Customer Reviews for

The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox

Average Rating 3.5
( 387 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

AMAZING and unique story

I read for pure entertainment...show me a good story. I am a pretty tough critic and I am often disappointed by 'recommended' books. However, this book was absolutely amazing. I was hooked from the very first chapter. Although the book is sad at times the overall fe...
I read for pure entertainment...show me a good story. I am a pretty tough critic and I am often disappointed by 'recommended' books. However, this book was absolutely amazing. I was hooked from the very first chapter. Although the book is sad at times the overall feeling when reading it is not sad, simply enjoyable. I wish the ending would have had a bit more resolution however. I will definitely try more titles by this author.

posted by Anonymous on April 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

One of the most annoying, incomprehensible books I've ever read!

The plot would have been good and the story interesting (although not highly original) if the writing style weren't so hideously incomprehensible! There are three main female characters. Half the time I couldn't remotely figure out which character was 'speaking,' what y...
The plot would have been good and the story interesting (although not highly original) if the writing style weren't so hideously incomprehensible! There are three main female characters. Half the time I couldn't remotely figure out which character was 'speaking,' what year it was, or what was actually going on! It was the most annoying book I've read in a long, long time. The final insult was the end of the book. It just ended abruptly. Because it was so confusing, the reader never knows what happened at the end of the book. One can definitely speculate, but what's the point of that? It was so frustrating I almost slung my e-reader at the wall when it was finished. I would not recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a relaxing, interesting, consuming read. The first two chapters were well written and certainly made me look forward to reading the rest of the book. Once the three main characters were introduced fully, the writing took on its ridiculous back and forth between the three characters (although it wasn't interaction between the characters) with no indication which was 'speaking,' whose brain you were in or even what they were thinking/talking about; it was just random thoughts. One of the most aggravating parts about this book is that I believe this author has potential as a good writer and yet it was all wasted on a stream of consciousness from three women whom you couldn't identify when their internal dialogues were being switched back and forth rapidly from one paragraph to the next. EXTREMELY ANNOYING!!!! I think this would be an extremely frustrating book club subject. Fortunately, it wasn't a long book. I might try another book by this author, but I would be very skeptical. If a second book was like this one in writing style, I definitely wouldn't give her a third chance.

posted by bug167 on April 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 387 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    A group of 5 friends and I all read this book and loved it! It is a quick, yet fulfilling read. The ending does leave questions unanswered but it is perfectly fitting for the nature of the story. Sometimes, we don't get all of our questions answered, yet life goes on. This is the story with Esme and her niece.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    O'Farrell keeps you jumping

    This book was very intriguing and yet a light and easy read. I found myself drawn chin-deep into the book and the characters until the very end. The big finish was not as surprising as I thought it would be however, I thoroughly enjoyed the book. The numerous looping strings of memories and thoughts that mostly comprised this read were an excellent fit for such a story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    Beautiful Story

    I read previous reviews that stated it was hard to follow who was narrating. I don't agree. I found it very easy to establish who was narrating. The author did a great job of establishing a different way of 'thinking' for each character. I loved it. I cried for Esme and even sympathized a bit with Kitty. I kind of guessed at the 'surprise ending' early on, but still enjoyed reading the book when it ws revealed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    Exceptional!

    I felt compelled to write a review for this book. It's one of the best I've read in a long time and one that sticks with you long after you're done. At first, I was unsure about it, but once the story started to move along, I couldn't put it down. Maggie writes in such a way that you think, I know what's going to happen, when in fact, you don't. It's a great read. If you're on the fence about getting it, just do it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    The Greatest Book I've Read In a Long Time...

    The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox is a tale a love, deception, and dark family secrets. The way Farewell lays out the story from beginning to end is suspenseful, dramatic, and somewhat a tear jerker. In the beginning in can be confusing on whats going on, but by the time you get to page 20 your deeply engrossed in the novel. This is the type of book that everyone should read, not only for entertainment but also for the great moral of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Highly Recommended. Loved this book!

    The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox is the first book I have read by Maggie O'Farrell and I loved it! At first I was a little put off by her writing style and the way she switches back and forth in time from character to character. But once I got the flow of her writing style, I could not put this book down. I found it intriguing, thought provoking and suspenseful. It was like a puzzle in which you had to gather all the different pieces from each of the characters in different stages of their lives before you could see the whole picture. I truly enjoy reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    GREAT READ!

    GREAT READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Different

    Different, slow starting. Ending was surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I found the writing style very hard to follow, but the plot was

    I found the writing style very hard to follow, but the plot was interesting. I wanted
    to know what happened to the characters, so I stayed with it.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    jwag1995@outlook.com

    Add me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    Powerful, evocative, and deeply moving story of how oe sister st

    Powerful, evocative, and deeply moving story of how oe sister steals another sister's life, in a time when spontaneity and authenticity could condem w young woman to psychiatric hospitalization without recourse.  Compelling.  I read it the first time with a sense of urgency.  I know I will reread it several times more, and each time I will find new depth and nuances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Interesting and engaging.

    Interesting and engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    LOVE

    More books by Maggie O'Farrell please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Worth the read

    Well written, thought provoking. This would be a good book for a reading group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Loved it

    Very haunting story. I did not mfind it that difficult to keep up with the different characters. Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    uneven read

    Confusing beginning but then it gets much better..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Nook friends?

    Nookman 16 @ y a h o o c o m

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    It was kicking ass

    It was kicking ass because it had sex in it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Enjoyab Enjoyable

    A worth while read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 387 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 20