Customer Reviews for

Vanishing Acts

Average Rating 4
( 333 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(109)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

If you've not read Jodi Picoult before, start here!

Wow! This is one book that left me feeling so deeply, it's almost hard to put into words. Its the first time I've read a book by Ms. Picoult. I read it for my book club, and it's not one I would have normaly selected to read on my own... and I would have missed out. So ...
Wow! This is one book that left me feeling so deeply, it's almost hard to put into words. Its the first time I've read a book by Ms. Picoult. I read it for my book club, and it's not one I would have normaly selected to read on my own... and I would have missed out. So many things stand out to me about this book. The presentation of the story from several of the character's perspective is nothing short of literary genius. It affords you the reader a fuller, broader, more well rounded story because it's all in the first person. The second thing that stands out for me was the amount of research that went into this story. Kudos to Ms. Picoult for a job exceptionally done. It added to the vibrant fabric of this well crafted story in such a natural way that it only enhanced the experience of reading it. And of course there was the story itself. I could talk about the story, the characters, the revelations. But honestly all I can think of is love. The love of a father for his daughter. The bond that such a love can create. It's about when your life is put on trial and under the microscope, what realizations, enlightenments do you come away with. If you haven't read a Ms. Picoult book start here. STATS: EBook pagers (Nook):359

posted by CeCeSG on July 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

please dont ruin it for others

with the person 2 reviews down from me giving everything away, why bother buying the book? please dont do that. youre doing a real disservice to the author and to those of us who would have liked to find out what happened ourselves. a review tells what you thought of...
with the person 2 reviews down from me giving everything away, why bother buying the book? please dont do that. youre doing a real disservice to the author and to those of us who would have liked to find out what happened ourselves. a review tells what you thought of it, it doesnt retell the story and ruin it for others. thanks.

posted by 5774980 on January 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 334 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    please dont ruin it for others

    with the person 2 reviews down from me giving everything away, why bother buying the book? please dont do that. youre doing a real disservice to the author and to those of us who would have liked to find out what happened ourselves. a review tells what you thought of it, it doesnt retell the story and ruin it for others. thanks.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If you've not read Jodi Picoult before, start here!

    Wow! This is one book that left me feeling so deeply, it's almost hard to put into words. Its the first time I've read a book by Ms. Picoult. I read it for my book club, and it's not one I would have normaly selected to read on my own... and I would have missed out. So many things stand out to me about this book. The presentation of the story from several of the character's perspective is nothing short of literary genius. It affords you the reader a fuller, broader, more well rounded story because it's all in the first person. The second thing that stands out for me was the amount of research that went into this story. Kudos to Ms. Picoult for a job exceptionally done. It added to the vibrant fabric of this well crafted story in such a natural way that it only enhanced the experience of reading it. And of course there was the story itself. I could talk about the story, the characters, the revelations. But honestly all I can think of is love. The love of a father for his daughter. The bond that such a love can create. It's about when your life is put on trial and under the microscope, what realizations, enlightenments do you come away with. If you haven't read a Ms. Picoult book start here. STATS: EBook pagers (Nook):359

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    I loved this book by Jodi! Even though the other reviews say its unrealistic, i think its something you dont really expect. You should read it anyways! You be the judge of this book (:

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not the Greatest

    After reading the back cover of this book I was intrigued. It sounded like an adult version of Face on the Milk Carton which I loved. It turned out to be nothing like this. I felt that the plot line ended up being confusing and not very interesting. She wasted a lot of time writing about Indian folklore that had nothing to do with the plot. The main character was unlikable, stringing along two men throughout the entire book and her personality was unrealistic. The plot twist at the end also was very rushed and didn't seem to fit in with the novel at all. Overall not one of Picoult's best books. I would not suggest reading this book unless you wanted a frivolous non stimulating novel for the beach. Nineteen Minutes and My Sister's Keeper were MUCH better.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Headlines

