Customer Reviews for

Vanish (Firelight Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 274 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Awesome book

I got the uncorrected proof from a book convention, and it was a great book. A lot happens from the very beginning where it starts exactly where it left off with Jacinda leaving her home. I wont give any spoilers, but ill say i never expected the outcome of this book. I...
I got the uncorrected proof from a book convention, and it was a great book. A lot happens from the very beginning where it starts exactly where it left off with Jacinda leaving her home. I wont give any spoilers, but ill say i never expected the outcome of this book. If you like the first book, you'll Love the second.

posted by twilight123256 on May 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Too much whining for me

I read Firelight and really enjoyed the story. I was excited to jump back into Jacinda's life. Firelight left off with Jacinda showing her Draki form to hunters in an attempt to save Will, the human that she loves. Cassian, the prince of their pride, who is also Jacinda...
I read Firelight and really enjoyed the story. I was excited to jump back into Jacinda's life. Firelight left off with Jacinda showing her Draki form to hunters in an attempt to save Will, the human that she loves. Cassian, the prince of their pride, who is also Jacinda's betrothed, comes to take Jacinda, her mother and sister back to their pride. Which... is where Vanish starts off.

My favorite character in this book was Cassian. He is so patient and understanding when it comes to Jacinda even though all she does is mope around over Will. Little things that he did really made me like him, like when they return to their pride Cassian promises to do what he can to protect them from being punished for escaping. I also thought it was sweet when they got into an altercation and Jacinda went running off and he followed her. Most guys would be fed up by that point and would just shrug it off and say "whatever". Jacinda even acknowledges how great Cassian is by thinking, "I know what my life would be like if I stayed here. It wouldn't be a bad life. Cassian would always be my friend, would always have my back, and he would help me gain acceptance among the pride." And yet she still pines over Will.

I have to admit that her obsession with Will was a bit extreme. With everything that is happening to her, she just continues to sulk. Not even 60 pages in and I was rolling my eyes hoping that the story would pick up. Unfortunately for me... it didn't. The entire book focuses on Jacinda's mixed feelings about Will and whether or not she can say good-bye to him as well as sorting out the feelings that she is developing for Cassian. I think my last straw for Jacinda was when she and Cassian's little sister Miram were captured by the hunters and Will comes to save the day. Jacinda leaves Miram and takes off with Will. She tries to get Miram to leave with them but Miram is scared and says that she doesn't trust Will or Jacinda. So she just up and runs off with Will. Right there was when I lost all respect for Jacinda.

I really wanted to like this book. I really liked Firelight but for some reason Jacinda took a nose dive and instead of being the draki that I knew from Firelight, she wound up being this whiny, moping girl who couldn't even see that a great guy was in front of her the whole time waiting patiently. The cliffhanger of an ending couldn't even redeem itself and make me want to pick up the third book

posted by Book_Sniffers_Anonymous on October 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Jacinda fell in love with the human Will and disclosed her bigge

    Jacinda fell in love with the human Will and disclosed her biggest secret - of being a draki - in the first FIRELIGHT book. It didn't end well and Jacinda and her family had to return to the pride they had once escaped. Now, the second part of her story offers a deeper insight into the tribe culture of the draki pride. We see how the system of power and social acceptance in the group work as a mechanism of control, even over Jacinda's personal life. Her people - who would do everything to stay hidden in the mountains and protect their group - put high pressure on Jacinda's relationship with Will and try to keep the young lovers apart.
    While being back in the pride, she has to adept to her old life again and try to mend all the broken bonds of friendship and family she had left behind. We learn more about several pride members like Cassian's cousin Corbin and his sister Miram, who didn’t exactly make an impression on me with their friendliness. Tamra, Jacinda’s sister plays and important role, too.
    Some sequences felt rather sluggish, whereas scenes featuring Will managed to at least satisfy me in some way. He is definitely my favourite character in VANISH, because he is most likely and convinces with his steady character and strong believes.
    It were Jacinda's feelings and struggles that didn't quite convince me though. In FIRELIGHT I’d felt more connected to her as our protagonist. In VANISH she’s got to choose between Will and Cassian and between staying in the pride or escaping to the human world.

    THE VERDICT

    VANISH - Kisses here, struggles there and only slightly convincing.

    Most of the story is set in the boundaries of the pride and constantly circles around Jacinda’s previous decision so that VANISH felt kind monotonous after a few chapters. The writing was good, but the story didn’t completely suck me in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I feel like I would love this series so much more if Jacinda wou

    I feel like I would love this series so much more if Jacinda would just ditch the boys and run off and be badass with Az and Tamra.

