Customer Reviews for

Vanished (Private Justice Book #1): A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I have long enjoyed Irene Hannon's romantic suspense -- so I pre

I have long enjoyed Irene Hannon's romantic suspense -- so I preordered this one, and with each new book I wonder if she'll be able to recapture that perfect mix of engaging story and characters I enjoy getting to know. Vanished does both of those. The heroine, Moira Ha...
I have long enjoyed Irene Hannon's romantic suspense -- so I preordered this one, and with each new book I wonder if she'll be able to recapture that perfect mix of engaging story and characters I enjoy getting to know. Vanished does both of those. The heroine, Moira Harrison, gets lost in a thunderstorm and loses control of her car when someone appears in front of it. After the accident she tries to find the person she hit, but that person had vanished. As an investigative reporter, she can't let the matter go, even when the police can't find evidence she hit anyone. So she turns to a private investigator for help.

Thus launches a story. Relatively early on, we know who the bad guy is, so it seems a forgone conclusion that they'll get him. But the bad guy is a powerful figure with so much good you wonder if he could really be it. But there's plenty of bad mixed in to make me want him to get caught. Then there's the romance. The book is heavy on that ala Dee Henderson, and it's a very satisfying part of the book. 

Those who love romantic suspense that's heavier on the romance will enjoy this read. I can't wait to read the stories of the other investigators -- they are great heroes in waiting.

posted by CaraPutman on January 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

M

Every 'review' is a plot spoiler by these rude ppl bragging how they got they book for free for 'unbiased' review. That right away tells me its a biased review, then its a mile long which tells me it reveals the entire story. I do not read these uber long plot reveals, ...
Every 'review' is a plot spoiler by these rude ppl bragging how they got they book for free for 'unbiased' review. That right away tells me its a biased review, then its a mile long which tells me it reveals the entire story. I do not read these uber long plot reveals, but having to scroll thru them i always see something that ruins the book. We have the overview which tells us enough detail to catch our interest. We do not need your cliff note dissertations telling us what else happens, rewriting the book in your words. Please, be considerate of other readers. Let us read the book for ourselves. Do not spoil the book for us. You read the book, let us have that same enjoyment.

posted by 8888649 on April 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    M

    Every 'review' is a plot spoiler by these rude ppl bragging how they got they book for free for 'unbiased' review. That right away tells me its a biased review, then its a mile long which tells me it reveals the entire story. I do not read these uber long plot reveals, but having to scroll thru them i always see something that ruins the book. We have the overview which tells us enough detail to catch our interest. We do not need your cliff note dissertations telling us what else happens, rewriting the book in your words. Please, be considerate of other readers. Let us read the book for ourselves. Do not spoil the book for us. You read the book, let us have that same enjoyment.

    11 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    I have long enjoyed Irene Hannon's romantic suspense -- so I pre

    I have long enjoyed Irene Hannon's romantic suspense -- so I preordered this one, and with each new book I wonder if she'll be able to recapture that perfect mix of engaging story and characters I enjoy getting to know. Vanished does both of those. The heroine, Moira Harrison, gets lost in a thunderstorm and loses control of her car when someone appears in front of it. After the accident she tries to find the person she hit, but that person had vanished. As an investigative reporter, she can't let the matter go, even when the police can't find evidence she hit anyone. So she turns to a private investigator for help.

    Thus launches a story. Relatively early on, we know who the bad guy is, so it seems a forgone conclusion that they'll get him. But the bad guy is a powerful figure with so much good you wonder if he could really be it. But there's plenty of bad mixed in to make me want him to get caught. Then there's the romance. The book is heavy on that ala Dee Henderson, and it's a very satisfying part of the book. 

    Those who love romantic suspense that's heavier on the romance will enjoy this read. I can't wait to read the stories of the other investigators -- they are great heroes in waiting.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Loved it

    I could hardly put this book down. I absolutely loved it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    Fantastic suspense, drama and romance are packed into Vanished,

    Fantastic suspense, drama and romance are packed into Vanished, book #1 in the Private Justice series by Irene Hannon. The attention to detail and research for Vanished makes this one a winner. The hero, Cal was tough and still tender, the perfect combination. I felt pity for Dr. Blaine, but at the same time mad as his storyline was developed. Moira was a honest and very likable heroine from the start of the book. She knew what she saw and did not give in until the truth came out. Vanished is a keeper. Thanks for the enjoyable read Irene. Excellent book that I give 5 out of 5 stars.

