Customer Reviews for

Vanilla On Top

Average Rating 4.5
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Wow C.J Ellisson has done it again!! Vanilla on Top is a must re

Wow C.J Ellisson has done it again!!
Vanilla on Top is a must read book. An erotic novel with an interesting touch of BDSM thrown in. Meet Heather a shy and retiring girl and Tony a workaholic business man. Share with them a sexual journey of  adventure and discovery.
T...
Wow C.J Ellisson has done it again!!
Vanilla on Top is a must read book. An erotic novel with an interesting touch of BDSM thrown in. Meet Heather a shy and retiring girl and Tony a workaholic business man. Share with them a sexual journey of  adventure and discovery.
This book left me needing more and iI hope there will be more. Ladies if you like Heather are a wallflower in the bedroom open these pages and open your minds. This story is hot! hot! HOT and reading about Heather's evolving from wallflower to the mistress of her needs is exciting and sizzling.  

posted by rainbowgirl12 on January 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Very bad story

Dont read it ar all nothing intersting

posted by Anonymous on January 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    Wow C.J Ellisson has done it again!! Vanilla on Top is a must re

    Wow C.J Ellisson has done it again!!
    Vanilla on Top is a must read book. An erotic novel with an interesting touch of BDSM thrown in. Meet Heather a shy and retiring girl and Tony a workaholic business man. Share with them a sexual journey of  adventure and discovery.
    This book left me needing more and iI hope there will be more. Ladies if you like Heather are a wallflower in the bedroom open these pages and open your minds. This story is hot! hot! HOT and reading about Heather's evolving from wallflower to the mistress of her needs is exciting and sizzling.  

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    i usually read on paranormal romance/erotica, so this is outside

    i usually read on paranormal romance/erotica, so this is outside my normal reading genre. and what a happy surprise it was, i loved this book. will definitely be reading more by this author. hot, hot, hot book!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    `Oh! what a tangled web we weave...' Alright, I know you probabl

    `Oh! what a tangled web we weave...' Alright, I know you probably read that in your most sinister voice. Try it in your most seductive voice,
     confident and in charge, then you'll feel the power that Heather feels when she taps into her inner bad girl.

    The story isn't really about the deception or pretending she's something that she's not, but the emergence of the butterfly that was
    hidden within. Heather is a marvelously complex character, and the reader is there with her watching her growth and metamorphosis.

    While Heather is on her journey, Tony is on his as well. He's at the top of his game. A true power player in the business world, but
    something is missing. Jokingly looking for someone to take charge, he finds Heather at a speed dating event. Boy, does she take
    charge! He doesn't even realize that this whirlwind of a girl is going to turn his life upside down.

    Will the smart, take charge behind the scenes girl find the confidence and drive to make her dreams come true? Will the dynamic
    business man find someone to pull the strings to his heart? The twists and turns will have you hanging on every word. Each chapter
    pulls the reader in deeper, rooting for Tony and Heather.

    Then there is the steam factor. Steamy! Oh my goodness, Ms. Ellisson's natural ability to put the reader in the moment with her
    characters is at its best in Vanilla on Top. It's definitely a book that you don't want to put down and it would be wise to have a fan handy.

    Kudos for an excellent beginning for this series, personally I can't wait to see what's next for Ms. Ellisson and her characters.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    WOW!!! I absolutely love this book!!! It is erotic yes, but the

    WOW!!!
    I absolutely love this book!!! It is erotic yes, but the story line will keep you so enthralled that you will find it being the perfect combination of story and steam! Looking very much forward to more books from this author!!!  

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    To read Vanilla On Top is more like getting the whole sundae. I

    To read Vanilla On Top is more like getting the whole sundae. In a time when more erotic romance is funneling into the market, Vanilla On Top stands out above the rest. CJ Ellisson creates a story with believable characters that you can relate to using normal everyday behavior and humor. Right from the get go you are hooked into Heather and Tony's chemistry. Add to that an intense relationship and plot, and you have a book that is hard to put down even for the most mundane tasks. Thank you for writing such a wonderful book Miss Ellisson. I'm off to have the same vanilla sundae again!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    I LOVE this book!! I'm a bit of a wallflower like Heather and sh

    I LOVE this book!! I'm a bit of a wallflower like Heather and she just opens up and gains confidence and is able to start going after what she wants!She is commanding, and Tony needs a woman like Heather, to help him relax and slow down and see what he really wants in life! I would love to be able to take charge like she does. She is so strong and sexy and confident, and you get to watch as she starts to realize that. The sex scenes are so hot but it's not overdone. It's very tasteful while being incredibly steamy! It's not just sex, it's story and characterization. Heather and Tony aren't just flat characters; they have depth and desires and insecurities and we get to watch them grow and change into who they didn't realize they wanted to be. And they grow and change together in their relationship as well! I won't give away the ending but I was on the edge of my seat and emotional in a good way!! I couldn't stop reading until the end!!  

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    Great book well written. I Loved this book and her other books a

    Great book well written. I Loved this book and her other books are even better, they are totally different to anything i have read. 
    Don't start unless you are prepared, to not have to put it down and not at work.
    Great story line the other reviews have said it all.
    If you want a HOT BOOK you FOUND IT

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    OMG - first off - I adore the Brazen line. They have all been T

    OMG - first off - I adore the Brazen line. They have all been TOP NOTCH.

