Customer Reviews for

Vanished

Average Rating 4
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Solid Debut of a New Series

Joseph Finder - the talented author of such novels as "High Crimes" and "The Moscow Club" - enters the arena of the continuing-character series with the introduction of Nick Heller in his latest offering "Vanished".

Nick Heller's an ex-Special Forces veteran of Bosn...
Joseph Finder - the talented author of such novels as "High Crimes" and "The Moscow Club" - enters the arena of the continuing-character series with the introduction of Nick Heller in his latest offering "Vanished".

Nick Heller's an ex-Special Forces veteran of Bosnia and Iraq, with unique skills he now uses as an investigator for an executive-level "consulting" firm that specializes in solving "problems" for major corporations and other elite clients.

Nick's older brother Roger has vanished, the apparent victim of a crime in which Roger's wife Lauren was beaten into a near coma. When summoned by a frantic phone call from Lauren's son Gabe, Nick determines to find his brother at all costs, and as he delves into the case he finds himself exploring a labyrinthine conspiracy involving massive sums of money embezzled from the war zone, corporate takeovers, and the world of modern day mercenary soldiers also known as "civilian contractors".

Nick's a good character for a series: charming, just the right amount of insolence, and tough enough to do the job. He's somewhat along the lines of Elvis Cole, without the Joe Pike backup. I look forward to following his further adventures.

But there were a few problems with this book that prevent that fifth star.

First of all, the "conspiracy" was just a tad TOO involved and intricate, making it hard to follow through the story, and a bit outside the credibility limits, at least for me. Too many of the characters were hard to keep straight without a scorecard. I kept finding myself going: "Huh? Which guy was this again?".

When we find out about the involvement of one of the characters (can't be more specific without revealing a major spoiler), it was so glossed over - especially as to consequences for that character - that it was a major dissonance.

But in many cases, first entries of continuing series aren't the best, as the characters (and style) develop over time in subsequent books. The first Bob Lee Swagger novel ("Point of Impact") is very different from his later - and more refined - efforts. The same can be said of the Jack Reacher, Elvis Cole, Mitch Rapp, Lucas Davenport, and Harry Bosch novels.

So, good entertainment, looking forward to more of this character, a solid four stars.

posted by Brian_Baker on July 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Interesting, but don't get your hopes up on a compelling read.

When I read the synopsis I was totally intrigued. I thought it would be a page turner, but I was wrong. The plot is interesting. If you're into politics and gov't conspiracies it's a good book. The main character is funny and kicks ass. I was constanyly guessing wh...
When I read the synopsis I was totally intrigued. I thought it would be a page turner, but I was wrong. The plot is interesting. If you're into politics and gov't conspiracies it's a good book. The main character is funny and kicks ass. I was constanyly guessing what would would happen next, but I was usually wrong. I'm not sure if that's good or bad. There is no sexual content, which was a let down (that was one thing I was anticipating). The relationships were interesting.

posted by blueskyes on October 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 216 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Good Read!

    I enjoyed this book and look forward to other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Great Series Starter

    Welcome to the world of Nick Heller, and enjoy the ride. Great way to open a series. Looking forward to downloading the second one. Non-stop action with several twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Movie Material

    I have to admit, books based in my hometown of Washington DC gives me a sense of connection with the characters. I am thrilled to have discover Nick Keller. He could be the down to earth guy that lives across the street. He is street smart in all the right ways. This adventure was filled with twists and turns and I loved how the authur kept expanding the plot to keep you engrossed. The writer was very clever how he lntertwined these complex characters into a story about corruption, government secrets and money, the root of all evil. Hollywood producers should read more books, this would be great movie material. Wyvongela

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Loved it! Pleasantly surprised for such a cheap buy! Will definitely buy more from this author now that I discovered him!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Just finished this book. What a great read! Joseph did alot of research in many areas when he wrote this book. It shows as this book is a winner with very likeable characters. Right now, 6/13/2011, the ebook is on sale for $2.99. It is worth much more than that! Nick Heller is the main character and is a private eye. I am looking forward to the next Nick Heller book later this month. (Buried Secrets). If you like John Grisham type thrillers try this book out. You will not regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Good+Stuff%21

    Thoroughly+enjoyed+this+read.+A+cross+between+Lee+Child+and+Harlan+Coban%2C+sooo%2C+Im+hooked%21%0A

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    Wonderful surprise!

    This was my first Joseph Finder book, but it won't be my last. It was well written and made me not want to put it down. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Good business spy action book

    I usually read mysteries with a female lead ala janet evanovich. This book was as good without the goofball parts. Easier to get through than a sara paretski book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!

    I discovered this author though an ad on Facebook and I wasn't disappointed!

    This was a great read.... many twists and turns that kept me reading.

    I will be reading his other books for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!

    This was my first book by Joseph Finder. I found it to be very well written. I couldn't put it down til the end. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this book to anyone that likes mystery/suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    Fabulous!

    This book blew me away. One of the best I have read in a really long time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Painful to get through

    Disappointed!
    The book was boring, dijointed. Painful. Wish I had gotten the abridged version. It could have been a 4-5 disc book & it would still be a boring plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    A Terrific Read!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Finder's new series character Nick Heller rocks! He's street smart and tough, Socratic, and sees detail most of us miss. He's also got a strong command of TSCM skills, essential to his line of work--a private spy for hire. There's no need to replay the story, others have done that in here, but if you want a terrific mystery that transforms into a powerful thriller, then VANISHED is your book. I can't wait to see Nick Heller in action again. Cheers to Joseph Finder!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    Great Reading!

    I really enjoyed this book, great story, with fast action, twists, and turns. Excellent. --K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Listen, suspenseful!

    Interesting characters, story line. I had not read or listened to any books or audiobooks by Joseph Finder, but I love him. His writing and plot kept me intriged for the whole story. Very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    enjoyed book very much. this was Finder at his best.

    enjoyed book very much. this was Finder at his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Vanished

    I liked the book because I love mysteries and Joseph Finder has his own style but reminds me of John Grisham's style. The characters were full and distinctive but I did figure out the plot, but didn't ruin the book for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    i would wait for the library copy

    This book was an OK listen but slow in the middle and i was not that impressed with the main character. My main book characters are (Jack Reicher) (Lucas Davenport) (Alex Cross) (Dirk Pitt) and many more of this ilk so [in my opinion] this character was a little disappointing and this made the audio book only a soso listen. I would check this out from the library but would spend my cash on something else. If you know the characters above then you will know what i like--if you don't then this review will mean very little.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Finder's Keepers

    400 pages? Mine was only 384, so what did I miss out on? Maybe he didn't really rush the ending as I thought he did. But it wouldn't change my overall opinion- I really enjoyed this story, as I have Finder's other novels. He really knows his corporate crime and is able to keep the surprises and the suspense coming. His characters are all believable, but if I were writing the book, one woman wouldn't have had the ending she got.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another great 'Find'

    An excellent, fast paced book. Joseph Finder remains a favorite. The stories he writes just have way making you want to keep turning the pages. I was in a reading rut (defined as not making time to read or having difficulty finishing sub-par books). Got this one and read it in three days. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 216 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11