    I received this book from Net Galley and Baker Publishing for my honest review.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    Picture yourself driving down a dark windy road during a torrent

    Picture yourself driving down a dark windy road during a torrential rainstorm. Just as you lose control of your vehicle a terrified face appears in your windshield. You hear a thunk as your car keeps going. When your car finally comes to a stop against a tree you are surprised as a man approaches, promising to call 911 and look for the woman you hit. Before you know it, you pass out. When you awaken it's to silence. No police, no ambulance, rescuer, and strangest of all --no victim. When you report what happened to the police they are dubious at best, and after a cursory look, they decide there is nothing to pursue.




    This is reality for Moria Harrison who isn't sure where to turn, but knows she can't give up looking. Her investigative journalist instincts tell her that she wasn't wrong, there was definitely a victim. Unable to pursue the case on her own, Moriah hires Phoenix Private Investigators, and specifically Cal Burke. Because he really believes her, Cal is willing to take the case even though Moriah has no way to pay the fees.




    And I am not going to give away any more details, because I really want you to read this book.




    It's no surprise that Irene Hannon has written another 5 star page-turner. Every book Irene has written has been top quality, and Vanished is no exception. While the suspense in this and each of her novels is riveting, it is the characters that always draw me to Irene's books. It is easy to feel like these are people you know and care about going through life-altering and incredibly scary events. The only drawback to reading vanished was that it ended. I wanted to keep getting to know the characters and to be a part of their lives for much longer. Knowing Irene Hannon's penchant for series books I am hoping we will be able to do just that.




    This book was provided to me by the publisher. Any and all opinions rendered are my own.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    Reporter Moira Harrisons is lost. In the dark. In a thunderstorm

    Reporter Moira Harrisons is lost. In the dark. In a thunderstorm. When a confusing detour places her on a rural, wooded road, she's startled by the sudden appearance of a lone figure caught in the beam of her headlights. Though Moira jams on her brakes, the car careens across the wet pavement--and the solid thump against the side of the vehicle tells her she hit the person before she crashes into a tree on the far side of the road. A dazed Moira is relieved when a man opens her door, tells her he saw everything, and promises to call 911. Then everything fades to black. When she comes to an hour later, she is alone. No man. No 911. No injured person lying on the side of the road. But she can't forget the look of terror she saw on the person's face in the instant before her headlights swung away. The person she hit had been in trouble. She's sure of it. But she can't get anyone to believe her story--except a handsome former police detective, now a private eye, who agrees to take on the case.
    Irene Hannon has done it again. Vanished is a book one in a new series called Private Justice. She has kept the reader on the edge of each page, ready to keep flipping to the next. I loved the reference of one of the characters from a previous series and how she incorporated that in, every so briefly.
    One portion I was a bit disappointed in was one of the choices the main character made towards the end of the book. It set up an easy-to-figure-out-what's-going-to-happen section of the book. That was a bit of a let down, but the twist at the end wasn't expected, and honestly, was a bit gruesome.
    Overall, a fantastic book and I'm looking forward to book two in this new series.
    Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
    Revell Books sent me this complimentary book to review. All thoughts and words are my own. 

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    When Moira wrecks her car on wooded back roads one rainy night,

    When Moira wrecks her car on wooded back roads one rainy night, no one can find evidence of the terrified woman or Good Samaritan she claims to have seen. The police think she's suffering a head trauma, but Moira knows what she saw. A friend connects her with a private detective who is intrigued by her case. As evidence comes to light and the situation becomes more bizarre, they must work together to uncover the facts—before more people are hurt.

    After discovering Irene Hannon's first romantic suspense series in 2011 (and devouring it!), I'm definitely a fan of her work! I was excited to begin a new series from her and it was a great way to start off the New Year!

    Vanished provides the perfect blend of mystery/suspense, romance, and just plain ol' good story! While it doesn't start off as action-packed as some of Hannon's other books, the story moves along at a good pace and definitely piqued my interest early on. I loved the way the personal story lines played such a major role, so Moira and Cal are struggling to resolve personal issues as well as solve the mystery. The other private detectives were great as well, and I look forward to getting to know them throughout the rest of the series. I wholeheartedly recommend Vanished! [4.5 stars]

    Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    I received a free copy of this book from Revell Books in exchange for my fair and honest review.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    If you are a fan of Irene Hannon, you are in for one power-packe

    If you are a fan of Irene Hannon, you are in for one power-packed suspense story!