    All of Ms. Picoult's book deal with really issuse, this book is no different. It is wonderfully written wirh strong clear voices. One of her finest books. Tugs at your heart.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    With this book I was sometimes wondering if some of the stuff sh

    With this book I was sometimes wondering if some of the stuff should be there, IE how to make meth??? It was fine enough description that Andrew (father) was a chemist or should we say had a pharmaceutical degree, but I truly did not care to know what items, steps, and process that is involved in the making of meth. Please give me a break! I also did not care to read some of the poems or violence that took place in the prison, even thou it did exposed me to things that could and probably does happen in the prison system. While all the rest of the story is fine and actually quite interesting to read.

    It was written from each persons perspectives and was nice format to read. I enjoyed to have an exposure of different personalities and the thinking process behind the deeds with memories of the past interwoven in the mix. It was quite creating to present it in such insightful way. Not till the very end of the story where it finally filled the last peaces of the puzzle to some unexplained behavior and missing pieces.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    WOW!

    Can't stop reading . . . Incredible read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    great book!

    this was definately worth reading, it covered all emotions.. i cried got angry ect. makes you think about the difficult decissions people have to face every day and how they are able to cope with the cards they've been dealt.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good!! Thought Provoking!

    This book was very good. Once again Jodi Piccoult takes what one would think of as a black and white issue and she leads you through all of the grey areas. I loved it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Amazing book

    I orginally bought this as a gift for my daughter, she loved it. She gave it to me afterwards. We both love Jodi Picoult and have read several of her books. Would highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    Great Summer Read

    I was given a copy of this book to read and have just fallen in love with the authors style of writing. If you are looking for a great book to spend a few hours reading, I highly reccommend this one! I look forward to reading other books that she has written.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not my favorite Picoult...

    I didn't even bother finishing this one. I have loved every other Jodi Picoult book I've read, but this one. There was something about the main character (Delia) that got on my nerves. And everyone else in the book was so in love with her. I say skip this one and pick up another one of Picoult's awesome books instead.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    I have read many Jodi Picoult books and this one is at the bottom of my list. The concept of the story, a child being kidnapped and never knowing it, was very unique but could have been written much better. The jail stories and Indian tribal stories seemed pointless to me and I found myself constantly skimming through them. I wish Picoult would have explored Delia and her mother's relationshp more as well. Then the twist at the end of the trial, for me, was very predictable and felt like it was just thrown in as an after thought. My last annoyance, being an Arizonian, was with Picoult's exxageration of Phoenix's 'barren desert' landscape. There is actually a lot of greenery, just not the usual greenery many poeple are used to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2005

    A good read!

    I liked this book and it's characters. I sometimes got sick of the narrators switching each chapter, but I liked the Dee and Andrew chapters a lot. I also felt as if there was too much history on the Native American ways. Overall I enjoyed the plot and would recommend this book. I have already started 'My Sister's Keeper' by Picoult.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2015

    I read 6 of Jodi Picoult's books. I've gotten tired of most of

    I read 6 of Jodi Picoult's books. I've gotten tired of most of her characters being in trouble with the law (court drama, jail, prison) and I just have to give it up. In Vanishing Acts I got weary of all the tripe descriptions and I skimmed over most of it. The 'jail' part of this book just seemed really stupid to me. My favorite book of hers is House Rules, but then I worked in the field of developmental disabilities, so it drew my attention out more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2014

    Anonymous

    Not my favorite of Jodi Picoult's books, but still worth reading. Some of the information in the chapters seemed unnecessary and took away from the emotional impact of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2014

    Okay

    Not as good as other books by the author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!

    I absolutely loved this book! My friend recommended this to me after she read it and I am so glad that she did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Sample only

    I bought the book, but it only gave me a sample of the book. I went back to the page that i bought it from, and i press read, and i go the the sample. I would apriciate help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Moonstar

    I **** this ******* book ( :3)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 334 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17