    Don't get me wrong: I think Will and Cassian are very interesting characters. But we have Jacinda - this bloody brilliant dracon girl whose stubborn and fiery and smart and just wants to do what's right - and thrust her into a cliche love triangle. This is the worst thing you can do to a character like this.

    You're telling me that a girl who knows herself, who knows her mind, is going to let every action she does be dictated by whether or not she's going to run off with one guy or mate with another? No!

    I mean, if we took away the love triangle, the plot wouldn't be as dramatic. Insert candlelight and smoldering glances into any book, you're guaranteed dramatic. But it's not necessary! I want action! I want badassery! I want more about her best friend and her sister and less about the two boys who are trying to control Jacinda!

    Because let's face it - even if they both love her, they're just trying to stake a claim in her. It's just a pissing war between them now. Will pretty much demanded that Jacinda do as he says or she didn't love him and Cassian wrongfully manipulated his way into bonding with her. Gah. Boys. You are doing life wrong. I thought I'd be rooting for one of you at this point...

    ... but really, I think it would be MUCH better if you two were randomly murdered, Jacinda ran back and got Az, and together with Tamra they explored the world and freed trapped dracons and flirted with boys and did awesome stuff together.

    But since I can't have that, I suppose I'll have to settle for Tamra and Jacinda going to try to free another dracon and having to be stuck with these two stupid boys. Le sigh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Good trilogy!

    Great read. I enjoyed the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    The best character in the book was Cassian. Will and Jacinda wer

    The best character in the book was Cassian. Will and Jacinda were mostly self center, putting others at risk. I agree with the person that said whiney and mopey. Cassian deserves better. I wanted to like Jacinda but could for only a few seconds. She is thoughtless. Will and her deserve each other, if that is how it works out. The character I would like to read more about is Cassian,He is the hero of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I devoured this book, as I did the first of the series, but was

    I devoured this book, as I did the first of the series, but was left entirely unsatisfied. It's unfinished. Another 100 pages and everything could have been wrapped up. Great characters and plot development. It's fast-paced, something interesting unravels in each chapter, but the end tarnishes the enjoyment. Probably someone decided another book equates to more money, but that aside my investment in the characters will indeed keep me reading this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book is very hard for me to rate. It’s not a whole b

    This book is very hard for me to rate. It’s not a whole book. It’s the front half of the ending of this story… yes, I mean “cliffhanger” and I mean a great, big, huge “WHAT?!?!”

    Here’s the thing… I entered Vanish with specific questions leftover from Firelight. I was hoping the romantic attraction would find more depth than Draki-hormones (my term, not Sophie's.) This was a huge question for me, and Vanish did not answer my question. If anything, it added to it.

    Because Will became demanding. He froze in his awesome state last seen in Firelight and his non-progress basically left him behind, as far as I was concerned. Choosing Will over the Colony for Jacinda transformed from a question of True Love to a question of True Rebellion. Basically, would she able to stick to her choices and ditch her natural habitat for someone she doesn’t know but has gushing feelings for when she’s in the presence of him… or what?!

    And then Cassian becomes this huge, respectful, patient, gorgeous Mr. Right waiting for Jacinda to get over her dumb rebellion. He’s in a position of up-n-coming power, too, so he can arrange her future however she’d like it to be. The only thing holding her back from Cassian is this tremendous unexplained physical draw to Will. Until… she is physically drawn to Cassian, too!!

    WHAT?!

    So, by ¾ way through Vanish, I was irritated with Jacinda. She is torturing herself over this guy she really doesn’t know (yet). She hasn’t had the opportunity to create lasting connections with him, and I haven’t been convinced that this Draki-hormone thing isn’t flip-a-switch changeable. So… why the self-torture?! I mean, she’s just turning Cassian into some martyr, you know? If he’s really a jerk, I’m going to be furious. If Will turns out to be a jerk, I’ll really be furious!!! I suppose that’s a strong love triangle, right? Who knows which way to turn?! Huh.

    But Sophie Jordan takes “love triangle” to another level by opening up Jacinda’s sister’s character - Tamra. All of a sudden, she’s vulnerable and loveable. I love the sisters’ relationship and their lasting bond of trust and commitment. And she loves Cassian forever. Uh-huh. So, now it’s clear why Jacinda should just choose Cassian, but she never can… and Cassian ought to just choose Tamra, but apparently he can’t.