    Now, I almost didn't buy this one because the description just didn't do it for me. BUT, as I have loved all the others in the Brazen line, I decided to go for it. And boy and I glad I did! This book was beyond sexy! Like, after the first chapter I was ready to pounce on my husband.

    Seriously - this line of books is excellent and this one is amazing! BUY IT! You will not regret it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    I have enjoyed CJ Ellison's VV series of books and decided to gi

    I have enjoyed CJ Ellison's VV series of books and decided to give this one a go. So glad I did. I have to admit it got me going... Work in the office the next day had me thinking if any of my coworkers had a bit of Tony to their off hours recreation.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    Ms. Ellisson does it again! Another fantastic and incredibly er

    Ms. Ellisson does it again! Another fantastic and incredibly erotic book under her belt! I love how you can really relate to Heather and her insecurities, and even more so when she decides to let herself go. I mean, who doesn't like to order a hot guy to his knees? ;) I absolutely love the different POVs, and I have found no other book that is able to pull it off so well. Looking for a hot read, with a believable and relatable storyline? Look no further! I will be waiting very (im)patiently for her next book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    I loved this book! I loved everything about it! The characters

    I loved this book! I loved everything about it! The characters were believable and likeable. The sex was hot and steamy. The story hit hard at the very beginning and didn't let up, moving at a good pace that never stopped. There is not one single dull moment in this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    AWESOME!!!!!

    I loved this book! It was fun to see Heather and Tony grow, in their own way, as the book went on. It was HOT HOT HOT and sexy as all get out : D I can't wait to see if there will be more, I would love to see where Hesther and Tony go from here...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    Loved this book! C.J. Ellisson draws you in from the first Chap

    Loved this book! C.J. Ellisson draws you in from the first Chapter and doesn’t let go until the last word on the last page. You will fall in love with Tony and Heather and find yourself flipping pages to find out what happens next! Kudos to Miss Ellisson for flipping the script and making the woman in charge and the man scrambling to please her. Great story! Great characters! Hot sex!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    This is one of those stories that leave a lasting impression on

    This is one of those stories that leave a lasting impression on you, from the character development to the story telling.
    CJ has an interesting way to tell a story, the chapters alternate one from the heroine's pov, the next from the hero's then back to the heroine's. This added another level for me as I loved knowing what was going on inside Tony's head as well as Heather's. I felt really invested in them as a couple and I was rooting for them to get a happy ever after! I'll be buying the next one for sure and I'll never look at a table tennis bat the same way again! ;)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    it is rare to find ann author who gets you to identify with the

    it is rare to find ann author who gets you to identify with the charachters so easily and quickly. If you do not see parts of Heather in yoursefl, you know people who are just like her, and Tony. there is a romance, and a nice little background story that keeps you guessing. Sex scenes are tasteful, but leave you wanting more, they are that hot and steamy..and I would love to have an encounter in a shoe shop just like theirs

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    awesome story, couldnt put it down. Love it

    awesome story, couldnt put it down. Love it

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    You know how there are some books out there that you can connect

    You know how there are some books out there that you can connect to because the characters embody "the girl/boy next door"? The characters are believable and likeable and you care what happens to them. Well, there are even better instances when you have a more personal connection and think, wow that character is me. The author C.J. Ellisson invokes that feeling with her new book Vanilla on Top. Within the first couple of pages I was hooked and totally identifying with Heather and her insecurities. I appreciated the fact that within the first couple of chapters you can see her grow as a person. I also like the interaction between Heather and her friend Carla. They are friends, but not everything between them is roses, which unfortunately is the case in many adult friendships. How many times have we had a friend encourage us to be more aggressive or assertive and once we do, the green monster rears? The resolution of professional conundrum in the book also caused me anxiety, because I kept wondering how they were going to resolve it. This is the first book I've ever read that walked you through the entire in-depth relationship building between two characters. I really understand both main characters' motivations and insecurities. The story is well written and believable. The sex scenes are HOT! without being "trashy". If you want to read a quality book about a woman coming into her own and developing a meaningful relationship that also has some hot, sexy scenes, then by all means, you need to pick up this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    C.j. Ellisson is a master when it comes to writing. I have read

    C.j. Ellisson is a master when it comes to writing. I have read her VV Inn paranormal/urban fantasy series (Vampire Vacation, The Hunt & Big Game) and they were Fabulous. Now she burns up the pages with Vanilla on Top (her 1st book in the Wild Side Series!) Heather wants to take control for a change and Tony doesn't mind giving her that control at ALL! Great storyline, plot and characters!! The intimate scenes are well written, sexy, without being vulgar or to over the top! If you are looking for a scorcher, this is a MUST read. You will definitely finish wanting MORE...and it may make you wonder how much control do you want in the bedroom???
    flag

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    What a nice surprise!

    Well, I really enjoyed this book although I did not have high expectations. I was kind of hesitant to read it because the whole idea of the female character becoming the dominant partner. I assumed the male character would be a wuss. I was wrong. Tony is a great male character and I really enjoyed Heather's inner struggle to gain control of her life and emotions. The book is also well written, so you enjoy seeing these two come together despite their unconventional first encounter. It was a very nice read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    this is n amazing book that gets you hooked straight away its  r

    this is n amazing book that gets you hooked straight away its  relateable but  spicey I could not put this book down for a second there is the perfect mix of drama and sex and I would and have recomend it to anybody if you want an addictive and steamy read you really dont need to go any further as I have no doubt you will fall in love with this book 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6