    Reporter Moira Harrison finds herself lost in a torrential downpour on Highway 94 out of Augusta. Though not technically needing glasses to drive, she reaches for her purse to find them. The purse gets hooked, and she glances over for just a second to find them. Upon returning her eyes back to the road, a woman is in the middle of the road waving for her to stop. Hydroplaning and losing control, she ends up hitting the woman and slamming into a tree, causing her temple to impact the side window.

    She reaches to find her phone to call 911 when she hears a male voice asking her if she was okay. He cautions her to watch for glass as she searches. She feels a jab on her thigh, and the man brushes off the glass. He tells her that he’ll call 911 and go check on the woman. But both he and the woman disappear.

    She’s dizzy and passes out, awakening an hour later. With no emergency help there, she calls 911. Upon their arrival she tells what happened, but they find no evidence of a woman getting hit, and claim she must have hit a deer.

    Knowing she didn’t hit a deer, she asks an ex-homicide private detective, Cal Burke, at Phoenix Inc., to check out her story. But upon meeting the receptionist, she’s having second thoughts. Reluctantly, the Phoenix group takes her case pro bono, with Call as lead investigator.

    This is where the story takes on multiple, mind-bending twists and scenarios, with Moira’s life ending up in danger. Someone wants her silent! And it’s mostly Cal’s job to keep her safe. Their budding romance sizzles between the dangerous scenarios and circumstances. But don’t be fooled by the romance; this is one power-packed book of suspense that keeps the pages flying to the end.

    As always, Irene’s characters are real and complex, making for a tight, riveting story. The suspenseful twists are mind-boggling and a challenge to figure out before the end of the story. I’m certainly looking forward to her second in the Private Justice series coming out in the Fall of 2013!

    This book was provided by Donna Hausler, Publicity Assistant/Blog Tour Coordinator, of Baker Publishing Group. No monetary compensation was received.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    VANISHED by Irene Hannon is an intriguing inspirational romantic

    VANISHED by Irene Hannon is an intriguing inspirational romantic suspense. Another hit for this author. Filled with mystery,suspense,faith,moral issues,secrets and love. Follow reporter Moira Harrison and ex-homicide detective turned PI(Private Eye), Cal Burke on a hair raising adventure of moral issues,medical issues,murder,finding the truth and justice. Fast paced,from beginning to end. Does the end justify the means or is everyone accountable for their own behavior. When Moira hits someone with her car on a dark,deserted, highway, than the victim disappears, she is determined to find answers which leads her not only into trouble,but in a fight for her life. Cal is determined to save Moira and find answers. As they struggle with their own demons,their attraction to each other, they find shocking secrets. A must read for anyone who enjoys suspense,mystery,medical and moral issues. Ms. Hannon writes compelling stories with the feel of real life situations. With strong characters both male and female,intriguing plots and riveting stories, you will not go wrong with "Vanished". I can hardly wait for the next installment in the "A Private Justice". Received for an honest review from the publisher. For more details visit the author's website,Revell,a divison of Baker Publishing Group and My Book Addiction and More.

    “Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: SWEET

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addition and More/My Book Addiction Reviews

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Irene Hannon in her new book ¿Vanished¿ Book One in the Private

    Irene Hannon in her new book “Vanished” Book One in the Private Justice series published by Revell Books takes us into the lives of Reporter Moira Harrison and Cal Burke, a retired homicide detective

    From the back cover: A tenacious reporter. A skeptical PI. And a secret that will shatter lives.

    Reporter Moira Harrison is lost. In the dark. In a thunderstorm. When a lone figure suddenly appears in the beam of her headlights, Moira slams on her brakes–but it’s too late. She feels the solid thump against the side of her car before crashing into a tree on the far side of the road.

    A man opens her door, tells her he saw everything, and promises to call 911. Then the world fades to black. When she comes to, she is alone. No man. No 911. No injured person. But she can’t forget the look of terror she saw on that face in the instant before her headlights swung away. And she can’t get anyone to believe her story–except maybe a handsome ex-homicide detective turned private eye, who reluctantly agrees to take on the case.

    As clues begin to surface, it becomes obvious that someone doesn’t want this mystery solved–and will stop at nothing to protect a shocking secret.