    Now throw Draki-bonding into the mix. Yea… no joking. Hormones weren’t enough, now we have bonding. (This is Sophie's term.) This bonding is cool, too… and the tension increases like 100 times. Then… then, the story begins to build towards a climax that is just got to straighten out the futures and loves of everyone… and the book is OVER! Like, lopped off at the head!

    I could have thrown the book, I was so mad. I could feel the pages dwindling down as the climax built and I just humphed and shook the pages and groaned and writhed around… which is really dramatic for a book I don’t want to rate very highly. It’s just… it’s not a book!!!! This is the first half of the ending!!!!! And I don’t have less questions, I have MORE. And that’s just unfair!!!! I don’t recommend anyone read this book until the final one comes out in the fall. SO THERE!! Only if you want some amazing kissing scenes with well described hand placement and breathing with lip biting and… uncontrollable hormones that draw out the inner dragon... Well, this book does have that.

    This book bugged me too much. My Rating: 3 - but not "cute", more like "maddening". It's well written, but... I can't really rate it higher without reading the next book, since this is only a piece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Pretty good

    The series is pretty good. I think its annoying how her characters never seem to know their own minds, constantly changing, it gives the books a haphazard feel. Not the most amazing read but enjoyable enough!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Nice Series.....

    The books are interesting and I enjoy the characters. I am irritated by the fact the pride puts so much value in Jacinda because she is a firebreather and they believe as such will birth baby firebreathers......if it is genetic then wouldn't her IDENTICAL twin, who has the exact same DNA also be a firebreather? Obvious author error.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Wow.

    The book was outstanding.but the model on the front really needs a sandwhich

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Wow

    The sequel to firelight i had expected a little more. I mean this book reminded me of the second twilight book. Meaning it was depressing. It only had 198 pages the only thing im happy about is that their will be a third. I just hope its more like the first book and less like this dreary read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    disappointed.

    Vanish is the highly anticipated sequel to an amazing and charming fantasy book I loved called Firelight. As a huge fan of Firelight I wanted so much out of Vanish. As far as sequels go, I found it to be a disappointment. It's that awkward in-between novel, book 1 was great we got through book 2 now anticipating book 3. Our characters haven't really moved from where they were, with the exceptions of a few steps. It does have some twists and turns and leaves you wondering what's in store for the next book. Will I read the next book? Yes, my curiosity has me hooked I just hope it's better than this one. Come on Sophie Jordan, you can do it!!

    I feel like throughout the whole book our heroine, Jacinda, where she was strong and amazing in Firelight has become a moody teenager who only thinks about herself and her feelings but not about their affect on others. She loves Will, and she makes that known in book 1, even in the short time they've known each other. But, being apart her feelings seem to shift and it leaves her confused and vulnerable (understandable), which is ok for some characters but it made me not like her anymore, she was just waa waa waa all the time. To me it was like she lost all of the qualities that I loved about her in Firelight. In Vanish we get more Jacinda and Cassian, up close and uncomfortable, and we watch her flop like a fish over her emotions. But, really Cassian and Will are both amazing characters and guys and either one is a great pick by me. Honestly, the book is predictable, like I said I wanted more. The best thing about the book is where Sophie Jordan takes Tamra's character, it's great.

    So to sum it up. We start where Firelight left off- like right where it left off. We learn some new secrets, but the book seems like a standstill everyone is more or less in the same situations and predicaments as they are in book 1, I didn't see very much growth. Enter love triangle. Lot's of teen drama, but it feels petty (maybe that's just me). Another cliffhanger that should make Sophie Jordan famous as the holy-freaking-cliffhanger-lady. My opinions people, my opinions.

    Overall, it was an okay read. Because book one was so fantastic I definitely had high expectations. Still I recommend the series and will see it through to the end! If I was going to pick a team I'd say team Tamra! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    It's a middle child kind of book.

    Vanish picks up where Firelight left us and takes us on a journey into the heart of Draki society. Ms. Jordan shows us more of the mythology behind the dragons in this sequel, which is nice, but it seems that this book just doesn't quite have the pep and zing that the first in the series had. I think this book suffers a bit from being the middle child. That said, Vanish is definitely not a bad book and is most certainly worth the read.

    What I really liked: The introduction of more info about the mythology, the way pack dynamics are portrayed, and the attention to detail on both main and supporting characters. Oh, and there's dragons, of course.I totally love that.
    What I didn't like: The pacing was a lot slower, the plot seemed to suffer from disorganization, the love triangle (must there always be one?) isn't believable, and there's absolutely no feeling of urgency in the story. I just didn't get pulled in like I did with Firelight.

    Despite my lack of total love, I'll still be reading the final book in the Firelight series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2