Customer Reviews for

The Vanished Man (Lincoln Rhyme Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Deavers conjures up a great police procedural

He is the Conjurer, a master illusionist and magician who makes Houdini seem like an amateur. He no longer performs publicly because a fire left him with horrible burn scars on his face and neck and lung damage so he can no longer interact with an audience. Instead of p...
He is the Conjurer, a master illusionist and magician who makes Houdini seem like an amateur. He no longer performs publicly because a fire left him with horrible burn scars on his face and neck and lung damage so he can no longer interact with an audience. Instead of public performances, he kills people with his first victim murdered in an odd and vicious way, performing for an audience that exists in his own mind. Quadriplegic criminologist Lincoln Rhyme and New York Police Officer Amelia Sachs, his partner both in work and in their personal lives struggle to catch the Conjurer but he is a master escape artist who successfully eludes his captors many times. His misdirection is so brilliant that he even fools the brilliant Rhyme as to what his ultimate goal is. If Lincoln fails to figure it out soon, many more innocents will die. Anyone who likes a great police procedural or enjoys learning about a magician¿s tricks will want to read THE VANISHED MAN. There are so many twists and red herrings in the story line that the audience will feel as bewildered as Lincoln is by the clever sleight of the hand plotting of Jeffrey Deaver. The brilliant writer tells a strong tale that includes a beautiful relationship and love story between the hero and his assistant. Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Good but Not Deaver's Best

Like all of the Deaver books the plot is complex and there are many surprises. Alas, the plot kinks don't seem to have adequate foundation making them and the dialog a bit forced. Somehow this book misses the immediacy and drama of some of his other works.

posted by Kiwicat on January 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    great Lincoln Rhyme - as always!

    If you liked the others, you'll like this. If you haven't read the others, this can still stand alone. But, you would enjoy all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    Very Good!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was full of surprises and twists that kept me guessing. I found it very hard to put down. --K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    A music school student is murdered and the killer flees into a locked classroom with no way out. When the police break down the door, the killer has vanished. Criminalist Lincoln Rhyme and his partner Amelia Sachs are called in to investigate. It doesn¿t take them long to figure out the police were duped by the killer, whom they name ¿the conjurer¿ due to his magical feats in escaping. The conjurer leads the police on a meandering investigation as he continues on his killing spree, leaving behind bits of evidence which they eventually learn are clues to deliberately misdirect them. Rhyme can¿t help but be impressed by the conjurer¿s skills at illusion and magic. With the aid of Kara, a student illusionist, Rhyme and Sachs attempt to catch their killer through their own planned misdirections.<BR/><BR/>Deaver writes an exceptional series with outstanding characters. Rhyme is a brilliant man frustrated with his physical disability who relies on Sachs¿s skills at gathering evidence and investigating onsite. The two make for one powerful team, aided by detectives within the New York Police Department. Kara is an intriguing character, a young woman talented in magic who despairs over the mental health of her mother and sacrifices much for her welfare. As always, deeper, underlying layers of Rhyme¿s and Sachs¿s personas are subtly unveiled. Deaver leads the reader through a complicated mystery, filled with twists and turns, the final one which the reader won¿t see coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2005

    Another Great Book by Deaver

    The Vanished man was one of the best books I have ever read. It keeps the reader in suspense for the entire book, from cover to cover. You never know what is going to happen, so it makes you think and try to solve the mystery. Jeffrey also has a knack for writing in a way that creates a great picture in the reader's mind, causing them to stop and picture it in their mind. Deaver has created another all-star cast of characters, with Lincoln Rhyme being the star again. He uses great details and descriptions to give these characters a true picture that I can see in my head. He uses twists and turns in the plot, but keeps the confusion at a minimum. I really enjoyed this book, and I think that I will now have to read all of Jeffrey Deaver's works. I recommend this book to all people who like mysteries, or just to anyone who needs a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2004

    twists and turns (complete understatement)

    I didn't appreciate the language but I honestly had no idea what was going to happen. Absolutely on the edge of my seat. You won't know what's going to happen at the beginning or in the middle and you will never guess the ending. I was completely enthralled with this book, and I'll admit, a little freaked out to be by myself for a while afterwords.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2003

    Good Page-Turner

    This book was a good page turner, but it was not the best I've ever read. The plot twists were great and well thought-out. The suprises were great--it kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time. It is a good, suspsefull thriller. The only drawback was the slow pace. However, it is definitly worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2