    Play word association with me please. What word comes to mind when I say “Thriller”? Most of you answered Irene Hannon and while that is really a name as well as two words you are absolutely correct. I think this is Irene Hannon’s best work so far and this book is just the beginning of the new series. With “Vanished” Ms. Hannon has given us a thriller that becomes more and more exciting until the last hundred pages which is an extremely wild ride. All I can say is imagine going on a roller coaster; the beginning of the ride is nothing until you get to the top and experience that first drop then it is nothing but twists, turns, upside down loops until the ride ends. This is what Ms. Hannon does to us as readers with this book.

    This is a fun read, it is a fast read, however I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down. Ms. Hannon is an excellent writer and knows how to twist your nerve endings as she tightens the suspense. I recommend this book, and everything else that Ms. Hannon has written, highly!!

    If you missed the interview for “In Harm’s Way” and would like to listen to it and/or would like to hear the previous interviews where we discussed the first and second books of The Heroes of Quantico series please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    ¿Vanished¿ is yet another amazing suspense book from Irene Hanno

    “Vanished” is yet another amazing suspense book from Irene Hannon and Revell! The mystery is really intense, and I had trouble putting this book down for school and meals! Enjoy Christian suspense? Have you read and loved anything by Lynette Eason? If so, it’s guaranteed you’ll enjoy this one. I can’t wait to read the next book (“Trapped,” coming in October). There’s not a slow minute in the entire book. Prepare to have your heart pound – you’ll be wowed. “Vanished” is a must-have book, more than worth buying!
    “Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
    **Revell sent me a copy of this book as part of the blog tour for it. I was not required to post a positive review. All opinions in this review are my own. I received no other compensation for reviewing this book.**


    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow a powerful book, keeps you turning the page....need to find

    Wow a powerful book, keeps you turning the page....need to find the answers!
    When the title says Vanished...it unfortunately means vanished. The poor soul who is taken away, is not missed by anyone. How very sad.
    Can you imagine being on a dark road in the middle of a horrible thunderstorm, one that you really can't see where you are going? Then out of no where you see a frightened woman on the road? You swerve and hit a tree. You remember someone telling you that help is coming? There is some glass on the seat...you feel it?
    When help does arrive, there is no woman, and the police think that the concussion makes her believe there was someone there. Unfortunately, Moira Harrisons, was nominated for a Pulitzer, and is no slouch as an investigative reporter. She gets the name of a Private Investigator. Meeting Cal Burke is a changing point for her. He is a with three partners, and runs an upscale PI firm. What both Moira and Cal don't expect is a bit of romance.
    This book will keep you on pins and needles all the way to the end. Enjoy!

    I received this book Revell Blogger Program, and was not required to give a positive review.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Really Enjoyed!

    First time reader of Irene Hannon books. Wonderfully surprised. Couldn't put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Great book!

    I was intrigued when I read the summary of this book so decided to buy it. I'm glad I did! A mystery with a twist -- you know who the bad guy is throughout most of the book, so you see what is going through their mind too. Looking forward to book #2.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2013

    What a Nice Surprise............................................

    What a Nice Surprise...................................................



    I think I have found a new favorite author in Irene Hannon. "Vanished" is the first book of hers I have read--but it certainly will not be the last. It is so refreshing to find the kind of mix of romance and suspense I found in this book--no sexual encounters and many references to God and the Christian faith. And the suspense was good--like putting pieces into a jigsaw puzzle until the last one was in place 30-40 pages from the end. A VERY enjoyable read and I am looking forward to #2 in the Private Justice Series in September 2013.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Loved this book!

    You've got to love a page turner, and Vanished is one! Loved the characters and can't wait to read more about them as this series continues. Loved the pace, the details, the excitement, the (clean) romance angle...a very well written story that leaves you wanting more! Bring on the next in this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Vanished is correct

    When I tried to open this it opened to the front page and then there was nothing. This also happened with Gone. I think it is unfair that I pay for these books and they don't down load. Other than this I love my Nook and reading books on it. Barbara Levering

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    excellent story

    Excellent story not to heavy but not just fluff. A little romance no harsh language. You can figure out some of what will happen but getting there is a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    It was fine.

    My first Irene Hannon book. The suspense was ok. Good enough book, but forgettable as soon as it was over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    No try, do...This novel didn't even try

    I don't know why I read this. Characters were trite, really disliked the "church/God" stuff. Plot was predictable and the authors lack of really getting what it is like to be on the shooting end of a gun was pathetic. She needs to take some lessons from Michael Connelly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5