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Good Book!

    I liked the characters and story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3